We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking old but comfort hotel”
Review of The Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Majestic
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sakon Nakhon
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looking old but comfort hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel close to my office and next to the market but hard to find cooked food, 7-11 opposite to the hotel, below hotel has good restaurant.
Reception had great service mind, room are clean.
6th floor is highest floor of this hotel, try to avoid this floor because bird have their nest and noisy scratch sound.

Room Tip: 6th floor is highest floor of this hotel, try to avoid this floor because bird have their nest and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vichan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    19
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
19
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A plus was that the hotel runs a mini bus service from the airport for 100 baht per person. We stayed in the old wing and the room was tired and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was average, the fried eggs were cold, so for a Farang it was reduced to toast and jam, coffee and juice which was ok. Had to get a new code for the internet each day and the tv channels worked about 20% of the time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank insp0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Large room, clean and fairly basic. Hanging rails as opposed to wardrobes. Old TV but works with no sky or satellite channels. Better rate using booking engines as walk in rates are slightly higher.No room safe but boxes available at reception which is a bit of a drag. Outside parking on frontage.Good breakfast buffet catering mainly to Asian but It is OK, coffee hot for a change! Lift to floors. No pool. Good location in town. Two single beds in standard room. Staff pleasant and friendly. Slightly annoying air con which was noisy. Also fan in bathroom was a bit loud.Ample shower space but no tub. You get what you pay for. Linen, beds and towels clean. Beds comfortable. Restaurant on ground floor with reasonable prices for food and beverages . Two waters in your fridge FOC and nothing else which must mean you can stock up from 7-11. No tea or coffee facilities. A few bathroom toiletries available. For a couple of nights it is fine and yes I would use it again. I wanted to stay at Dusit hotel but it was fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask to view rooms and make your own decision. Mine was facing roadside and a bit of noise as I hadn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Sadly the location of this hotel has been totally let down by poor management and questionable hospitality practises. We had booked for 5 nights, but are leaving after 1 to another hotel, as for the rate there is better options in town now, and I fear unless something is done soon, others will find alternate choices now.

We had booked interconnecting rooms, 1 double and 1 twin, to suit our family, non smoking. Upong arrival we are informed that because we came late, they had no more available, so we have to have twin rooms only. This is even after we called 3 times to confirm the bedding arrnagement and inform them our plane did not arrive till 10pm.

The rooms are no very dated, and in need for major upgrade, they are basically a 2 star hotel now. Old cane furniture in the rooms, wooden furniture that is all cracking and easy to get splinters (warning for those with kids..!!) Bed is sagging in the middle from being too old, and the quilt/doona cover is one size too small, so hard to keep on your feet, or chest.

Bathrooms are VERY old and water is brown for awhile when started, and the presssure is terrible. 1 room of ours had an ok shower head, the other was useless, spraying the whole room, with only 50% going down onto the person.

The breakast is also sadly terrible now. They have 0630 - 1000 as breakfast, but we arrived at 0845 to already 2 empty bainmaries. When I asked when they were coming, the chef came and removed the whole unit. This happened as we sat there for each item, as it run out was totally removed. All you can have after about 0915 is fruit and toast. Even the juice is let to run out.

As the town grows, and more demand comes for quality, this hotel needs a new manager who cares about the guests, or a new owner who can do something better. The hotel did not even seem to care we were leaving to a competitor...??

Room Tip: Avoid booking any to be honest, look for another choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sakon Nakhon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Was travelling around Thailand and it was getting late. Hence stayed at this hotel. The check-in was fast. Room is spacious and clean. Most importantly it is reasonable priced given the location it is in (Very Convenient). The breakfast was not bad. Would highly recommend anyone who happens to be in the area. .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wwsfeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Its the first time visited Sakon Nakhon. We chose MJ because the review of the location. And yes the location is good. Local market is just the opposite you can walk and enjoy eating local food. Room is so so but clean which is good enough. Breakfast is also normal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night only , travelling through.
Nice newly renovated hotel. Very good location in the middle of the town and very close to shopping opportunities as the night market is nearly next door.
Spacious room, flat screen TV with a few English spoken channels. Spotlessly clean, good bed, .excellent strong WiFi signal.
Pleasant restaurant, breakfast included

Room Tip: End of corridor rooms seems bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteenBoesHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sakon Nakhon hotels
0.4 mi away
@Sakon Hotel
@Sakon Hotel
#1 of 11 in Sakon Nakhon
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hop Inn Sakon Nakhon
Hop Inn Sakon Nakhon
#6 of 11 in Sakon Nakhon
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dusit Hotel
Dusit Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sakon Nakhon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chokdee Place
Chokdee Place
#3 of 11 in Sakon Nakhon
6 reviews
1.7 mi away
Honghub @ Sakon
Honghub @ Sakon
#3 of 17 in Sakon Nakhon
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Elegant Hotel
NH Elegant Hotel
#4 of 15 in Sakon Nakhon
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic

Property: The Majestic
Address: 399 Moo 2 Koo Muang Road | Tart Cherng Choom, Sakon Nakhon 47000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sakon Nakhon Province > Sakon Nakhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sakon Nakhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mj Majestic Hotel Sakon Nakhon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing