We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Quality Real Ale”
Review of Salutation Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threlkeld
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salutation Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Threlkeld B&B and Inns
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Quality Real Ale”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I dropped into the "Sally" on Saturday 17th May for a pint of Real Ale and a bite to eat. We was greated by very friendly staff (Collin the new manager has a great sence of humour).
There is a reasonable selection of real ales which Colin is quite pasionate about. The menu has a good choice of food at very resonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_and_Denise999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jooles H, Manager at Salutation Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Guys, thank you for taking the time to add a TripAdvisor comment, its always nice to see you whenever your back camping at Burns farm
Regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and my partner stayed in the salutation for 2 nights and was really impressed with how far it has come over the last 18 months! For starters the pub was actually open which has been a problem occasionally and talking to some locals this has been a regular occurrence.! Which did worry me into hoping it would be open when we arrived , it was !, what a relief and after setting our bags down in our room we ventured downstairs to be greeted politely by a gentleman at the bar , as it was a sunny day we sat in the beer garden out the back which was a lovely place to relax after a long drive. At night time we cud not wait to eat , the menu although slightly small was fitting for the place and surroundings, we both ordered fish and chips ( as it was a Friday !!) and it was really really Supurb, it came out on a quirky wooden platter which I havnt seen before but thought it was a nice touch. My only minor complaint was the price of the drinks, but saying that it's a tourist area and we were on holiday so all in all was a really good weekend. Definitely recommend !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskylover73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Sally on Friday night. Atmosphere was v welcoming & cosy with real fire & tealights in bar area. Flowers on the bar was a nice touch. Games room at the back for those who wanted to play pool so it was out of the way. Colin made everyone feel welcome & food menu tho traditional was good quality. Was really lively later as there was a 5 piece band on which got everyone up dancing...even tho there was a mix of visitors/walkers and locals everyone seemed chatty & friendly. Room was comfortable with great view of Blencathra. Great place! Definitely go back again soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PurpleReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in a cottage in the lovely village of Threlkeld between Christmas and New Year. We visited the Sally most days of our visit as the Sky Sports particularly interested my husband. A very warm and welcoming family pub and dogs were made more than welcome. The only adverse comment I can make was that one member of the bar staff in particular although very efficient spent most of her time chatting to the locals and on her mobile phone - not even putting the phone down to serve people. However that said a very nice pub in general

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel itself but in a cottage nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flembo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely meal here. Very tasty with good portions. No complains at all. Vegetable chilli and chilli chicken went down well. Burger was large and tasty.Real ale for those who want it and very attentive service. Key lime pie finished it all well. Will go back if in area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A warm and comfortable inn complete with roaring fire. Good varied menu and choice of local beers. Very friendly, obliging and helpful staff. Reasonable prices. Situated in centre of Threlkeld village. Parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sturmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Havin not been to threlkeld for a few years, me and my good wife visited the salutation, the sally@ threlkeld.i must say the exterior and interior the pub makeover is a credit to the owners..the 2 guys that were behind the bar could not do enough for us from start to finish. I was made up to see they had 4 cask ales on lovely. .we had the scampi and the fresh cod and chips (fries) which were both bloody lovely, then we had the desserts which were just as good..we left stuffed little pigges..hope to go back in September. ..yet again well done staff and owners.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big n p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Threlkeld hotels
0.0 mi away
Horse & Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Inn
#1 of 4 in Threlkeld
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Bungalows Guest House
#3 of 4 in Threlkeld
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Inn

Property: Salutation Inn
Address: Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Threlkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Threlkeld
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Salutation Inn Threlkeld, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing