We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Horse & Farrier Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Threlkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
U K
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent place for a meal. The staff are so very friendly and service is superb.
Cosy pub with warm welcoming atmosphere .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdwoaKofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    123
    37
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice pub”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

very friendly pub with great food at a reasonable price. be sure to book a table if you plan on going as it is very popular

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank geordie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On our return from an 8 mile walk across Morecambe Bay with the Queen's Official Guide, this was a great place to stop on our way home. We were very warmly welcomed by very happy and pleasant staff. Keith is an absolute star and looks after his customers very well. My husband ordered a salad but was told that salads weren't available after 5.00pm - Keith did check this for us. We shared a starter of black pudding and king scallops with a tarragon and orange sauce -scrummy! He then went on to have gammon and egg with the most wonderful crispy chips served in their own miniature frying basket. I had lemon sole stuffed with salmon and spring onions, on a bed of spinach and a lobster bisque sauce - very tasty. The H&F is a very old inn which has loads of character and original features such as stone flagged floors. It has rooms available and a self catering cottage nearby. As the weather was so good there were loads of patrons sitting outside amongst some of the most breath-taking scenery including Blencathra rising above the village. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ate at the Horse and Farrier on a Saturday night, in a group of around nine people. Luckily, we had booked, as there didn't seem to be any free tables. The staff were very friendly and attentive; the food and drink were excellent! Really wonderful pub/restaurant, and a great meal all round. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 12pm on Sunday and good job we got there early as it soon began to fill up. We ordered the 2 courses for £15.90 and the food was just lovely. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Penny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse & Farrier Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing