We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse & Farrier Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Threlkeld B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great food and a lovely warm welcome. Stayed 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. Very very good food but i have a hang up about being charged extra for vegetables with my meal and it will cost you £2.50 extra if you want to do the same. Minor but i do find it annoying. Room was very small which we mentioned and were promptly and very kindly given a discount off the room rate. Very unexpected and a lovely gesture. There are larger rooms available so ask when you book.

Breakfast is excellent, quality ingredients in the full english.

Would definitely recommend staying there and we will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UsualSuspects61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my 2nd visit to this wonderful place (Sorry Jooles, I never got round to writing the first review). Perfect base for all things Cumbria, easy access to all parts of the Lakes and surrounding areas.

A lovely welcome awaits you here, and although 8 months since my last visit I felt like a good friend was waiting for me when I arrived.

Room 2 is a delightful (compact) twin room, teaching my daughter the art of keeping things neat and tidy! There is a little noise from the kitchen in the morning, however its not too early and saves setting the alarm.

Breakfast is delicious with varied diets thankfully being catered for (a vegetarian who has an egg allergy and a dairy intolerant we are not the easiest to deal with!). An extensive evening menu is on offer after a hard days walking, and the table was ours for the evening meaning we never felt rushed or pressured.

The Horse and Farrier is a busy, delightful pub in a wonderful location with beautiful views and warm hospitality. The team are friendly, helpful and easy to chat to, it feels as though every customer is a dear friend.

Regrettably, we all have to return home at some point, however, I have left today leaving my deposit for my 3rd visit in December and I very much look forward to looking at those snow covered mountains in front of the open fire with a big glass of something red and delicious.

Jooles, David and the team, thank you for everything, see you again soon x

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Set in the small village of Threlkeld just outside Keswick this bustling offers a warm friendly welcome with great atmosphere and quiet surroundings. There is plenty of parking, a beer garden and the meals are of a high standard and good value. Breakfast offers a range of cereals and a fine cooked breakfast. While the bedrooms have been modernised the atmosphere of the old building is retained.
The only problem we had was the bedroom was too small for the large bed (room 7). It was a challenge to arrange luggage while still allowing access to the bathroom or exit. This however did not detract from our overall enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend for a stay to explore the surrounding Lakes District

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here on our trip to The Lakes. We stayed in the cottage attached to the pub. The rooms were comfortable and clean and having a kitchen and sitting room was great. We were able to have our two dogs with us and they were also welcome in the pub at night and for breakfast.

The bathroom was a bit small and the understairs cupboard was very fusty which gave the whole cottage a damp smell. If this had been rectified I'd have given a higher rating.

The pub food was good but overpriced (like everything in The Lakes).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kieransharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent place for accommodation And eating, Great location for walking, My second B&B by myself and felt I was really made to feel at Home by the very Friendly Staff ! Service second to none, Loved every minute I was there, Thanks to Jooles, Jill and Kenny(Breakfasts))

Room Tip: I Was in Room 5 Ideal for me, Plenty of Room, Everything I needed, Cleaned and Bed made every Day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWS1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Excellent food, accommodation and really friendly staff will definitely return. Service second to none in great location. The lamb was the best I have tasted in years just hope it's still on menu in February!

Room Tip: Double room overlooking street excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booby1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited the horse and farrier for a meal to celebrate my husbands birthday. As soon as we arrived and opened the door we were hit by the strong smell of wet dogs. We had booked a table which turned out to be in the snug, which unfortunately was occupied by a couple and their large wet golden retriever. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent and well presented but were spoilt by the smell of wet dogs!! We are dog owners ourselves but we wouldn't expect to take him in a restaurant and spoil other peoples enjoyment. Would go again if we could eat in a dog free area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campingqueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threlkeld
4.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
765 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
676 reviews
7.7 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
849 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#85 of 189 in Keswick
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Farrier Inn

Address: nr Keswick, Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Threlkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Threlkeld
Price Range: £67 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1688 this traditional Lakeland Inn with its slate flagged floors, beamed ceilings and open fire retains all the character you would expect from this popular village pub. Situated at the foot of Blencathra in the beautiful village of Threlkeld with views towards Skiddaw & Helvellyn this really is the place relax and enjoy the beauty of the Northern Lake district. The Horse & Farrier is committed to serving food and drink of excellent quality amidst informal surroundings. We have an excellent reputation in the Lake district for serving home cooked Fayre either in our intimate restaurant or cosy bar. Our menus are interesting and varied with vegetarians well catered for. We have two pubs in the village which cater for every occasion,two cottages and 14 well appointed bedrooms. Jooles & the team look forward to welcoming you to The Horse & Farrier & The Salutation Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horse & Farrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Hotel Threlkeld
Horse & Farrier Inn Threlkeld, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing