We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodating for walk in's when they were fully booked!”

Clearview Estate Winery Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Te Awanga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1989, Clearview Estate Winery, VINEYARDS and the iconic 'red shed' LUNCH RESTAURANT enjoy an established, leafy coastal setting near the historic landmark of Cape Kidnappers. Relax under mature trees among the vines while you explore the comprehensive seasonal menu featuring fresh and creative dishes making innovative use of Hawke's Bay produce. With a heated pavilion and fireside tables we are cosy in all weathers. Among the vineyards the estate also grows avocados, olives and citrus trees with a culinary herb garden to supply the kitchen. Enjoy our renowned and celebrated wines including the iconic Reserve CHARDONNAY or our Classic red wine blends - 'Old Olive Block', 'Cape Kidnappers' & 'Enigma'. Our historic self-contained HOMESTEAD accommodation provides a unique location for a Hawke's Bay wedding, private function, meeting or special occasion celebration.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Accommodating for walk in's when they were fully booked!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We walked in without having made a reservation and we were accommodated for a table of three for lunch! Great service, lovely food and plenty to do for an active three year old!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    113
    54
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must do in the Hawkes Bay area”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I visited this winery and restaurant on the recommendation of a guy at the Linden vinery which is just north of Napier and the first vinery you pass on your way into Napier from Taupo. His recommendation turned out to be superb!
Whilst it was extremely busy in the restaurant - it was Saturday lunchtime and they had a lot of parties and we had not reserved a table - we were given a r
Table in the garden very quickly and had a thoroughly enjoyable lunch
We had the sharing platter which had cold meats, cheese, mushrooms, olives and a whole load of other delicious tastes - together with the focaccia and oil with dukkha which was described by our waitress a 'human bird seed (she had a sense of humour) but which was really super with the bread and olive oil
The service was perfect, the wine great and the food well served and very tasty
All in all a great stop and one we would willingly return to

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 99PeterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clearview Estate, Hawkes Bay”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a disaster yesterday was! Clearview Estate was totally overwhelmed and understaffed, We were walk ins, on a cycle tour with 3 small children, one staff member told us 'under no circumstances can we take you for lunch', and while we waited in the playground for 1 hour for our transport to arrive to pick us up we watched on while 2 more groups of cyclists arrived. These cyclists were seated and told to wait for an indeterminate length of time. We were not even given that option (which we would have taken) and I had to ask twice for a lemonade each, which took an hour to arrive as well! My husband was furious. Come on Clearview get it together, don't you know that you can charge walk ins the earth and on a hot day like yesterday we would have gladly paid, and why not offer walk ins a 'plat du jour' and let the other diners with a booking choose from the menu?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A thoroughly pleasant way to wile away an afternoon”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked a table for seven and we're offered our choice of two or three tables, choosing the one outside under the shade of a large gum tree. A good choice for a 28degC day, as the breeze kept it much cooler than for those poor souls inside! The lunch menu is interesting, a compilation of mostly tasting platters and small plates. The smaller offerings were very variable in size, ranging from a slider style rabbit burger to three tiny morsels of tuna. You would need at least two to satisfy. We had two platters, two sides of home cut chips to share and a small plate each.they have one of the best kid's menus around, with plenty of healthy options and not a chicken nugget in sight! Service was unobtrusive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucysMumNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere...food average”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A beautiful Hawke's Bay day, a lovely rustic atmosphere at Clearview, and very good service...disappointed that the food was very average in taste and presentation. Would think twice before returning, unfortunately.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clearview Estate Winery Restaurant also viewed

Te Awanga, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Te Awanga, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Clearview Estate Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing