We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
Nearby Hotels
Mangapapa Hotel(Havelock North)
US$233
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Grove Motel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Mata Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Motel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magpie Motel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valdez Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portmans Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porters Boutique Hotel(Havelock North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
207
17
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
17
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgannet colonykauri cliffsplay golfsister propertytasting menunew zealandthe main lodgepre dinner drinkskiwi experiencestunning propertyfood and wineround of golftour of the propertyhorse ridekiwi birdmoment you arrivehawkes bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

When reading reviews and deciding to book Cape Kidnappers, someone described it as truly 6 star - well they certainly weren't wrong! The Lodge is furnished beautifully with different rooms for reading, sitting by the fire for a drink or for having a meal. The service is fantastic and really sets this place apart. From the greeting from Hanna and her team to the incredible service and knowledge from Andrew the Head Waiter and his staff, to the great service at the golf club from John and Rebecca to the magnificent food from the the kitchen - we were spoilt.

Our room was to die for, being a Lodge suite looking down towards the golf course and Hawkes Bay. The food was fantastic with an extensive wine list with a great variety of excellent Hawkes Bay wines. Once again thanks to Andrew for his knowledge of the local wine district.

The golf course speaks for itself in a stunning location, the staff attend to your every need. The course is in great condition, though will have its annual coring in October, so we just made it.

Totally recommend a minimum two night stay here and in comparison to some other all inclusive Lodges we've visited particularly in Nth America, this is the best we've been to.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Some a little way from the Lodge but max only 100m. We stayed in the Lodge Suite which is a little bigger and therefore dearer, but certainly worth it
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Paul C,

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Cape Kidnappers. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the main lodge and your accommodation, the amazing cuisine, and your interactions with our staff. We are also thrilled that you were able to enjoy the fantastic course, where indeed the stunning vistas can distract even the best golfer.

Thank you for choosing Cape Kidnappers and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Put simply, I think it would be very difficult to improve on The Farm at Cape Kidnappers. We had mulled around the idea of going for many years before finally committing, always balking at the price and thinking it was out of our reach. Having now stayed there, and experienced what this lodge has to offer, I actually think the price is quite reasonable for what you get. We did make use of the winter special with unlimited golf or a spa treatment, and unashamedly state that it was the golf course that got us there.
The suites are beautifully appointed with fantastic views, warm and comfortable.
The Lodge is a stunning place, fitted out in such a way that you know a lot of time and money went into it design and application. Every room had its virtues, but have to say, like I'm sure many people do, that the "Snug" was our favourite room. Our private night of dining there was quite special.
As for dining, the food experience at Cape Kidnappers was as good as I have had anywhere. We tried the degustation menu both nights and could not find fault with a single course. Conversations with Jeremy, the Sommelier, helped us to pick a special wine for each night, and the service provided by Benjamin and James (and Blair and John) was beyond reproach. A truly special culinary experience for us.
Breakfast too was 5 star, with brilliant service from the young lady (whose name I can't remember) at 0645 even though breakfast didn't officially start until 0730.
The Golf - what a course and what a pleasure to play it! Thanks to less than optimal weather, we got 2 days of the course to ourselves, managing to play 54 holes in the process. Let me just say that its high world ranking is well justified. Kyle and John at the Proshop were excellent, even bringing us out dry towels after a soggy front nine!
Overall this was a brilliant place to visit and stay. We were treated to exceptional service at every point of the stay, and made to feel like millionaires (which we clearly are not!) without feeling like any of the staff were "forcing" it. No pretentiousness here.
Would I return?....already planning to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear emohawk,

Thank you for sharing both your comments and photos following your recent stay at Cape Kidnappers.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodation and the main lodge, the superb cuisine, and the service provided by our staff members. We are pleased dinner in the snug, the exquisite degustation menu, and a fantastic bottle of wine were ingredients for such a memorable evening.

We are also pleased that you not only enjoyed our stunning golf course, but played an amazing 54 holes!

Thank you again for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Kidnappers.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Had a wonderful lunch here. Although the weather was wet & gloomy, The Farm, had a lovely, warm feel. The set menu lunch was superb, with just the right size portions. Staff were very friendly, especially Vanesa from Argentina, sometimes places of this calibre ,can be a bit pretentious & over the top with service, but this was not the case here.
The decor is relaxed, country type feel, with fantastic natural features. We will definitely be returning & hopefully able to play golf, weather permitting! Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear hokimai

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit to Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for another lunch visit and golf next time.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson
Managing Director, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel exceeded my expectations - just pure luxury. It is so nice to see the attention to detail these days which unfortunately is greatly lacking in some so called 5/6 star hotels/resorts. The property is a country sophisticated classic style - the views from our suite were amazing. I would highly recommend and would come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear jinnine r,

Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of The Farm at Cape Kidnappers. It is lovely to read how you enjoyed your overall experience, the attention to detail, and the breath-taking views. We take such pride in the service we provide and to read rave reviews like yours makes it all worthwhile!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Staying at CK stretched my budget, but I am so glad I had 3 nights there. Beautiful accommodation, fabulous food and wine, superb service and sensational views. The golf course is spectacular, challenging, and it was in excellent condition. Don't miss the quad bike tour, it was great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Patricia2004,

Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your accommodation, the cuisine, and the breath-taking views. It is particularly pleasing that you made the most of your stay, enjoying not only a round of golf but also an exhilarating quad bike tour!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews