We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could give it 6 stars, I would...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
Ranked #1 of 2 Te Awanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could give it 6 stars, I would...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

They make you feel like a king. No rush, no schedule, wonderful food, drink, service, amenities, incredible golf, Gannett Colony, spa...what else is possible?
Go There! You will love it.
We thought this was by far the highlight of our trip to New Zealand. In fact, both couples agreed we couldn't think of an experience anywhere in the world that beats it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear jeepie2013,

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Cape Kidnappers. We truly strive to be the best at what we do, and reading a review such as yours is truly rewarding. We are pleased that you took part in and enjoyed so many activities like the Spa, the golf, and the Gannet Colony. It is also pleasing to know you enjoyed the wine & cuisine and the service provided by our staff.

Tthank you again for a lovely review and for choosing Cape Kidnappers. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the most stunning property with some of the best views in the world.The decor and ambience is amazing,the staff are truly outstanding and nothing is too much for the.The food and wine excellent and nice little touches like pre dinner drinks complimentary in the lounge.It is very difficult to find property this good anywhere in the world.Experiences like Quad bike safari just were the icing on the cake.Worth every dollar!a world class luxury experience

Room Tip: 17 was superb with amazing views from bath and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Susy R,

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Cape Kidnappers. It was truly a pleasure to read your review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the cuisine & wine, your interactions with our staff, and the amazing views. It is also fantastic to know that you took full advantage of all that was on offer, from the quad bike safari to relaxing in the bath.

We thank you for choosing Cape Kidnappers and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

When reading reviews and deciding to book Cape Kidnappers, someone described it as truly 6 star - well they certainly weren't wrong! The Lodge is furnished beautifully with different rooms for reading, sitting by the fire for a drink or for having a meal. The service is fantastic and really sets this place apart. From the greeting from Hanna and her team to the incredible service and knowledge from Andrew the Head Waiter and his staff, to the great service at the golf club from John and Rebecca to the magnificent food from the the kitchen - we were spoilt.

Our room was to die for, being a Lodge suite looking down towards the golf course and Hawkes Bay. The food was fantastic with an extensive wine list with a great variety of excellent Hawkes Bay wines. Once again thanks to Andrew for his knowledge of the local wine district.

The golf course speaks for itself in a stunning location, the staff attend to your every need. The course is in great condition, though will have its annual coring in October, so we just made it.

Totally recommend a minimum two night stay here and in comparison to some other all inclusive Lodges we've visited particularly in Nth America, this is the best we've been to.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Some a little way from the Lodge but max only 100m. We stayed in the Lodge Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Paul C,

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Cape Kidnappers. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the main lodge and your accommodation, the amazing cuisine, and your interactions with our staff. We are also thrilled that you were able to enjoy the fantastic course, where indeed the stunning vistas can distract even the best golfer.

Thank you for choosing Cape Kidnappers and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Put simply, I think it would be very difficult to improve on The Farm at Cape Kidnappers. We had mulled around the idea of going for many years before finally committing, always balking at the price and thinking it was out of our reach. Having now stayed there, and experienced what this lodge has to offer, I actually think the price is quite reasonable for what you get. We did make use of the winter special with unlimited golf or a spa treatment, and unashamedly state that it was the golf course that got us there.
The suites are beautifully appointed with fantastic views, warm and comfortable.
The Lodge is a stunning place, fitted out in such a way that you know a lot of time and money went into it design and application. Every room had its virtues, but have to say, like I'm sure many people do, that the "Snug" was our favourite room. Our private night of dining there was quite special.
As for dining, the food experience at Cape Kidnappers was as good as I have had anywhere. We tried the degustation menu both nights and could not find fault with a single course. Conversations with Jeremy, the Sommelier, helped us to pick a special wine for each night, and the service provided by Benjamin and James (and Blair and John) was beyond reproach. A truly special culinary experience for us.
Breakfast too was 5 star, with brilliant service from the young lady (whose name I can't remember) at 0645 even though breakfast didn't officially start until 0730.
The Golf - what a course and what a pleasure to play it! Thanks to less than optimal weather, we got 2 days of the course to ourselves, managing to play 54 holes in the process. Let me just say that its high world ranking is well justified. Kyle and John at the Proshop were excellent, even bringing us out dry towels after a soggy front nine!
Overall this was a brilliant place to visit and stay. We were treated to exceptional service at every point of the stay, and made to feel like millionaires (which we clearly are not!) without feeling like any of the staff were "forcing" it. No pretentiousness here.
Would I return?....already planning to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear emohawk,

Thank you for sharing both your comments and photos following your recent stay at Cape Kidnappers.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodation and the main lodge, the superb cuisine, and the service provided by our staff members. We are pleased dinner in the snug, the exquisite degustation menu, and a fantastic bottle of wine were ingredients for such a memorable evening.

We are also pleased that you not only enjoyed our stunning golf course, but played an amazing 54 holes!

Thank you again for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Kidnappers.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Had a wonderful lunch here. Although the weather was wet & gloomy, The Farm, had a lovely, warm feel. The set menu lunch was superb, with just the right size portions. Staff were very friendly, especially Vanesa from Argentina, sometimes places of this calibre ,can be a bit pretentious & over the top with service, but this was not the case here.
The decor is relaxed, country type feel, with fantastic natural features. We will definitely be returning & hopefully able to play golf, weather permitting! Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear hokimai

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit to Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for another lunch visit and golf next time.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson
Managing Director, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel exceeded my expectations - just pure luxury. It is so nice to see the attention to detail these days which unfortunately is greatly lacking in some so called 5/6 star hotels/resorts. The property is a country sophisticated classic style - the views from our suite were amazing. I would highly recommend and would come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear jinnine r,

Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of The Farm at Cape Kidnappers. It is lovely to read how you enjoyed your overall experience, the attention to detail, and the breath-taking views. We take such pride in the service we provide and to read rave reviews like yours makes it all worthwhile!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Staying at CK stretched my budget, but I am so glad I had 3 nights there. Beautiful accommodation, fabulous food and wine, superb service and sensational views. The golf course is spectacular, challenging, and it was in excellent condition. Don't miss the quad bike tour, it was great fun.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Patricia2004,

Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your accommodation, the cuisine, and the breath-taking views. It is particularly pleasing that you made the most of your stay, enjoying not only a round of golf but also an exhilarating quad bike tour!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awanga
7.7 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
13.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
14.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
13.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm at Cape Kidnappers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at Cape Kidnappers

Property: The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
Address: 446 Clifton Road, Te Awanga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Te Awanga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Te Awanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at Cape Kidnappers 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Farm at Cape Kidnappers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing