We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
50
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird feeders honesty shop small pool great pub rolling countryside excellent site local pub country lane melton mowbray toilet and shower block local area rutland water village store easy access nice short walk ladies running new owners
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Wardens are magnificent, as before, despite horrid heat wave we survived as the POOL was amazing. Our wee dog was kept cool, not in the pool, but by all means possible, temp 30 degrees one day. Quiet YES. Safe ? Yes! Value for ? YES, if anything underpriced! Internet? Not used much, but seemed FABULOUS! Nothing too much trouble and our camping neighbours were so very welcoming, in 35 years of camping this was first time we were presented with ICE COLD drinks on a really HOT, HOT, HOT day! Thanks to our camping neighbours from my Homeland! (Northern Ireland). Their two wonderful labradors Diesel and Guiness, were the most well behaved dogs I have ever seen, our JRT Monty was a close second! Please have a vacancy soon so we can come again and see more of the area in more appropriate weather... we loved chillin and reading TWO Bookd in 4 days,. Love and Hugs... Brian and Brenda xx and Monty dog

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Bizzibren23716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Manager at Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi both. Sorry for the late response to your lovely review - we're really glad you enjoyed it here - and got on so well with Diesel & Guinness (and their owners!). Hopefully we'll see you again before too long.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Came here for three days, we were not disappointed.
Given this little private pitch at the bottom of the site.
Will be coming here again.
The two ladies running the site were very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank 441trevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Haven't stayed here for a couple of years. Since then Chris and Jo have taken over from Sue. Didn't think it was possible but they do seemed to have improved what I thought was perfection. Glad to see that the two wardens (Barb and Gail) are still around and as happy and cheerful as ever. This really is a place to get away from it all and feel that you are amongst friends. The way that the pitches are laid out makes you feel as though you are staying in someone's garden not on a caravan park. Have to say this is by design not accident. Would not recommend visiting with a caravan if you don't have a Motor Mover even though Chris etc will be happy to help.

Room tip: Pitch 10 is a bit overlooked so try to avoid if possible.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roam808829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you. It was lovely to meet you both. You had such a busy time whilst you were here - we hope you have found some time for your selves since you've been home:)
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we hope you'll return - for a relaxing break!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Amazing little site so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. We were here during the hottest days of the year and the little pool was a godsend. Great little honesty shop. Lovely owners so friendly. Our only problem was a dog walk, they only have the grass verge on the road. But it doesn't detract from a five star site.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fijane53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you. What great comments - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Greendale. The comment regarding the dog walk is appreciated too. At the present we simply do not have any spare space, but if we were to acquire a bit of land in the future, then it would be high on our priorities. In the meanwhile, we keep the verge closely mown and the hedge cut back to give a wide and safe walk on the lane.
Best wishes to you and hopefully we'll see you here again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Well, just arrived back home from this magnificent gem of a site. We spent five days here with our two dogs, and can only say thank you.
All the wardens are extremely friendly and knowledgeable, they all work tirelessly on the site keeping it spotless.
The laid-back attitude really shone through, the little touches: an honesty shop .... never seen that before and a great trusting idea .... works very well in my humble opinion.
Be prepared though this site offers peace, tranquility, and relaxation that is off the scale.
Pitches are well defined.
Pool on site, although we didn't use it, looked inviting especially on the day we left ....the weather really picked up.
All the usual amenities on site: showers, toilets, washing/ drying.
Nearest pub around 0.85 of a mile down a country lane that is easily within walking distance, serving a great selection of beers and food.
One of the Wow factors here is the variety of birds that visit the site.

Would we visit the site again ....... Absolutely

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Greendale Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you! It was lovely to read your review and great to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable break at Greendale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews