We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millers Ice Cream

Millers Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Cowaramup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home made ice cream that really takes some licking! Our farm fresh ice cream is so creamy because the milk we use comes straight from our cows milked daily on our family farm. We are a family venue suitable for everyone, from toddlers to grandparents, as ice cream is something we know everyone loves. We offer: deliciously creamy, homemade ice cream with over 50 flavours to savour...26 Flavours available at any one time. Farm fresh, full cream bottled milk - nothing added, nothing taken out. Milk shakes, Homebaked treats & light snacks, Yahava Coffee & Tea, The Milking Shed - live milking shows, Adventure Playground, Milking the Cows (dummy cows), Picnic benches, spacious grounds & bush walk. Great for birthday parties (please book). Sorry no dogs, smoking or alcohol permitted. Our new attraction, The Milking Shed, offers live milking shows at 11am on Sundays, public and school holidays. Tour groups welcome by appointment. Real Cows. Real milk. Award winning ice cream.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Ice-cream here was delish! Whether single or double scoop, the serves are good value for money and they have a wide range of flavours.
It would be nice if the take home packs came in different sizes (we only saw large 1L?).
Clean and friendly staff. :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cr3atureComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish M, Owner at Millers Ice Cream, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Yes, you are correct, we only do the 1L takeaway tubs, sorry! Thanks for reviewing Millers Farm Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    53
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mascarpone and wild fig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had the Mascarpone and wild fig ice cream and it was delicious! It tasted so creamy and fresh! It is better priced than some of the other ice creamery's in the area and I will definitely be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish M, Owner at Millers Ice Cream, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Yes, we do our best to keep our prices, and serving sizes, fair...this is what we always set out to do when we opened our doors at the Farm Cafe. As a mum of two I know too well how expensive outings can be for a family! Thanks for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Coffee and Ginger. Mmmmm.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We probably would have missed this place except for the recommendation of the great staff at Yahava Koffee. And seeing as it was on the way back to Perth, we dropped in. I'm not sure how authentic the story was at Yahava, but according to them Millers was once just your average dairy farm. Apparently when thew major supermarkets first started their milk war, Millers faced financial ruin. The story goes they turned to making ice cream. It's a good story, and they are certainly very good at making ice cream.

The property is a fair way off the main road, but well worth the detour. There's a playground for the kids in the large well kept grounds, and even a "cow" or two to milk. The shop seems to be in the old farmhouse, and is well set up with counter and lots of seating, as well as a small range of the usual touristy things for sale. Only downside was they didn't do tastings, so you have to choose carefully. There's a good selection of sorbet and ice cream; the blood orange sorbet looked very tempting, but how could I pass up coffee and ginger?

The ice cream was beautifully rich and creamy. We all picked something different, and we all shared. And it was all good. For a place that is well off the main road, I was surprised at just how many customers had made the detour. It was certainly busy.And rightfully so. Anyone who makes ice cream as good as this thoroughly deserves the custom they get.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westendgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish M, Owner at Millers Ice Cream, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Yes, the great team at Yahava did give you a good rundown of our history here at Millers!

We are 3rd generation dairy farmers who diversified into making ice cream 3 years ago to value-add to our dairy business. The milk wars, and deregulation of the dairy industry, have made things difficult for dairy farmers leaving little profit...so we turned to making ice cream right here on our Cowaramup farm...the "cow to cone" experience!

Thanks so much for your detailed review...I do need mention one thing though...it is only a short 3km drive off Bussell Hwy to our farm cafe...and we are glad you took the trip down Wirring Rd and enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbox Island, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Same great ice cream, different location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The product here is the same as the rural location but the ambiance is different, buy a long shot. You're sitting in Margaret River, a cute little town in Western Australia with the hustle and bustle of a larger small city. So if you like ice cream and if you're in Margaret River, drop in for a sweet dollup of ice cream. One side note, it could be a wee bit cleaner, like it's country counterpart.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish M, Owner at Millers Ice Cream, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Yes, the experience at the Margaret River Town Shop is different than what you get here at the Farm Cafe...we are glad you enjoyed it too!

There is also a Millers scooping outlet at Dunsborough (part of the Xscape at the Cape) and in Rockingham in the Perth Metro area...and to use your quote "same great ice cream, different location".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbox Island, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you like ice cream?????????”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Now here's a wee little place just off the Bussel Hwy,, close to Cowaramup that for those ice cream lovers out there is a absolute must on the bucket list. There's an assortment of flavours, of all different sizes and prices. The one important aspect of this place is thar it uses only the dairy products it produces in the making of its ice cream. The setting is rural with lots of seating available and a playground for the young ones. In my opinion it's well worth the short drive(3 km.)off the highway to have a rest and enjoy a coffee and /or an ice cream cone/shake while taking in the ambiance of this rural setting. Millers Ice Cream, don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millers Ice Cream also viewed

Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Rosa Glen, Margaret River Region
 
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Millers Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing