We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor cellar door experience”
Review of Vasse Felix Winery

Vasse Felix Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$182.44*
and up
Vasse Felix Behind-the-Scenes Winery Tour and Wine Tasting Experience Including...
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Cowaramup
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,474 reviews
685 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 862 helpful votes
“Poor cellar door experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Tastings are in a dingy underground area which is basically a shop. Not very appealing.

Food is good though (if expensive).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    54
    14
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the oldest wineries in Margaret River”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We really wanted to come Vasse Felix because this is one of the oldest wineries, built in 1967. We didn't have lunch because they were fully booked, so make sure you book a table in advance. Their Cabernet Merlot is very nice, $26 per bottle. Tasting is free :). Worth visiting if you are in Margaret River :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MadaTata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowaramup, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Top quality food and service”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Loved the pork shoulder, chicken, tomato salad, potatoes, dessert....everything was perfect. The new manager,.Phil, was very knowledgable and attentive, as where all the waitstaff. We will be back ....soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
549 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Vasse Felix forms a significant part of the prologue for the Margaret River wine industry and is worth a visit just to understand the context of the industry in this region.

But apart from heritage the winery represents some great options for tourists. The Cellar Door itself is a great piece of architecture and the grounds are picture perfect and punctuated by sculptures that add some intrigue. Don't know why the Hunter Valley can't do this??

Vasse Felix wines have always been something of a benchmark and the tasting experience supports the views. Free delivery for case orders but no pressure to buy!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Margaret River must-visit”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Vasse Felix is a name I have connected with great wine for many years, so it was only natural that this was one of the main places we wanted to visit on our first trip to Margaret River. I'm really glad to say that it didn't disappoint;- the wine was excellent, and perfectly complimented by friendly, funny, engaging service. The resturant was beautifully appointed, and the grounds immaculately kept. We will definitely be going back there on our next visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoom-Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasse Felix Winery also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Vasse Felix Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing