We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”
Review of Karriview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karriview Lodge
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend away at Karriview Lodge. It is an older established but the rooms were a nice size and had all the amenities that you need. What made Karriview go from Good to Great, was all the wonderful people that work there. All the Staff were so nice and eager to help. One night our dinner come out a little late, so they gave us dessert on the house. Its these things that make me want to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location close to wineries & Margaret River town. tranquil setting excellent service. Stayed in villa newer than lodge rooms excellent size & amenities. Breakfast was great love the yahava coffee dinner menu average to good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We purchased this through a third party at a discounted rate thank god
we arrived at Karriview and enjoyed the surrounding of the Lodge very well presented and looked great we where there for 2 nights got into the reception and was greeted warmly by Summer who went through what our package was all about and then took us on a tour then to our room.
The room was ok nice view of the grounds we asked for a 2 person spa which we were told was available the bed was not good did not sleep well in it the spa bath / shower was hard to get in and out of as it was high they had a wooden step to help but was very slippery as was the spa you had to be very careful very poor set up
there was a blown roof light and one of the bed lamps did not work they supplies a recharge torch which also did not work. I reported this the next morning and was told maintenance would have a look at it nothing was done.
Continental breakfast was supplied in the deal service was poor and we had to ask for a few items that had run out plates to put toast on spoons were not left in the jam jars we done this ourselves and just running out of items no one checking
They informed us it was pizza night Friday night we though this sounds like fun but when we arrived back at the resort and seen there was a choice of 3 pizzas only which did not interest my girlfriend or myself we went out.
what a let down Karriview was our room was serviced on the Friday bed was made and that was it i feel the bin was not emptied all smaill things but all add up.
when we checked out on the Sat morning we got to our car and off to the left there we food scraps and rubbish on the ground as if rubbish bags had broken but it had all been left sitting there.
What a dissapointment to the both of us

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bjf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My partner and I recently spent 2 nights at Karriview, given to us as a Christmas gift (therefore it's hard for me to rate it on value for money).
We stayed at the lodge, which is an impressive building in a lovely, peaceful, picturesque location near Cowaramup. The room itself was spacious and the bed comfortable. It felt a little dated and neglected though. The bathroom was let down by an old spa bath that was big enough for one-person only, and a shower that was barely shoulder height (and I'm by no means huge at 5'11).
We dined at the in-house K Star restaurant, and our meals on the first night were delicious. It was nice on a cold winter's night not to need to leave the building to eat. A little more heating in the restaurant wouldn't have gone astray, but we were rugged up so it was ok.
Breakfast the next morning wasn't so great though. The continental breakfast was pretty embarrassing I thought. The staff tried but it was all very disorganised, the "Bircher muesli" was just muesli in milk, the fruit selection was minimal, and the berries were obviously straight out of a freezer pack because many of them were still frozen together.
Dinner on the second night was a selection of pizzas. We had a couple of those and they were fine.
I guess I was anticipating a more warm and inviting place to stay. It was comfortable enough, the staff were friendly, but overall staying at Karriview was not the special getaway experience I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snarky_Sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Lodge is probably quite old but we stayed in Olive Retreat 1, a villa with huge balcony at least the size of our huge room. I think it was a newer part of the resort and it was really nice. King size everything. Understated elegance and so comfortable.

We stayed for a Thurs and Friday night package and it was blustery rain and wind. That made it all the more romantic. Cosied up in the doona, safe and warm.

The Lodge is really an old fashioned style lodge like you get in Kenya game parks. Overstuffed comfy sofas and fires in the public areas, places to read a book. Staff who get to know you. Umbrellas in your room to get from bedroom to dining room. Free golf clubs to hit a few drives outside your villa. Lots of walks into the bush. Tennis courts, chess courts, lots of birds. Carnaby's black cockatoos, Kookaburras.

The Lodge is hidden well off Caves Road. I have been down Caves road a thousand times and never realised the Lodge was there.

Our continental breakfasts were generous and our dinners with wine were winners. Both nights I had the beef cheeks. So tasty and rich, best cheeks I've had for a few years.

I would like to return in warmer weather when I am, again, looking for a romantic place.

Room Tip: don't know about lodge rooms but villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful property of rolling greens, huge trees, wonderful gardens & kangaroos. Just the place to wind down. The buildings are solid, and every attempt has been made to update the fittings. We stayed two nights in Forest View 1, huge room, comfy bed, good air-conditioning to keep us warm. The bathroom is also huge, with a large two person spa. The room was very clean and the only thing we would change would be some new soft furnishings would complete the update.

The K restaurant is run like a large dining room in a friend's home (separate tables) - the food was good (some of the food served was grown on the property) and the staff go out of their way to please. The people who work at this property are passionate about customer service.

Room Tip: To use wifi in our room was a challenge, also the TV signal was intermittent, BUT we stayed on a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdougaller370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed with friends recently. Yes everything was clean and tidy, the rooms were spacious and it has a lovely setting. It was let down by the staff or maybe the management of. They were trying to do their best.
Some of the rooms had recently been flooded and after speaking to other guests many of us had been shifted around which is completely understandable. it was apparent some rooms have been refurbished recently, some still need updating.
I wouldn't rush to dine in, in the evenings. Dine out during the day skip dinner altogether. The Continental Breakfast was passable as far as this type of meal goes.
nice place but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraine164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowaramup hotels
6.7 mi away
Taunton Farm Holiday Park
Taunton Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Cowaramup
180 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Noble Grape Guest House
4.2 mi away
Adinfern Estate
Adinfern Estate
#6 of 9 in Cowaramup
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ellensbrook Cottages
Ellensbrook Cottages
#4 of 9 in Cowaramup
25 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bettenays Wines and Accommodation
5.2 mi away
Cowaramup Studios
Cowaramup Studios
#2 of 3 in Cowaramup
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karriview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karriview Lodge

Address: Lot 66 Caves Road, Cowaramup, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Cowaramup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Cowaramup
Price Range: £127 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karriview Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to idyllic Karriview Lodge, a renowned haven of relaxation in one of Australia’s most beautiful destinations. Nestled in the heart of the Margaret River wine region in Western Australia, Karriview is set amongst a magnificent karri forest and walking distance to majestic white beaches, providing the perfect base from which to explore the region.Our luxury lodge is the perfect location for your wedding celebration, business retreat or special occasion.We pride ourselves on removing those modern-day stresses allowing our guests to really escape, relax and enjoy the south-west.We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Karriview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karriview Lodge Margaret River Region/Cowaramup, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing