We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grottes de Betharram”

Grottes de Betharram
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grottes de Betharram”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

How beautiful nature is... it always give me a great feeling to see the wonders of nature, the beauty, it strength... the grottoes are special, never seen any like these... The guide gave us a great explanation... and at the end I was surprised by a collection of minerals and crystals.... the surprise was down into the caves we did a little boat trip and a train brought us back tot the surface... a special experience!!! I would like to do it again!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SoundChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    194
    64
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have never seen such an amazing place! Beautifull and well guided. Very impressive. First part is a multi language walking tour, a very short boat ride and the last part in a train. Great tour for young and old!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GTholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun and good for a wet day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We visited during our stay near Pau. It was a last minute choice and we were initially sceptical that we would end up being herded into a short and overpriced novelty but we were pleasantly surprised. For the 13 euros we had a tour of 1 h 20 with a jolly and interesting guide. We can understand french pretty well so had no issue with the main spiel but for those being given the English version were on the whole short-changed, being left behind and missing some of the jokes. The trip does involve quite a few steps (with handrails) and a fair amount of walking but is worth it as the setting is spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tommillinchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Créon-d'Armagnac, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice caves, corny visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I felt like i was in disneyland! even though the caves are beautifull! be carefull though, it is really cold down there, and lots of steep stairs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinkie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creon-d'Armagnac, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely go on a hot day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely grounds, well organized. Loved the silly french guide wearing a barret, he spoke ok english, and told the corniest jokes! Once inside the caves (a bit of a wait) it started cooling down. BRING A SWEATER!!! The caves are marvelous! Each area was well lit and very interesting as you wind down a path that goes deeper and deeper into the earth (1 km at deepest point) There is a little boat ride (1 minute?) but it is a nice diversion. At the end my toes started getting numb, and nose frozen...while taking a mini train ride, we were so anticipating the blast of heat as we came into the daylight and out of the caves...fabulous!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grottes de Betharram also viewed

Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 
Cauterets, Hautes-Pyrenees
Cauterets, Hautes-Pyrenees
 

Been to Grottes de Betharram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing