We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Patria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Patria
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Renovated old hotel Patria with beautiful view on Strbske pleso and High Tatras. This hotel is fully renovated, new wellness, new furniture, but it has still the "communist spirit" known across Slovakia :) I can recommend Patria for families with children because of wellness and pool. The food is really varied especialy at breakfast, restaurant is huge. You can have some drink in pleasant lobby bar. Rooms are clean, but little bit "out of fashion" :) (that's the old spirit of Patria)... The best thing is hotel's location. It is close to everything. You can have a good times here, go there (especialy if you want to remind to yourself old good times:))

Room Tip: Ask the view on Strbske Pleso, rooms on this side have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prevadzka, Manager at Hotel Patria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for posting a review on the website for us and I am delighted that you liked our hotel. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and hotel location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Best regards,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    46
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
35
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Cadca, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

great hotel....beautiful location....a bit ordinary breakfast for 4star hotel...
good location, walking distance to the lifts. a bit quiet area.
nice and pleasant wellness, with a lot of Russians - I don't mind, but anyway...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prevadzka, Manager at Hotel Patria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at the Hotel Patria. It is rewarding to read that you had a wonderful stay. Thrilled that you like our wellness. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Warmest regards,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel during our summer trip in High Tatras and didn't disappointed.
The hotel is in ideal romantic location in all of the High Tatras - near the beautiful mountain lake, walking distance to the lifts (for skiing in winter or hiking during summer time).

Of Course the hotel is a little bit old fashioned, but very tidy and have almost everything You need it (free wifi in the room, mini bar, spa center, restaurant, small souvenir shop etc.)
If You want to stay in luxury hotel so better choose Kempinski High Tatras or Hotel Solisko (just these two hotels are also near this lake), but I`m recommend Hotel Patria as normal 4 stars hotel.

Tip to choose a good room: ask the room with the lake view (all these rooms have balcony and amazing view). Also if You will book this hotel through Germany travel organizator like TUI or Dertour - You probably get the better room than if You will come with the booking.com voucher.

Room Tip: Ask the room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGNESSSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were in this hotel several times over the past 10 years, especially during the Christmas holidays.. Surprisingly, very little, besides the prices, has changed at the hotel Patria in the intervening years.
Hotel Patria is located in the highest village in the High Tatras in Štrbske Pleso at an altitude of 1355 meters above sea level. The hotel is situated on the banks of alpine lake at the end of Mlýnická valley . Directly from the hotel Patria is a view of High Tatras Mountains and Lake Štrbske pleso. Hotel Patria is one of the spa hotel with a wellness Patria Aqua Paradise.
Sufficient accommodation, typically Slovak service and staff, breakfast buffet, dinner menu with salad buffet, half board included Christmas menu. The food in the restaurant is typically Slovakian -- sufficient , but not memorable.
Wellness Patria Aqua Paradise is brilliant, so many different treatment rooms - salt steam bath - Herbal inhalation - Eucalyptus steam bath - Roman steam bath - sanarium - tepidarium - whirlpool - Massage pool, cooling pool - Waterway, ice cave - Scottish showers, Finnish sauna, log cabin - Indoor Swimming Pool, but very expensive !
The nearest ski resort: Štrbske Pleso-Solisko about 500 m, track about 200 meters - ski lift 300 m - ski bus to ski resort,ski stadium.
Excellent location on a pretty lake, with nice mountain vistas. During Christmas fewer people on the slopes. The beautiful surroundings and maintained trails for cross country skiing.
We can recommend this hotel.
The negative things : payment to stay well ahead of
expensive parking at the hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors-better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Antonín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountnBiker
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've been to this hotel twice in the last 20 years. The first time was right after the break-up of the communist bloc and the second quite recently. Both times it was to visit my wife's distant relatives in a nearby town. Surprisingly, very little, besides the prices, has changed at the Patria in the intervening years. In the early 90s it was a bargain, as was all of Eastern Europe. But now it strikes me as being overpriced. From what I was told during the communist period this was THE place for well connected party types,and one gets the impression that it is still feeding off this past glory. By western standards this hotel is quite run of the mill, despite its impressive facade. The front desk staff speaks very poor English, but if you know German you are in luck as that is almost a second language in Slovakia. As has been pointed out there is no wi-fi and the internet connection is unreliable. The food in the restaurant is typically Slovakian -- pork, sausage, potatoes, cucumber salads, etc. Filling, but not memorable. The real draw here is the breathtaking scenery of the Tatras. There are many great hiking trails and some lovely vistas. But, these these not the Alps or the Canadian Rockies, this is a bite sized mountain range by comparison.

One word of caution, if you are darker complexioned, say Italian or Spanish looking, you may be refused service at first until they are certain you aren't Roma (gypsy). The anti-gypsy prejudice in Slovakia is extreme and pervasive. I experienced a taste of this myself because I have dark hair and brown eyes and because I live in the American South I often sport a tan. On my most recent stay at the hotel I was initially treated very brusquely by the desk clerk who told me in German, "We have nothing for you! Leave at once!" It was only when I patiently explained to him that I had advance reservations and was from the USA that he saw that he'd made an error and processed us. But he never apologized or ever made eye contact with me. It was only later that I learned from my wife's relatives the probable reason for his initial hostility. It may have been done in error, but I still did not appreciate being treated that way. It was an eye-opener into a very ugly part of the Slovak personality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the mountain side, otherwise you are overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountnBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have just returned from a 7 days vacation at this hotel and I am happy to be home.
It is too bad that the owners don't make an effort to give quality services to foreign clients.
First of all nobody speaks english here so there was no way to talk to the staff.
Nobody smiles or tries to help you in any way.
The rooms are clean but horribly decorated something like the 90's hotels. Definatly not a 4 stars hotel.
The slopes nearby are only for advanced skyers so if you are not a pro go to Tatranska Lomnika.
Not to forget that the temperature in the room was somewhere Round 20 degrees which is not great with a 10 months baby. We almost have to draw a heather so that they understood what we wanted but than it was so hard to give us one.

Only nice thing is the wellness area that is 4 stars but you have to pay for it 16 euros.

Never returning here again. Too bad!

Room Tip: Be carefull when choosing a apartment because there are 2 types one with 2 separate rooms one with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1DIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The good things on the hotel are: spa, staff, good food, good location, nice view, good value for your money.
The negative things: smaller rooms which are sometimes not so quiet, beds.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borisporosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strbske Pleso hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solisko
Hotel Solisko
#4 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#3 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fis
Hotel Fis
#7 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama Resort
Hotel Panorama Resort
#8 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellness Hotel Borovica
Wellness Hotel Borovica
#5 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patria

Property: Hotel Patria
Address: Shtrbske Pleso 33 | Near The Shore Of The Tarn, Strbske Pleso 059 85, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Presov Region > Strbske Pleso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patria 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Patria Slovakia/Strbske Pleso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing