We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hostel.”
Review of Paddy's Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annascaul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paddy's Palace
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a Hostel.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It's a hostel; that's the best way I can describe it. I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm with my Paddy Wagon group (only 5 of us were in the room and it was very large) which had one ensuite bathroom. Not storage lockers in the room. While I would say it averages fairly safe, we were there when there was a drunken stag party who caused quite the ruckus and, with no one working at 3am, one of our group had to deal with their nonsense when they tried to break into our room via the window. The town is very small so the hostel is very easily accessible to all the pubs and views the town has to offer.

Included breakfast was average, coffee/tea/cereal/toast. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Paddy's Palace Customer Service at Paddy's Palace, responded to this review, 12 October 2015
Dear hcoli,

Thank you for posting your review of Paddy's Palace. We apologise that there was trouble with a stag party during your stay. As the hostel is located next to a pub, these things can happen but we will make sure that in the future, none of our guests will ever have to deal with such nonsense again. We hope this has not negatively affected your overall experience and that you will come back to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haiger, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

+ We stayed here for one night and enjoyed especially the friendly and courteous staff.

+ The hostel is very central and not far from the next store.

+ And the beds are clean!

+ Coffee and tea is for free the whole day.

- The house and the rooms are very ordinary and cold

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leonie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Paddy's Palace Customer Service at Paddy's Palace, responded to this review, 12 October 2015
Dear Leonie94,

Thank you for your kind review of Paddy's Palace. It is great to see that there were more pro's than con's during your stay here. We hope you enjoyed your experience with us and that you'll return again in the future. We will make sure that none of our other guests have problems with heating.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The greeting we got wasn't quite so welcoming, but alright to cope with. Not sure why she bothered to hunt down the key though. The lock was broken, so anyone had access to our room at all times.
Chatting to a friendly member of staff the next morning we could however see that grumpyness isn't a key requirement to work at the hostel after all.

The carpet in our room looked rather filthy and so did the bathroom (we refused to put further thought into analysing what it was we wiped off the toilet seat...), at least the sheets seemed clean.

Having the 6-bed room to ourselves (two people) it worked out alright to have the shower, sink and toilet in the same room, but on busy days this setup is quite unfortunate. Also the bathroom door would hardly close and once shut only opened under brute force - with an eardrum bursting shriek.

The location is great if you actually aim to stay in Anascaul, however the hostel also tends to appear amongst accommodations in Dingle, so be aware that Anascaul is about 15km outside of Dingle!!

-> If you need a cheap place to stay in Anascaul it's alright to survive one night. If you've got any other options though I'd advise you to stay away from Paddy's Palace though...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear world traveler,

Thank you for your recent review, but as the manager of this place I can see you are not happy about it, so I feel obliged to reply to it.
We are sorry if you think we weren't welcoming enough to you, although the member of the staff that checked you in gave you all the necessary information about the hostel and also suggested a few places you can visit around here.
About the lock, we can assure you it was not broken, it's been blocked for check-in, so that you would first have access to the room with your bags without waiting to open it. As soon as you put the key in and pull the small snib down, it works( we can send you a short " how to" video if you want). If you had problems with it, you could have asked us for help.
Your carpet had been vacuumed, if it was stained, we are sorry about that, but your bathroom was not dirty. This might be old place located in the countryside, but it's being cleaned daily.
About your 6-bed dorm, you were lucky to have that to yourselves, especially when that was not the room you actually booked and you were given a free upgrade. Our busy days concern us only, and it works out, as all the rooms have their own bathrooms, and you don't have the share shower with the entire floor, but only with the people in your room.
If you aimed to stay in Dingle town, you could have booked a place there, there's nothing we can do about the location.
As for advising people to stay away, fair enough if it's based on real experience and not on assumptions and accusations of "grumpyness" about people you don't actually know.

Hope the next place you stay meets your expectations!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Annascaul hotels

Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A great hostel that'll make you enjoy your journey in the Irish countryside! The place is clean, cute, confortable, quiet and spaced. Towels are available, kitchen is neat and there is a lovely cozy living room where you can relax. Too bad the shower debit is not strong at all, otherwise, I had a great time at the Annascaul's Paddy's Palace!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoliviergt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. May the roads rise up to meet you!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

From my experience here, this hostel, has a lot to offer. As a solo traveller, this hostel offered the best of every world to me.
Its location is set in the countryside, underneath the rolling hills of green fields, surrounded with sheep and nature. This makes it much different from your average hostel.Its quiteness is also appealing and this gave me great time to think while on my journey exploring Ireland. You can actually wake up to the birds singing and the sheep bleating rather than the noise of traffic! So this makes it unique and an attractive hostel for me.
My dorm room was clean and airy. Bathroom was clean also and bright colours were seen throughout the hostel. The main sitting room area was great with nice sofa area and lots of tables and chairs for chatting and watching tv.
Breakfast room was cosy.
Staff were excellent and really attentive .
A definite must on my travel for the future. I also liked the fact that there were lots of pubs nearby too. And other towns were not far to visit also. I got a real for Ireland while staying here and of course for Kerry!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Mary! We're glad you had that much fun. Do come back!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I can't say I spent much time in my room, but it was a clean and decent place to spend the night. I stayed in a 6-person room during a Paddywagon tour, with four other girls. The room had an en suite; the shower had hot water and decent pressure. The two staff members at the hostel also doubled as staff at the Randy Leprechaun, the pub connected to the hostel. Honestly, our group spent most of our time in the pub, including dinner, so I didn't get a chance to explore the town itself. The dining room was dark and cold, the kitchen was buried through a series of rooms and difficult to find. The common room was spacious and cozy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpursell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a shame. Annascaul is such a nice little village and this hostel is situated in such a nice little house. But it's is so rundown and so dirty. The kitchen is a health risk, the stove is covered in old dirty grease, also the floor was full of oil and grease. You can't use the dishes, because they are sticky and dirty. The kitchen window is surrounded by hundreds of dead flys and never use one of the tea towels – you could end up in hospital.
The rooms are spacious, but when i lay on the bed I noticed an old chewing gum swinging from the the bottom of the top bunk. The bathroom is also rundown and rotten and full of mould. Such a place is a shame. Paddy's Palace seems to be one of those rip-off hostel groups, that take your money but spend as little as possible in their houses.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbobbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annascaul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Property: Paddy's Palace
Address: 5 Beresford Place, Annascaul, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Annascaul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Annascaul
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hostel in the charming village of Annascaul. Very good location for walking, close to Anascaul Lake, Minard Castel and Inch Beach. Free continental breakfast and WI-FI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing