We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for high quality food”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I am a regular customer of the carvery lunch and the evening bar menu option at the Grand Hotel. I was prompted to write after reading a most unjust review on this site.
The carvery is a very consistent source of high quality and tasty food. Their soup is legendary, always thick and tasty. The chef's special for about é7 is the best value around and can be anything from stroganoff, lasange, turkey a la king, curry and many other options, usually something with great flavour. The joint is usually very good and my wife has often given out about the portions being too large which she finds off putting (I don't).
The evening bar menu is fresh and varied. The black pudding on a bed of mash is recommended and I have often said that there is no need to look for fillet steak at the Grand as their sirlion is always tender and tasty.
The service is friendly and efficient as you would expect from a family run hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed for two nights and was very happy with our choice.
The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed and the bathroom had a great shower.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
Great stay and happy to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ickleuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stopped off the m6 motorway from a Dublin bound trip into the Grand Hotel, our usual favourite stop off. Lunch was delicious, best roast beef dinner I’ve had in the midlands. Staff are very friendly and service is just as prompt. Would recommend it to anyone as a half way stop off.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ckreview1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Lots of steps & stairs to get to your very average room. No lifts available. Nice selection of barfood & staff couldn't do enough during our stay. Most parking available on street at front of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly4507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We happened to stop for breakfast en route from Galway to Dublin on the morning of September 12, 2011 and stopped at the Grand Hotel in Moate. There was a restaurant/coffee shop open. The service was possibly the poorest we have encountered. No smiling, happy faces. It looked like we were greatly inconveniencing the staff...two women working there. It was a most unpleasant experience, and certainly not representative of the people we had met in Ireland in any of the B&B's, pubs and restaurants we stopped at. Unfortunately, as well, the breakfast was of the same caliber as the staff.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms are better than the food in the Carvery/CoffeeDock...??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Canadiansnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 days in August, Rooms very spacious, there was actually a double bed and a single in the room which was nice with everthing supplied even an Iron Press. Had Breakfast which was lovely and served to you. We also had an evening meal on the evening we arrived which was lovely and reasonable. Staff were very helpful. Theree is a small car park at the back of the hotel which is very safe, If you fancy going out go to Eagans Pub it is well worth a visit and nice staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taxinephets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed with my wife on a Friday and Saturday night in February. Accomodation was basic but clean, bathrooms were fine and our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet considering it was the weekend. We had food in the bar on friday night and were happy with the menu available. The service was realy good and the staff there were very helpful and pleasant. As we were visiting friends nearby we did not have food on saturday. The breakfast each morning was fairly traditional but nice all the same. Overall our stay was plaesant and would have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moate
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,006 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,228 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
9.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Main Street, Moate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Moate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Price Range: £66 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a family run,14 bedroom hotel in Moate, County Westmeath. Situated in the heart of the Irish midlands, only 12km from Athlone, and only an hour's journey on the M6 motorway from both Dublin and Galway, the Grand Hotel is the perfect stop off location. We are just 2 minutes off both exit 6 and exit 7 on the M6. All of our bedrooms are en suite and we offer an extensive bar food, carvery, and A la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing