We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family run hotel. Positives outweigh the negatives.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Having stayed here 2 years ago (in a very old fashioned room ) I was delighted to see here that management started to refurbish rooms in Sept 2010. With that in mind I booked for the second time. This time I got the same room. No refurb here!! Well not in this room anyway! The room has granny's flowery curtains, and one of the single beds has springs that creak like there's no tomorrow and dated furniture. The mattress did not make for a good night's sleep. I can only think that all other rooms in the hotel were full and that i had to be given this room. Bathroom was a good size and was well equiped. The room was a real pity because the rest of the stay was very good.
Great service in the bar from cheery staff. Bar food was more than adaquate. Since my last stay the hotel has made major improvements to the breakfast room and breakfast menu. In fact the choice fro breakfast was super. V good coffee too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliz-ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal C, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Many thanks for your review. I’m sorry to hear you did not like your room. Since 2010 we have updated half of our rooms and are currently working towards completing the other half for 2013. I’m glad to hear you did enjoy our Barfood menu which is extremely popular with locals and visitors alike. Also, as you noticed, we have recently completely changed our breakfast menu and serve a great variety of healthy breakfast and delicious full Irish breakfast every morning in our Oak Leaf Restaurant. The new menu (especially the chefs pancakes) is proving to be extremely popular with all of our residents. We are constantly working to provide the best service and comfort for all our guests and your feedback and comments play an extremely important part in how we begin to improve any aspect of our Hotel. Thank you for your review and I look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our family recently availed of the promotional offer in the Oakleaf Restaurant in this hotel - €10 for every main course except steaks. This was great value for money and the food was gorgeous. We had our toddler and baby with us for dinner and the staff were so helpful and friendly. We eat in the bar and carvery in this hotel regularly and it was lovely to go to the restaurant for a cange. I would highly recommend the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal C, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere in the Oak Leaf Restaurant. Since beginning the €10 main course promotion in the Oak Leaf Restaurant at The Grand Hotel we have been exceptionally busy with families, groups, and friends and couples all coming to relax, unwind and sample some of our fine cuisine at unbeatable prices. It has been so well received that we are continuing with the special offer for an extended period of time. I look forward to seeing you again in The Oak Leaf Restaurant. Again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

great place, lovely staff, very child-friendly.
would definitely recommend.
E.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamonn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Grand on the 4th July 2012.The staff were lovely nothing was to much trouble.We had a lovely meal the night we arrived the two young girls that served us were ver helpful.The full Irish Breakfast was very filling there was also a great choice for breakfast.We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wesley-smith01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal C, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. The girls were delighted with their shining review. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed our new breakfast menu in The Oak Leaf Restaurant where we have everything from homemade pancakes, fresh fruit & Yoghurt to Full Irish Breakfast. We are currently running a promotion for a limited time in The Oak Leaf Restaurant and on your next stay I hope you can avail of our offer where all main courses on our extensive A La Carte menu are only €10 (excluding steaks). We are all about offering quality service and excellent food at the Grand Hotel. Again, many thanks for taking the time to share your excellent experience with us. I look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Being a resident of Moate I know this hotel well, but have not had much reason to use its facilities before. We recently had a family occasion however and my aunties, cousins, granny etc all stayed here. I have to say the service they received from the Grand hotel was exceptional. John Joe and co went out of their way to make sure my family were welcome and extra comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. He even dropped some drunken guests who were not staying but lived near by home at some stage of the night - early morning. He also offered a very competitive price to the group.
This hotel is not 5 star with jacuzzis and other fancy extras, its affordable, homely, welcoming, comfortable, offers great food and a lovely laid back atmosphere. Not only this but it has amazing service from genuine hard working and kind people, something which you wont not get from a large five star hotel where guests are treated like they are on a conveyor belt. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting moate or having a function in the town and my family will def be staying here again for the next big family do!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaraonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal C, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. I’m glad you all enjoyed your family occasion at the Grand Hotel. We pride ourselves on going that extra distance for all our guests to ensure you have a great time during your stay with us. We are lucky to have genuine hard working and kind people working with us and they are the reason we are set apart from the larger franchised hotels. John Joe was more than happy to offer your family transport home, nothing is too much trouble for any of our guests. I’m delighted you all enjoyed your meal, and our chefs will be extremely happy to hear yet another compliment about their food as they are always working hard to provide the very best dining experience in the area. We have recently launched our new A La Carte Menu in the Oak Leaf Restaurant, and to celebrate we are offering all main courses at only €10 (excluding steaks). We look forward to catering for your next family occasion. Again, many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This carvery served the worst panini I have ever had. It was dry, tough and nearly inedible. My friend had the chicken goujons and chips and they were dry and tough also. Toilets a bit grubby and hand towel wet and finished with no alternative way of washing your hands.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelMoate, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

First let me thank you for your review online. In response to your review I can assure you that all of our Paninis, sandwiches, baguettes and wraps are hand cut and made fresh to order. I apologise if you considered your pannini as dry but the standard of our food is highly regarded by all of our regular guests at the Grand Hotel. The chips are always cooked to order to ensure they are fresh and crispy every time. Our chicken Goujons are homemade from the finest fresh Irish Chicken Breast and are crumbed fresh by our chefs. They are slowly oven cooked and sell quite quickly for lunch. Let me apologise to you for this isolated incident, and I can assure you that it is an isolated incident. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and if you look at the majority of our reviews both on booking.com and here on trip advisor you will see that all of our customers enjoy the friendly service, atmosphere and food here at The Grand Hotel. I would have hoped that if you didn’t like your food you could have brought this to the attention of any member of staff or management who would have been more than happy to provide you with any alternative meal. I hope you will return to the Grand Hotel so you can see the true service and quality of food that we are all about. Again, many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

En route home from Galway to Dublin,we thought Moate may offer somewhere to stop for lunch. Virtually everything was closed at 3pm on a Sunday, apart from this place. Shouldnt have stopped at all. Very poor quality food and a very dingy room to eat it in!

'Grand'it may have been .. but it ain't any more!

Note to self - next time, pack sandwiches before I set off!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal C, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your review. We take on board all customer comments. We serve our extremely popular Carvery lunch daily from 1 – 4pm where we attract customers from all the local business, tours and similar to you, people travelling from Galway to Dublin. We have built up a large customer base by offering quality food and excellent service from the day we opened over the 15 years ago at the Grand Hotel. We cater for wedding, parties, confirmations and many more events where our food is always the highlight of the evening. Our customers have been returning to us for years because we offer quality food and excellent service at competitive prices. I can assure you that our hotel is far from “dingy”. Even from merely reading other more accurate reviews of our establishment it is clear to see that we are a very popular choice. It has been described here on trip advisor by many guests as “Great Place”, “Homely”, “Comfortable” and “Quiet, clean & friendly”. I hope you can call into us again and you can experience our true hospitality and service at The Grand Hotel. Again, many thanks for your review, we appreciate all valuable customer comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moate
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,983 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
12.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Temple Lodge & Spa
Temple Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Moate
178 reviews
11.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
954 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Main Street, Moate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Moate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Price Range: £66 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a family run,14 bedroom hotel in Moate, County Westmeath. Situated in the heart of the Irish midlands, only 12km from Athlone, and only an hour's journey on the M6 motorway from both Dublin and Galway, the Grand Hotel is the perfect stop off location. We are just 2 minutes off both exit 6 and exit 7 on the M6. All of our bedrooms are en suite and we offer an extensive bar food, carvery, and A la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing