We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creggan Court(Athlone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
49
33
10
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
33
10
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely steakstayed herechicken currybar foodcarvery lunchcouldn't do enoughgood sizewould highly recommend this hotelkierangalwaymidlandsirelandguinnessweddingfab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were surprised to find this Grand Hotel still open long after the Motorway bypassed the town of Moate. Open it was though and the carvery was still in operation and a good sized group of people were enjoying the food and atmosphere (we were not staying at the hotel as guests). The food was plentiful and fresh. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Prices very reasonable and portions were generous. Try their roast potatoes - you will love them.

Stop in even if not staying. This gem is still alive and well worth 10 minutes off a boring motorway journey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fenway1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review! Sadly the bypass has hit the town very hard but we are doing our very best to keep things going. It is tours and customers like you that are able to allow us to work and perform to the best of our ability and I hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are travelling through the Midlands. And once again, thank you very, very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

On a recent visit to Moate for a family wedding nearby, we received a very warm welcome and excellent service throughout our stay. The rooms were very clean with comfortable bed and tea/coffee making facilities. The food was wonderful also. We've stayed in so many places around Ireland and the UK, I would rate this as one of our favourites. The staff were most helpful and friendly which made our overall visit just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mardelmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Grand Hotel recently on an overnight stay and we were very impressed by the welcome we received. The staff were so friendly and nothing was any bother to them, the food was great and the breakfast was excellent, we have travelled all over Ireland and the USA and the customer service at this this hotel was better than many of the big city hotels. We will be back hopefully later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great little find. Excellent value for above and beyond service. We were visiting Ireland for Christmas and stopped off here in the early hours of the morning on the way back home. The owner who checked us in was excellent, funny and friendly. He helped us up stairs and showed us to our room. Room 111 had lovely tall Georgian style windows and high ceilings. Breakfast was great, nice selection and quick service. Will be back.......even if it might be afew years before we’re back in the midlands.

Room Tip: room 111 was excellent. Nice old style room with new look and feel to it. Personality
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay in the grand hotel.rooms were beautiful, very comfortable, clean and warm, everything reasonably priced, food was lovely, unfortunately I couldn't enjoy the breakfast which looked lovely, as the reasonably priced drink got the better of me, close to amenities, was perfect for what we were staying for and the staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful and you even managed to really impress a member of our group which sometimes may be difficult. I think it was Cathal, I presume the manager, was very friendly and treated our group impeccably, highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c1arem0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews