We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Temple Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I where in need of a treat and we booked a weekend break in Temple Spa moate for some T.L.C
And it was every penny will spend . The food in the restaurant was excellent , from breakfeast to lunch and especial dinner and waiters so nice. As for the Therapist so good at their job very high standard of service for start to finish. Overall our stay would give it 10/10 . So relaxed leaving
the Temple Spa just heavan.
Dublin

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Temple Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Having had a hectic year, we decided to have a treat and booked into the suit for 2 nights for a bit of R&R. Over all, it was enjoyable, but we felt that for the money we were paying, it could have been a little bit better. the following is a little report card!

Room - for a suit, it was dissapointing, it missed little touches, the carpet didnt fit right on the floor, the TV only had 4 channels, no wifi (wired available), the surface around the bath did not fit properly. OH we had no hot water on the Sunday Moning.....6/10

Food - Menu is limited, I dont eat fish, leaving me with just one main that I had to have both nights. There is 2 menus depending on the package you are on. The food was very tasty, just limited. Breckfast was good - 6/10

Facilities - I was dissapointed that there was no full swimming pool. We used the free bikes and one had a slow puncture, it has been some time since the bikes were maintained. The spa treatments were good and the staff very helpfull and polite - 7/10

General - It would benefit from a coffee bar that did lite bites, (scones etc). The staff are very helpfull and overall price is reasonable 7/10

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Temple Spa is very very quiet no tv in rooms no bar and there is very little to do in the area. The walk was just up and down the main road we expected it would be in the grounds of temple spa and would be really nice. We were charged 10 euro extra for steaks at dinner which was ok ish nothing spectacular. On the plus side the bedrooms are nice robes and slippers are provided. I suppose if you really need a rest with lots and lots of peace and quiet it would be ok but you could probably get that at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farranfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed here for a weekend break. Spacious, bright room. We requested a TV on check in and this was brought to the room within 5 minutes. Quality toiletries. Excellent facial in the spa. Complimentary yoga, tai chi and guided walks. Pleasant staff. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Myself and my husband booked 1 night in this hotel for our anniversary. On checking in staff were inefficient and we eventually got our room. We were told the dressing robes were in the dryer and we should have them back in the room within a half hour, 2 hours later checked with Reception only to find she had to go to the dryer and get them herself and they were still damp when she gave them to us. Rooms were very bare and in need of some furnishings and tv. Spa consisted of a vitality pool, sauna and steam room, it was obvious there was a number of leaks in the area and when we used the steam room we left it straight away as there was nothing but a smell of dampness and mould. Vitality area looked and felt very dirty. Restaurant was ok, staff too young and in bad need of training. Overall, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here with a voucher I purchased on pigsback.com so got a very good b&b deal. The hotel is hidden away but relatively easy to find once you follow the directions on the website. There is a lovely restful feel to the hotel and it is very much geared towards complete relaxation. Treatments and therapist were lovely and the thermal suite was nice. Rooms are basic but adequate. Food in restaurant and at breakfast was lovely, in particular the homemade blueberry muffins were a treat. I plan to return with my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollypops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here on one of those deal vouchers, the hotel itself is lovely and the grounds are fab, the rooms were lovely but as a previous poster said, they did lack a tv and tea making facilities.

The food in the restaraunt was nice, we had both breakfast and dinner. The spa facilities are great, nice and clean and a nice view to look out at.

We had a very relaxing stay and I can see how some people would love it, however if we were to come again we would probably bring a couple of bottles of wine and a laptop to watch a couple of movies as thereis not much to do once dinner is over.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundtheworld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moate
13.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,942 reviews
14.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
16.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moate
97 reviews
16.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
942 reviews
12.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Lodge & Spa

Address: Templemacateer | Horseleap, Moate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Moate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Temple Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Country Retreat And Spa
Temple Country Retreat Hotel Moate
Temple Country Retreat Moate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing