We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Das Spritzenhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Das Spritzenhaus
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for our final night in Europe before flying out from Frankfurt. Through Google Maps and Tripadvisor, we discovered Eltville and Das Spritzenhaus...and what a discovery! Das Spritzenhaus is small, modern, friendly and well positioned for enjoying the town as well as getting to Frankfurt airport.

Breakfast was included and was wonderful: plentyful local produce, all carely explained to us by mein host.

The greatest disappointment for us was that we could only spend one night due to our flight the following day. If/when we go back to Germany, we will definitely be looking to stay at Das Spritzenhaus.

We thoroughly recommend this wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for just one night in April while on a business trip to nearby Wiesbaden but would definitely return and recommend to others. We arrived late on Sunday night but the owners had provided all the information to help us access the building and find our room keys. The rooms were great, indeed mine was magnificent - 3 floors and a patio, not that I had time to enjoy it that much. Eltville is only a small village but Das Spritzenhaus is right in the centre (as you might expect for a fire station) so everything is within a short stroll.
Breakfast was wonderful - all locally sourced and prepared on the premises. Even the butter and the cheese were local - and delicious too. Had we been staying another day we would have sampled the local wine with dinner but alas it was not to be.
The host was extremely friendly, knowledgable and helpful and certainly deserves the excellent reviews that he receives. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed the Easter in this very nice small Hotel Garni. The rooms and the breakfast restaurant are all in a very Scandinavian design. The family running the place are very concerned about your stay, and especially the breakfast is very delicious. Local produced food and all served with a full explanation on the history of the products. The selection on cheese was so delicious. The hotel is right in the middle of the small town, and everything is within walking distance. We can highly recommend the place - and we will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get the room facing the little square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of their larger rooms for 4 nights. Very friendly and personalised service was provided from the time our taxi pulled up (30 mins from Frankfurt airport), through the magnificent breakfasts to checkout.

This is a small hotel with just 6 rooms. They speak English well and take pride in their use of local ingredients of unique character and superb quality. Local cheeses, liverwurts, salami, freshly squeezed juice, hand made fruit salad and the list goes on.

Their restaurant recommendations were spot on. Schnek - just around the corner with a home cooked style, Eltvinum - trendy modern food, and it goes on. I didn't expect such a foodie culture in country side Germany.

This is a little off the beaten track but excellent bus, train and taxi networks make it easy to get around without a car.

Das Spritzen house is right in the middle of town yet not directly on any road so it is reasonably quiet. You can walk anywhere in Eltville from here.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in Septembet to explore the wine region. Our room was ready early and we were called and invited to arrive sooner, which was perfect for us. Clean modern conversion, with very friendly staff who were passionate about the organic bio breakfast, which was delicious. We visited a bio vineyard which the hotel recommended and bought wine as well as exploring the village and surrounding area. I will be back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New River, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We spent our visit to Germany at the Spritzenhaus Hotel in a "vacation apartment" which included a kitchenette. Das-Spritzenhaus is located near the center of Eltville, one of the oldest small cities in Germany, where Gutenberg printed the first book ever in the castle at the Rhein river. Spritzenhaus has everything you need for a very enjoyable vacation or honeymoon, including comfortable rooms at reasonable prices, excellent service, and breakfast downstairs. The hosts are very helpful and considerate. You can park your car and forget it. Everything you want is within walking distance, a glass of wine, delicious ice cream, unresistable cakes, and plenty of gifts to take home.

Room Tip: Only one room with kitchenette, all others are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalterFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eltville am Rhein hotels
2.8 mi away
Weinhaus Zum Krug
Weinhaus Zum Krug
#1 of 2 in Hattenheim
69 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kronenschlosschen Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Park-Hotel Tillmanns
Park-Hotel Tillmanns
#4 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koegler Hof-Hotel und Weingut
Koegler Hof-Hotel und Weingut
#5 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
45 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
#3 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weingut & Weinhotel Offenstein Erben
Weingut & Weinhotel Offenstein E...
#7 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Spritzenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Spritzenhaus

Property: Das Spritzenhaus
Address: Platz der Deutschen Einheit 1, 65343, Eltville am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Eltville am Rhein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eltville am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Spritzenhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Das Spritzenhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing