We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed until further notice”
Review of BArney Gargles

BArney Gargles
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Selkirk
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Closed until further notice”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family heard good reviews for this restaurant so on July 6/14 we went to try it out. When we got there, nobody was there. There was a sign in the parking lot that said closed until further notice. I don't know if they are going to open up again or not. I never eat here before and was looking forwards to eating here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Winnipeger043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    23
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Breakfast.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stopped in here on the way home from the lake. Busy place. Breakfast was very good, done exactly how we asked. A wonderful selection of desserts, didn't try any this time. Will have to stop again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“i heard some rumors.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and i heard stories about poor service and cold food,and since we had not been in over a year we decided to check it out on our return from Hecla .We ordered the chicken souvlaki with ceasar salad ,and tomato and rice soup.The soup arrived hot and the main entrees after were served hot and delicous.We were their for lunch on JUNE24TH/2014.I should mention that one of the original owners has passed away,but everthing was as outstanding as we have ever experienced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delectable”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From Vancouver visiting family and returned to childhood treasure. The menu is diverse and delicious. Always busy with line ups on the weekend and with good reason. Large servings of home cooked Manitoba staples done right, And the deserts!!!! If you have room after your meal the deserts are a must, or get it to go. Red velvet cake is awesome.
Good to finally write a positive review. Well worth a drive from Winnipeg.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I grew up in Selkirk and have noticed a trend with this place. If you're over forty you get treated well... But if you're not... You basically get ignored.

The food is medeocore at best and you won't get refills unless you go to the front and ask for them.

Don't waste your time. Check out riverside grill instead. Or simply go to Boston pizza

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BArney Gargles also viewed

 
Selkirk, Manitoba
 

Been to BArney Gargles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing