We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit and there will be more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Sumptuous accommodation and a beautiful setting! You are such gracious hosts -- intellectually stimulating, knowledgeable about the Selkirk area and its history, and willing to accommodate special requests. We loved exploring the yard, the hot tub and the high tech swing. Next time I will curl up with a favourite book and a glass of refreshment and stay put longer. What a wonderful way to de-stress! Thank you, Laurel and Rob, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Taking a room on the lower level will allow easy access to kitchenette, books and movies.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dailaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

The location of Evergreen Gates is beautiful - a lovely home and gorgeious grounds. We had the "Safari Room" -spacious and nicely decorated, a large ensuite with all one's needs seen to. The use of the inviting common room and kitchen/dining area was appreciated. And the yummy breakfasts were something to look forwad to. Rob and Laurel are the perfect hosts, warm , friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Pros: First I'd like to say this was the best place to stay in Selkirk, MB. It has a lovely location on a quiet road by the river. The yard is extensive with a gazebo and hot tub. The breakfast was very good and plentiful and vegetarian as per our request.
We stayed in the Asian room which was very nicely decorated. The Safari room had it's own private bath and tub, the Asian room had a shared bathroom. The common room was between the two. It featured a shared fridge, tv, microwave,books, complimentary water and sitting room.

Cons: Both the Asian room and the Safari room were in the basement and thus the light and view were limited. The shared bath was extremely small with a small shower and no tub. Location is a good few kms from town, so pick up beverages, etc prior to checking in if you want to relax. The hot tub was through the owners kitchen and dining room, so you felt as though you were intruding in their space to get to it.

There is no individual air conditioning, so the basement was a bit cool for our tastes. There is a small gas or electric fireplace that would be lovely if you're staying here in the cooler months.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

We appreciated the positive comments, but need to point out a few things about the "cons"...

1) The bathroom for the Asian Room is a private bath! Always! The reviewer has made an error here, plain and simple. Moreover, if the reviewer had wanted a larger bath with a tub, she had the opportunity to choose the Safari Room, but did not.

2) The hot tub is outside, and is accessible through an exterior door which does not involve going through the owners' quarters, particularly in the summer time, which is when this guest visited. Wish that she had looked around a little, or asked.

3) Yes, the lower level is cool when the air conditioning is on ( isn't this what we want in super-hot weather?) . Had we known that there was a problem, we could have suggested a variety of solutions. The easiest is just to open a window and let the hot air in. There are also a baseboard heater and an electric fireplace which can be used ( individual room controls for these) if needed. Once again, we wish that she had let us know that there was a problem, as we are very mindful of our guests' comfort.

We thank the reviewer for taking the time to post a review, but regret that she chose to comment without having full information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We had a pretty long stay and really enjoyed every minute. Our room was wonderfully decorated and we had a bathroom with a jacuzzi.The breakfast had an elegant style with a wide variety of food. The family helped us with any aspect of our trip and we would really love to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Tucked along the high banks of the Red River, near the historic town of Selkirk, The Evergreen Gate is a sanctuary to rest your soul and free your spirit.

The home owners Rob &Laurel do everything to make your visit as pleasant as possible without ever being intrusive. The rooms are clean, the food delicious and if you desire to talk, the conversations are always enjoyable.

Our first visit started us as strangers and now we consider Rob & Laurel friends. We have returned for the last 5 years and it only gets better.
- Jim and Colleen Baldrica, Stillwater, Minnesota

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbaldrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Laurel and Rob have a charming home along the banks of the Red River. We so enjoyed the atmosphere, friendliness, and graciousness of our hosts. The breakfasts were awesome ... especially the secret blueberry french toast treat!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleonard04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The Evergreen B&B is a gem—an architecturally interesting modern structure with deep-set window ledges and a Roman arch window in the upstairs sitting room. The perennial border beyond the parking spaces looms romantically, lit by tiny fairy lanterns after dark. Rob Sargenson is a very inventive cook and has a great memory for the dietary limitations of repeat guests. Both Laurel and Rob are artistic, attentive, and savvy. My group received about half a dozen very useful tips when we inquired about lunch places in Winnipeg, good antique stores, etc. It was a delight to breakfast with the other guests in The Evergreen’s breakfast solarium the week of the Folk Festival.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank allib001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
45 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 64 in Winnipeg
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 64 in Winnipeg
1,149 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#21 of 64 in Winnipeg
534 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 64 in Winnipeg
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1138 River Rd, Selkirk, Manitoba R1A 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Selkirk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range: £72 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above the Red River on the Trans-Canada Trail, Evergreen Gate offers peaceful and private accommodation in a unique modern home surrounded by park-like grounds Private baths, a guest lounge and kitchenette, screened porch, deck and hot tub complete the experience. Delicious full breakfast with accommodation of special diets. French spoken. Tourist information available. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing