We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mere Hotel(Winnipeg)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
115
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbed and breakfastperfect hostsred riverget awayfriendly hostswonderful experienceat homegrand beachwafflesmy girlfriendevery morningguests feel comfortableblueberry french toastpleasing to the eyewi fiboth sides
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Laurel and Rob provided a bed and breakfast experience that we could have never imagined! They opened there home to my husband and I, our two teenage sons, my elderly parents and my husbands elderly parents. We had diet restrictions, varied interests, and my father-in-law who NEVER stays at bed and breakfasts. We ALL had such an enjoyable time! From the accomodations to the amazing meals, but most of all the details in our trip and the enjoyable conversation every morning at breakfast. Our trip to Winnipeg was greatly enhanced by the care and thoughtfulness of Laurel and Rob. If we go back to Winnipeg, we will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I were in Winnipeg with my mother-in-law to attend a wedding at which I was the piper. We stayed with Rob and Laurel for 5 days and used their beautiful home as a base of operations for the wedding and for visiting friends around Winnipeg and the Interlake. My wife and I were in the Safari Room and my mother-in-law was in 2nd basement bedroom. We made good use of the sitting area/kitchenette located between our rooms.

This easy-to-find B&B is located on a quiet, beautifully manicured lot on the Red River north of Winnipeg. Our accommodations were roomy, comfortable, well-appointed and quiet.

Rob served up a different, delicious breakfast each day. The breakfasts were served in a screened-in sunroom.

We found our hosts informed and informative. They were always available, but never intrusive. They were also very tolerant (as were their neighbors) of someone playing the bagpipe on their lawn.

We plan to stay at Evergreen Gate again and would recommend it, without qualification.

Room Tip: We found the descriptions on the website to be both honest and accurate
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I returned to Selkirk to attend my husband's 50th high school reunion. We shared the lower level at Evergreen B & B with some friends and it was the perfect set up. Laurel and Rob were the BEST hosts serving up luscious breakfasts and getting us caught up on the Selkirk scene. The bedrooms were well appointed with the comfortable beds and beautiful linens to the array of toiletries at our disposal. We made good use of the relaxing family room downstairs, complete with kitchen, to have a nightcap or a morning cup of coffee. The gardens were beautiful and there were lots of places to enjoy a little read or simply take in the scenery. If we get back to Selkirk, we will definitely stay at Evergreen. Thanks again for a great stay.
Linda and Bill

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We attended a Selkirk high school reunion and found the Evergreen through Tripadvisor. Rob and Laurel were excellent hosts, preparing superb breakfasts each morning served in a screened veranda.
Their house is located on a large landscaped lot which makes for a very tranquil setting. We never did use the outdoor hot tub as our reunion events kept us too busy! Besides, the weather was too hot during the three days we were there. The rooms were well air conditioned so sleeping was not a problem.
We opted for the Safari room and our good friends stayed in the other room on the lower level. This arrangement worked great for us as we shared a common area kitchen for cold beverages and snacks. Unless you enjoy socializing with strangers, this may not be an advantage for solo couples. The third room is located upstairs (which we didn't see), and might work better for those who want their own space - although part of the B & B experience is meeting other travelers.
Given the perceived lack of decent hotel accommodation in Selkirk, the Evergreen would again be our choice for a Selkirk stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at Evergreen Gate for 2 nights and awoke to a freshly made and delicious breakfast each morning. Rob is an excellent cook and both Rob and Laurel made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home.

The house is very unique and modern, unlike other B&B's I have stayed at. My wife and I were the only guests during our stay and I feel if other guests had been present, I may not have had such a pleasant stay due to the close proximity of two of the guestrooms and a shared common area right outside our rooms door. Other people might really like that, however I'm not really interested in mingling with strangers, but like I said, we were the only guests so we had the whole place to ourselves so it wasn't an issue at all. It was really nice that the common area included a kitchenette.

This would be the perfect place to have a mini family or friend get together, since you could rent all three rooms and have a nice common area to play games and watch movies, etc...

We stayed in the Safari Room which had an ensuite with jetted tub, which was nicely decorated and very comfortable and clean.

It was raining on the day we checked out and we realized we did not have an umbrella, so Laurel lent us one of hers for the day since we had planned on seeing a few outdoor attractions and it came in very handy. Upon returning the umbrella, Laurel handed me my shirt that I had forgot in the closet. I needed it for a wedding the next day, so I was very happy since I had not even realized that I left it there!

This is definitely the place to stay if you are ever in Selkirk, Mb!

Room Tip: Safari Room!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamH06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews