We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great breakfast, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great rooms, great breakfast, great hosts”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I find Trip Advisor's restaurant ratings a bit unreliable, but when a hotel or B&B has nearly perfect ratings, the place seems guaranteed to be terrific. Evergreen Gate is simply a wonderful place. The building is in great shape, and the grounds are beautiful, with lots of nice places to hang out. The hosts are really well matched to the task -- friendly and easy-going, great conversationalists. Breakfasts are among the best I have ever had at a B&B. Wonderful common space for guests. The bed was excellent. The location, near the river and Lower Fort Garry, is perfect. A great deal for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari room, which appears to have the most privacy and only costs a bit more per n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are so pleased that Evergreen Gate met your expectations, and that you took the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Manitoba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
41
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Evergreen gate B & B. It was a wonderful experience. It was our first time in this area of Manitoba and Laurel and Rob were extremely knowlegable and helpful about the area, history and activities. Their home is beautiful and the gardens are gorgeous. They made us feel as if we were at home. The breakfasts were lovely, beautifully presented and very tasty. We had lots of good conversation and laughter with the other guests. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for anyone visiting the Winnipeg area. It is very easy to find and to get from place to place.
It was truly a wonderful experience
Margaret Francis

Room Tip: We had the room with the jaquzzi. It was very quiet and cool. It was also next to the common room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stated there one night as "B&B virgins" and our first b&b experience count have been better. Laurel and Rob are great hosts and made our breakfast conversation very interesting. If you get the chance don't hesitate to stay here! The home is gorgeous with beautiful grounds and a screened sun room where we enjoyed a great breakfast. The only down side was that we only had a few hours there and had to move on after only one night. It would be a great place to use as a base for an extended stay. Hope to be back there one day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnov3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Although it is a little out of the way, it is a fantastic place to stay and it is not far from Winnipeg. The hosts are very caring people, full of information and eager to help you. The area is beautiful, on the river, the facilities are first class, not to speak of the wonderful breakfasts. My wife and I have stayed in many B & B, all over the world, Europe, Cost Rica, Ecuador, Brazil and found this undiscovered treasure by pure accident. Do not miss staying there, a real wonderful experience.

George & Helen Nikel

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent a week at the Evergreen Gate with school and were shown an amazing time. The rooms were great, and the lower common area was very useful. The breakfasts were made to our convenience, and they were delicious. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed a few days before travelling to Churchill to see polar bears. The Safari room was impressive with lovely touches of Africa. Laurel and Rob were very knowledgable about the area and always had the time to chat. Breakfast was cooked fresh every morning & was delicious. Would certainly stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmiths35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
We enjoyed meeting you , and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Evergreen Gate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Spent two nights at the Evergreen B&B. What a lovely stay in the Asian Room. The kitchen was great . Wifi offered and used. Nice and quiet. Breakfast cooked to order and when I wanted it, Impeccably clean, wonderful hosts. I cannot recommend highly enough. Felt like a queen for a couple of days. Even enjoyed the hottub under the stars. The location is lovely. Went for a run in a beautiful environment. Would recommend to couples, individuals, or family.

Room Tip: hottub was lovely. if you want a great shower, take the asian room. If you want a jetted tub, take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_toews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Canad Inns Garden City
#41 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1138 River Rd, Selkirk, Manitoba R1A 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Selkirk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above the Red River on the Trans-Canada Trail, Evergreen Gate offers peaceful and private accommodation in a unique modern home surrounded by park-like grounds Private baths, a guest lounge and kitchenette, screened porch, deck and hot tub complete the experience. Delicious full breakfast with accommodation of special diets. French spoken. Tourist information available. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing