We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
114
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbed and breakfastperfect hostsred riverget awayfriendly hostswonderful experienceat homegrand beachwafflesmy girlfriendevery morningguests feel comfortableblueberry french toastpleasing to the eyewi fiboth sides
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed two nights in mid August. This was our first trip to Winnipeg and really enjoyed the area. The first night we stayed in Winnipeg as we were going to a Goldeye baseball game. The other two nights we stayed here at the Evergreen and it was great. It's about 20 miles north of downtown Winnipeg but a quick drive--not much traffic. It would probably be too far to drive back and forth to eat your meals but we ate at Barney Garggle's in Selkirk, which was recommended by Rob--it was very good. The hot tub was great and the breakfasts were very good. We would certainly stay here again when we come back to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I find Trip Advisor's restaurant ratings a bit unreliable, but when a hotel or B&B has nearly perfect ratings, the place seems guaranteed to be terrific. Evergreen Gate is simply a wonderful place. The building is in great shape, and the grounds are beautiful, with lots of nice places to hang out. The hosts are really well matched to the task -- friendly and easy-going, great conversationalists. Breakfasts are among the best I have ever had at a B&B. Wonderful common space for guests. The bed was excellent. The location, near the river and Lower Fort Garry, is perfect. A great deal for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari room, which appears to have the most privacy and only costs a bit more per night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are so pleased that Evergreen Gate met your expectations, and that you took the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Manitoba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Evergreen gate B & B. It was a wonderful experience. It was our first time in this area of Manitoba and Laurel and Rob were extremely knowlegable and helpful about the area, history and activities. Their home is beautiful and the gardens are gorgeous. They made us feel as if we were at home. The breakfasts were lovely, beautifully presented and very tasty. We had lots of good conversation and laughter with the other guests. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for anyone visiting the Winnipeg area. It is very easy to find and to get from place to place.
It was truly a wonderful experience
Margaret Francis

Room Tip: We had the room with the jaquzzi. It was very quiet and cool. It was also next to the common room so ir was easy to make coffee or relax in the evening.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stated there one night as "B&B virgins" and our first b&b experience count have been better. Laurel and Rob are great hosts and made our breakfast conversation very interesting. If you get the chance don't hesitate to stay here! The home is gorgeous with beautiful grounds and a screened sun room where we enjoyed a great breakfast. The only down side was that we only had a few hours there and had to move on after only one night. It would be a great place to use as a base for an extended stay. Hope to be back there one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobnov3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Although it is a little out of the way, it is a fantastic place to stay and it is not far from Winnipeg. The hosts are very caring people, full of information and eager to help you. The area is beautiful, on the river, the facilities are first class, not to speak of the wonderful breakfasts. My wife and I have stayed in many B & B, all over the world, Europe, Cost Rica, Ecuador, Brazil and found this undiscovered treasure by pure accident. Do not miss staying there, a real wonderful experience.

George & Helen Nikel

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews