We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
thompson
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at Evergreen twice. The first time was wonderful. All of our needs were met. The second time was like returning to visit family. We stayed in a basement room both times we went, and they are connected to a common area to relax and watch TV in. There is a kitchenette with everything you might need. Popcorn to snack on and cold drinks in the fridge. When we are in Winnipeg we are there for business and shopping and it so nice to come home to this and relax. We look forward to the next time we head to Winnipeg and can stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We are so glad that you feel at home here, and look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
45
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a really nice stay. We had never stayed at a B&B before so we were really nervous. Rob and Laurel's hospitality was really good. Very friendly and informative about their community. Thank you for making our stay wonderful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grandma32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had our wedding at Rob and Laurel's home this past May and It was amazing! Very helpful and things seemed to fall into place to so easily. I would LOVE to come back.... Maybe we will have to make it a yearly thing for our anniversary?! ;)
Wonderful people and gorgeous home and property!! Definitely give it a try!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My girlfriend and I were driving along River Road after a long day of visiting Grand Beach and touring the town of Selkirk,contemplating where we would like to spend the night.By pure luck we spotted Evergreen Gate's sign on the side of the road adjacent to their property and we are so glad that we did.Rob and Laurel are outstanding and gracious hosts who went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one.The house is gorgeous and the setting is very beautiful,particularly when we stayed,which was during the middle of December,so with all the snow and surrounding evergreen and spruce trees, it made the area like a living Christmas card.
Do yourself a favor and stay at this wonderful B&B if you're ever in the Selkirk area(or Winnipeg for that matter),you won't be disappointed.Evergreen Gate is by far the best accommodations we have ever had and would return there in a heartbeat if we're ever passing through or visiting Manitoba again,which we hope will be in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBruce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast. The owners worked within our budget and planned many extra activities for my friends and I to enjoy. The service was excellent and the food was really good. I would recommend this property to anyone planning a weekend away for fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If you are in the Winnipeg area and have a car there should be no decision as to where to stay. Rob and Laurel are the perfect hosts and the home they built was specifically designed as a comfortable bed and breakfast guest house. In addition to the guest rooms, there is also a common room for the guests. It is sort of like a kitchen and family room combined which made for a very comfortable stay. It was mid-October when we visited so they were not using their screened room at that time but if we ever have the opportunity to return in warmer weather it would certainly be the primary area to "hang out". Rob and Laurel also have many good ideas on what to do and see in the area. The Winnipeg museum was great and make sure to eat at the pancake house at the Forks even if it's for lunch or dinner. Speaking of food, Rob certainly treats his guests with his great breakfasts. If we are ever back in this area we already know where we will stay. Vern and Phyllis Miller

Room Tip: The Safari room was great with it's private - and very nice bathroom. However any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vern_Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Evergreen Gate and thank you for your positive review. It is indeed a privilege to host "close friends" like you, even if it's just for a few days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed two nights in mid August. This was our first trip to Winnipeg and really enjoyed the area. The first night we stayed in Winnipeg as we were going to a Goldeye baseball game. The other two nights we stayed here at the Evergreen and it was great. It's about 20 miles north of downtown Winnipeg but a quick drive--not much traffic. It would probably be too far to drive back and forth to eat your meals but we ate at Barney Garggle's in Selkirk, which was recommended by Rob--it was very good. The hot tub was great and the breakfasts were very good. We would certainly stay here again when we come back to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
43 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,117 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,122 reviews
Canad Inns Garden City
#42 of 63 in Winnipeg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1138 River Rd, Selkirk, Manitoba R1A 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Selkirk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above the Red River on the Trans-Canada Trail, Evergreen Gate offers peaceful and private accommodation in a unique modern home surrounded by park-like grounds Private baths, a guest lounge and kitchenette, screened porch, deck and hot tub complete the experience. Delicious full breakfast with accommodation of special diets. French spoken. Tourist information available. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing