We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Red Hills B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meaford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Hills B & B
Ranked #5 of 6 Meaford B&B and Inns
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Excellent place to stay! Arlene and Dave were very hospitable. Their home is beautiful and their surrounding property is magnificent! You share the entire lower level with yourself or any other guests staying there. The rooms and bathroom were spacious and very well maintained and beautifully decorated, with a tv, fireplace and fridge. The bathroom even came equipped with toiletries in case you forgot anything. Shared kitchen, with complimentary water/pop/coffee and tea. Close to Collingwood and Blue Mountain. Great place to stay and get away from the city!

Room Tip: Room with the jacuzzi tub and king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank micbranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a great time staying at this place. Dave and Arlene went out of their way to help us out, give us directions, make sure everything was going well and even let us use their snow shoes to go around the beautiful surrounding area...Arlene makes delicious breakfast...the outdoor hot tub was very nice as as well...we stayed two nights and had a great time, thanks Dave and Arlene!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the yellow room, it had an electric fireplace and big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I have been to many B&Bs and this is definitely one of the best. I advised possible late checking in at time of booking at booking.com and was replied promptly by David and Arlene. David and Arlene were nice enough to stay up late and gave us a warm greeting and still took us for a quick tour of the house even when we arrived at 9pm. The bed was extremely comfy and everything was prepared for you in the room - I meant EVERYTHING: slippery, robes, basket of high quality personal toiletries (even has feminine hygiene products), soft drinks, bottled water...My wife loves the fireplace in guestroom. Breakfast was fabulous and full filling. We only had a chance to notice how beautiful the house and the surrounding area is in the morning since we arrived late and dark. We only stayed for one night but do feel it was not enough and didn't have a chance to try the sauna and other amenities which can be a regret, but this is a place we are sure of returning next time we hit up blue mountain for skiing. Arlene is very accommodating and very pleasant to talk to. Only one minor cons: we don't know if it was the air-conditioning or furnice operating but we can hear some mild noise on and off at night before we went to sleep. It was very very minor though, we had a great night of sleep regardless but can imagine it could be noticed by some light sleepers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wario y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene T, Owner at Red Hills B & B, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is our pleasure to do everything we can to make our guests feel welcome and provide the best possible B&B experience. We are taking steps to rectify the "slight sound" issue and look forward to your return visit at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I very much appreciated the amenities that this B&B offers, which are far superior to most. The infrared sauna, hot tub and huge guest living room were a saviour to our fall weekend getaway, which the weather had different plans for! As hiking was out, the location was less spectacular, as its a little farther off the beaten path (15 mins to nearest town), but if its remote country quiet you're looking for, it his place is perfect.

Breakfast was lovely, and all food sensitivities were taken into account. If you are a light sleeper (like my husband) I recommend earplugs, as the walls are not quite sound-proof. That's the only complaint. We will likely be back... And hopefully without the rain!

Room Tip: Yellow room is separated from the other two. Green room has a king bed & jacuzzi tub... But hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutterbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights during the long, hot summer, and made use of the pool and the barbecue. Nothing was too much trouble, and we found our hosts hospitable and easy going - so we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves.

The breakfasts were fabulous, and it was great to have a kettle, microwave and fridge at our disposal in the guest kitchen / lounge.

An added bonus was being able to see the stars at night - there was No Light Pollution.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are good as you are miles from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanoeJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Red Hills in Meaford Ontario. The area near the Blue Mountains in Collingwood is spectacular. Our hosts were gracious and very accommodating. Their home is beautiful and as a guest you have access to the entire lower level with bar/kitchnette, outdoor pool(for summer), hot tub, infra red sauna, real fireplace, etc. The rooms are large. We stayed in the yellow room which is nicely decorated with huge windows, clean and the bed very comfortable. Our breakfast was just as satisfying. There are also two beautiful dogs to add to your pleasure. I would not hesitate to book again for a stay at Red Hills

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersAjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent the afternoon exploring the 50acres of beautiful, snowy, winter wonderland, and the evening cozy by the wood fireplace (sauna and outdoor hot tub also great options). Delicious breakfast the next morning of local berry crumble. Perfect city escape!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJean_AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meaford
12.0 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
11.6 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Meaford Motel & Restaurant
9.8 mi away
Irish Mountain Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Royal Harbour Resort
Royal Harbour Resort
#1 of 5 in Thornbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hills B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hills B & B

Property: Red Hills B & B
Address: P.O. Box 900 Thornbury | P.O. Box 900, Meaford, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Meaford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Hills B & B is located on 50 acres of quiet highland countryside with magnificent views of Georgian Bay and the Blue Mountains. Although quiet, private and secluded, our modern fully air conditioned smoke free country home is just 2 minutes south of Hwy 26 and within a ten minute drive of several neighbouring towns and resorts. A private ground level entrance leads into a large great room with wood burning fireplace, bar/kitchenette. For your additional pleasure, other amenities include seasonal heated salt water swimming pool, hot tub under the stars, sauna, exercise room and a patio with barbecue. Three large fully equipped bedrooms provide you with a choice of either a queen, twin or king, or two queen sized beds. Each room has its own en-suite bathroom with robes, slippers and toiletries. Full gourmet breakfasts, with special consideration given to dietary needs, are served in our upper level dining room overlooking the valley and pond. Whether you choose to stay with us as either a young at heart couple or as a group of good friends, Red Hills Country House B&B is the place to relax, rejuvenate and romanticize. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing