We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe in Meaford”
Review of McGintys Cafe

McGintys Cafe
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Meaford
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little cafe in Meaford”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a lovely lunch in Meaford at McGinty's Cafe. Onwer is the chef and she makes great soup. We had the freshest bread and wraps I have ever tasted. Nice presentation, good service. A safe bet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillyc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh, fun and fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've been enjoying McGinty's for years now, and want to shout to the world that the owner Donna and her sidekick Kim have bumped customer service to a new high. I've seen them go out to the street to offer water to someone waiting in a car on a hot day. Their rapport with their customers is as excellent as the baking and fresh sandwiches, soups and salads that they offer. It is a casual, relaxed spot, but does get busy at lunch times as it is very popular. In the summer you can enjoy sitting on their back patio with a view of the harbour and gentle breezes. Great selection of coffee, tea and all sorts of cold concoctions. If they don't have it, or if you have dietary restrictions they will do their best to accommodate your needs. Come and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good but don't Linger!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We used to go in here all the time - the Chai Latte and Muffins were great! They have a nice comfy chair section but got rude with us several time and hinted that we they would rather we did not come to linger and enjoy, even though we spent enough money to warrant a longer sit. Free wi-fi. Bathrooms are down many stairs into a staff room basement! Not handicapped friendly. Lunch fare is average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyturtle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm friendly atmosphere as well as great homemade food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is such a welcoming place in a town that sees so many businesses closing down. From the moment you enter you feel the friendliness and the food and green tea (my favourite) are the best! Always smiles and warmth all around!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must visit this cafe!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Donna and her staff have a great lunchtime or coffee break menu.....and their coffee is the best in town!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGintys Cafe also viewed

 
Meaford, Grey County
Meaford, Grey County
 

Been to McGintys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing