We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of everything”
Review of Grandma Lambe's

Grandma Lambe's
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Meaford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family run business thats located in Meaford for over 50 years. Started by my Grandmother Grace Lambe. The store was named in honour of my great grandmother Mabel Lambe. Our main store located in Meaford Ontario is Open all year long from 8am to 6 pm daily! Our orchards (G.H. Lambe and Son) are run by Dave and Blake Lambe, a father and son team. Also known as Grandma's Son and Grandson. Our Apples are award winning. Many place 1st, 2nd, and 3rd at the Canadian Royal Winter Fair , in Toronto. We make our pies from scratch in our 3 kitchens at our Meaford store. All recipes have been passed down through the generations. Using local fruits, berries and of course apples. Grandma also makes delicious jams, jellies, diabetic & meat pies. Come check us out! I bet you can't pass up our baking table. :)
Meaford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a local place for us and we pick up a lot of our fresh produce for the past 24 years. You can purchase eggs and cheese, cider and baked goods as well. There are really cute gift ideas. In the summer they offer delicious frozen yoghurt. There is a frozen section where you can purchase fruit, pies, meat pies and soups. One of my favourite things is in the fall, I pick up cider packs. You drop them in a crock pot full of apple juice and it transforms into delicious cider. When visiting family down in Lambton County its always requested that I bring the cider. When we can't make it I mail the pouches and have even sent them to northern Manitoba. In the winter I pick up the bottles of local maple syrup and home made jam baskets for gifts for hard to buy people on my list. The staff is friendly. They actually take orders for their baked goods which is handy around the holidays.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDL, Owner at Grandma Lambe's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Wow, thank you Kym! Perhaps you should write our radio advertisements. Glad your family enjoys the warm cider as much as ours. Hope to you see soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meaford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Pies and Jams!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

When passing through Meaford, you really must stop here and pick up one of their pies! Open all year round Grandma Lambe's always has fresh baked pies, tarts, cookies and other sweets; along with fresh produce and canned goods. They also offer some great decor pieces for your home and kitchen. The service is always great, even on their busiest days, they take the time to acknowledge you and help you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDL, Owner at Grandma Lambe's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you Shannon for the local support. We wouldn't be a success without loyal costumers such as yourself. As busy as the apple harvest can be we all love the time of year and glad we're able to assist you. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wonderful! Must visit! Will go back when we are in the area.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Such a sweet shop that as soon as we walked in, the aromas of the pies and fresh baking just overwhelmed us. The shop has the same great sense of humour as the smile that's on Grandma Lambe's face. The homey and cozy atmosphere was very welcoming and the local products were of very good quality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lamx4160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDL, Owner at Grandma Lambe's, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Lamx4160 for your wonderful review. After all these years the baking still overwhelms us staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Pies!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great service, amazing pies, great selection of apples, sweets and many other products... Always love shopping locally at Grandma Lambe's

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cinc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDL, Owner at Grandma Lambe's, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks Cinc83, love your local support! It's what keeps Meaford such a wonderful place to shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
“Best store ever. You don't find to many stores like this.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The best homemade pies and goodies, fresh apples and produce. The most friendliest people are found there. If you want a special pie, just call ahead and they will make it for you. Love the store. It's worth the drive to Medford and a visit to the apple town.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDL, Owner at Grandma Lambe's, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Jackie M! If you haven't been, you should come to The Apple Harvest Craft Show it's always the first weekend in October. Hundreds of venders and the town is decorated beautifully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandma Lambe's also viewed

 

Been to Grandma Lambe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing