We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Seafood Chowder”

McGill's Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in New Minas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: International, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Seafood Chowder”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I travel substantially in the Canadian SAtlantic Region and have the opportunity to taste different seafood chowders. This restaurent does it prefectly!
Not too thick, just the right balance.
If you happen to drive by, its worth the stop

  • Visited May 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write your thoughts on our Chowder! So glad you enjoyed it! Our owner is very particular about his Chowder and Good Chowder Fans like yourself, get a real treat when ordering the Chowder here. Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are passing through the Valley! Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    30
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a delightful surprise”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

tried this little out of the way restaurant in New Minus and was pleasantly surprised at the food. It was presented superbly and very tasty. The lunch selection was very good and something for all. They have excellent biscuits, croissants and desserts to choose from as well. The pear and white chocolate biscuit was fantastic, a must try.
The décor is not up to par with the food. But then if all you are looking for is the food then this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank csb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and your experience with us and others who check this site before going out to eat! We are happy that you found us while on your travels and that we were successful in pleasing your taste buds!!! Thanks again for your support and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful Indian meal this evening. We started out with the Mulligatawny Soup. It was thick, flavourful and with just the right amount of heat. For the main course, we both ordered the spiced lamb with chillies. It was served with a saffron rice, raita and a cilantro aioli. We also order a side of Naan bread. Absolutely delicious!

The atmosphere is always relaxing and staff is friendly. Love the themed menus. We have tried two and both were outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erica3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with others your experience with us!! The Chef and his staff will be happy to hear your comments with regards to the Indian Menu, The Spiced Lamb with Chilies' is a new addition to our Indian Theme nights and it was really enjoyed by all who ordered it. We think its a keeper!!!! Thanks again !! See you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was very impressed with this "new to me" restaurant. The food was delicious and the presentation amazing. The menu is great with many choices and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We are planning a group function here this summer and the owner gave us a tour of the facilities and in discussing the details, she is so accommodating to wanting to make our event fun and relaxing. I will definitely return with hubby to experience this restaurant and looking forward to our event here, knowing we will be well looked after.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We are so happy you took time in your busy schedule to share your experience with others using social medial for direction on where to eat in the Annapolis Valley! Thank you for choosing McGills to host your upcoming function and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Quite possibly the best fish and chips I ever enjoyed. The piece of fish was fresh and a generous portion with a light crispy batter. The fresh cut fries were a very good proportion with just the right among of deep frying. The fries were a tad salty for my taste. The fresh coleslaw was tasty and the house tartar sauce was very good. The wait staff was prompt and friendly. The price was on the high side for one piece of fish, but considering the quality it was a good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed the fish and chips! We pride our selves in this dish! We also realize and hope our customers do as well that the cost of haddock has gone through the roof and unfortunately our price has to reflect that. Our mission is to prepare dishes with the finest ingredients available to us. Glad you appreciate what we do!
See you soon and thank you for sharing you thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGill's Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 
 
Kentville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to McGill's Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing