We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of KAO Restaurant

KAO Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in New Minas
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Went to the Kao Chinese restaurant in New Minas with some friends today.

Last time I was there was a little over a year ago. The food then was fantastic.

Today, it was an utter disappointment. Except for one dish i had that was fried pork, all the dishes in the buffet were pretty much tasteless. The sauces all came out like they had been watered down. The curried chicken tasted like someone has sprinkled a little curry in a pot full of water and poured it over the dish. The Cherry sauce for the chicken balls was just as bad.

Now their chicken wings, onion rings and anything that was deep fried seemed to be okay.

Two of us had had the fried pork dish and about 20 minutes after leaving the restaurant were were both loosing our lunches.

Now the service by the waiting staff was excellent, but after this very disappointing display of flavorless culinary talent, we will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    11
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese buffet in the valley”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went to this buffet in anticipation of good,plentiful Chinese food...we were not disappointed. The selection is very good,with the exception being a very sad salad selection.
Our particular favorites were the shrimp,meat-filled egg rolls and egg-foo-young(awesome)The food is very fresh and hot,veggies nice and crispy.
The service is attentive and polite. A tad expensive at $14.95 for the supper buffet...but I don't mind paying this if the food is good(which it is)
We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in the Annapolis Valley”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Friendly staff and a great variety of authentic Chinese cooking. The buffet is my recommendation. From one Asian to another, it's worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Verity Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Chinese cuisine, delicious! A buffet fit for royals and staff who are helpful and know the locals and are suggestive if needed

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Briar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Minas, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had the supper buffet and were thoroughly pleased. The food was hot and very well presented. Containers were filled in a timely manner and there was a good variety. The staff were friendly and efficient. We were very satisfied with our meal and will definitely be back. Absolutely delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KAO Restaurant also viewed

New Minas, Kentville
Kentville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to KAO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing