We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential English village pub”
Review of The Boot Inn

The Boot Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Orleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Quintessential English village pub”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

A lovely place for a pint - we were staying nearby over Christmas and we couldn't have had a nicer welcome; good ales, friendly staff and a warm fire, original features, the kind of place that feels like the hub of village life. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Basemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great pub”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We ate here recently and had a really excellent meal with good beer and cider as well. Warm welcome and nice atmosphere. Thoroughly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindamary33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We went as a family to The Boot Inn and were extremely impressed with both the quality of the food and the service. This village pub was brimming with a welcoming atmosphere, happy customers and attentive staff. We were asked by Sally our Waitress, whether we wanted our beef medium rare or well done. We all opted for medium rare and were not disappointed. The slices of beef were fresh, thick and very tasty. The accompanying vegetables were cooked just right including braised red cabbage (my favourite!) broccoli and French beans. The highlight of the meal however was the freshly baked to order apple tart with butterscotch sauce and ice cream. I can honestly say it was the best dessert I gave ever eaten. Well done The Boot Inn, we shall most definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Lady_from_Ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stopped by on the off chance for Sunday lunch! It was brilliant. From the outside it doesn't look much and the interior was very traditional country pub! However the food is amazing!! We all had Sunday lunch which was the best Sunday lunch I have had in ages! Defiantly worth a visit!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RPovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Geat food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Second visit here in 2 weeks so that says it all really.
Added bonus last night of a group of musicians arriving and entertaining everyone.....Fantastic end to our holiday in Shropshire!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing