We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Chinese New Year Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boot Inn

The Boot Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Orleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shropshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous Chinese New Year Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visited the Boot Inn as they were running a Chinese New Year special supper. The manager had pulled out all the stops to make the restaurant look authentic - red paper Chinese lanterns, chopsticks, Chinese Teas, Golden waving cats - what great fun.
The restaurant was full and everybody agreed it was a great night. The food was excellent and the Chinese dishes offered were full of flavour. The one thing you get at The Boot is is a welcome and excellent service. HIghly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_from_Ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    46
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great pub with good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have returned to the boot inn many of times. The boot inn is a great place welcoming everyone with a friendly face, a great atomphere created from the friendly locals and staff. The building itself is full of character and has that old cosy pub feeling. We have always had a superb meal here and the menu is full of choice and value for money. The waiting and bar staff are all friendly and make your visit here the most enjoyable. We will deffinitly be returning for more !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flo1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

How lucky are we that this is our "local" - but this was our first New Year's Eve at The Boot and it was wonderful. We will definitely be back next year! The food deserved a Michelin star. Yes, we are local, and we do eat at The Boot regularly (mostly for Sunday lunch!) but the menu on New Year's Eve was just superb. For anyone who has not been here - you should certainly put it on your list if you are in the area. Chris, the Manager, is very welcoming, as are all the staff, and Martin, the chef, produces just the best food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3waltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herefordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second New Year at the Boot .. GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went to the Boot Inn last year for New Years Eve and returned this year. We were not disappointed.
The food was excellent, well presented and the service could not have been better. The atmosphere friendly and just what you needed for New Years Eve. Even had karaoke at the right level, so not too intrusive if its not your style. A really lovely night.
To make it even better, Chris the manager took us home in his car, so no need for a taxi.
I would advise you to book a table ready for next year and have a fab night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metalderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A disappointing Pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Overcrowded pub with poor service, a table was booked at 19:30 so we arrived at 19:15, the order was eventually taken at 19:50. The meals eventually arrived at 20:45.
It is very annoying to see other guests who were obviously well known to the establishment arriving whilst you are waiting and being served almost immediately.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing