We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I should start by saying that I try to be reasonable when I make any comment on here, things you say here can have a lot of effect so I don't say things lightly and don't criticise unnecessarily.

We were massively disappointed in this place, to say the least.

We wanted to stay for a couple of nights whilst visiting Ludlow races nearby. When we checked in we were taken to a room at the back of the main building in what looks like a purpose built annexe. The room was not unattractive and was reasonably well fitted.

The first problem was with the cold. There is supposed to be underfloor heating but it either didn't work or wasn't sufficient. You have no way of controlling this as there is no thermostat or radiator in the room. So you have no way of altering the temperature in a hotel room – the first such example I have ever seen. The solution was for them to give us a portable heater to plug in the room, imagine the kind of thing a jobless person might use in their bedsit and you get the general idea.

Next problem is that there are no curtains on the window, let me repeat that, the ground floor windows have no curtains. There was just a poor, horizontal slatted blind that didn't close properly and provided no darkness in the room at all. So at 5AM when it got light outside it was bright enough in the room to do lots of things like read, sew, paint or do sudoku puzzles. The one thing it was too light to do was to sleep, which at 5AM was pretty much all I was after.

The room was also not well cleaned as we found several large black hairs in the bathroom. Now we are not the kind of people who are on our hands and knees looking under things and trying to find specks of dirt. However when a long black hair is sitting on a white bath, sink and toilet its not hard to spot. I should point out these were separate hairs and not one huge one draped over the bathroom.

Oh and the water was at best lukewarm however on the positive side the shower was powerful.

We also booked into the restaurant for dinner and guess what we found it disappointing! Firstly the staff didn't know the menu, so when you ask them 'what is this like' or 'what does this come with' they don't know. In a pub that doesn't matter but in a 'fine dining' establishment it does.

The food was then produced at a massive rate of knots, I have spent more time queueing in fast food outlets than it took them to produce our starter, once the starter was cleared the main course was raced to our table 30 seconds later. So from when we sat to when we finished our starter and main course was around 20 minutes. Now I know its unusual to complain that food is arriving too quickly but the problem is you get no time to enjoy what is given to you and clearly the dishes aren't created from scratch if they can be produced so quickly.

The food itself was not bad but it was trying way too hard. It was overly pretentious for no good reason and lacked in seasoning. Its the kind of food that people think they should be appreciating but when the Emperor looks down he realises he is in fact naked.

We went to the races the next day and had a set menu for half the price that we enjoyed more!

On the plus side breakfast was not bad at all and was much better than the evenings efforts.

We were going to stay for 2 nights but decided after 1 that we had simply had enough of being there. When we checked out they told us they would still be charging us the full amount for the 2nd night but would remove the breakfast we had not yet eaten, their kindness was a little overwhelming at this point. The place was so bad we decided to take this on the chin and leave anyway. Let me reiterate that last point, it was so bad that we decided not to stay in the room we were going to be paying for anyway and get in the car to drive home.

Now I am not an overly fussy person. When you are paying £50 a night and eating in a pub you take the rough with the smooth most of the time. But when the room is more than £100 is cold, too light and contains too much strange DNA you need to speak up!

You may say that perhaps we were just unlucky in the run of events we experienced and that may well be true. However if you are spending this much I simply wouldn't take the risk, there are plenty of places in Ludlow that are cheaper to stay in and better to eat at. Try a Premier Inn and a bag of chips.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaseandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    158
    62
    24
    6
See reviews for
82
245
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just had a lovely stay at the Clive, returning after 8 years. The hotel has hardly changed although a lovely food shop and garden centre built on the site. The staff and there are plenty of them are all helpfully, polite and welcoming. We stayed on a break which includes stay 2 nights and the Sunday F.o.c., paid in advance, well worth it. The food is excellent and cooked perfectly, very tasty and served with lots of appeal. The breakfast too very appetising, with plenty of choice, lovely fruit and yogurts from local sources. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable, although not good for reception on the TV. The music in the hotel needs updating, bit like a funeral parlour..... We came for the races on the Sunday and really enjoyed the course a lovely family day out. Ludlow is lovely and still untouched by time, keep it up!

Room Tip: 101. Although disabled, good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from spending a very nice weekend at The Clive. The room was very large with a huge bed, well fitted out and overall very comfortable. We ate on both nights in the restaurant and found the menu to be comprehensive, although it didn't change, but this didn't pose a problem because there was enough on there we liked. The food was fantastic, well cooked, tasty and nicely presented,.

Overall I would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNicholson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our friends and I spent a couple of nights at the Clive Inn in order to view the sites in this lovely part of England on the Welsh/English border. The hotel is ideally suited for Ludlow and the surrounding area. It is good value for money.

The service and staff friendliness at the hotel is very good. The accommodation is good rather than outstanding, with the rooms being comfortable. However, perfectly satisfactory for a couple of nights. The hotel's restaurant has a good selection of food and service is generally efficient.

The general ambience is good in parts, although the hotel has a collection of different styles, which do not altogether compliment each other. The older style, with exposed brickwork, in my view, works better than the more modern elements.

Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111, which is entered from a door leading directly to the bedroom from the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stay here fairly frequently and always receive a warm welcome, accom is excellent and hard to fault. Breakfast is worth it everytime! Would have no issue recommending in the South Shropshire area although a long stay could get expensive and not good for the waistline!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night DB&B. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious. Friendly attentive service. Attractive room and very comfy bed. Only gripe was there was a charge of £1 for two biscuits in the minibar. In most hotels they would be complimentary on the tea tray. Enjoyed a lovely country walk from the hotel into Ludlow.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned from a two-night break at the Clive, having chosen to stay here in part because of it's close proximity to Ludlow racecourse, where we spent the afternoon on the day of our arrival. Checking in at the bar reception area ( to the left of the main entrance, and signposted), was efficient & straight forward. We were shown to our room, which was ready for us, and our reservation for dinner that evening in the restaurant confirmed. The room was modern & comfortable. I particularly liked the vaulted beamed ceiling, which gave a feeling of spaciousness. The heating in the room is underfloor, so there are no radiators, which was slightly disappointing given the bitterness of the spring weather. The towel radiator in the bathroom was heat controlled though, and the bathroom was beautifully warm, and the shower superb. Minor room niggles: There was a hairline crack in the bathroom basin, and one of the desk doors needed re-aligning. There were several marks on the wooden floor, which, I suspected most of which could be removed with a bit of elbow grease, but otherwise may have benefited from covering with a nice rug, which would also have added some much-needed warmth to the room as well. I also felt that the bathroom was let down by the 60's shower curtain, and could be improved with a simple shower screen. Mini-bar prices steep, (£1.75 for a bottle of water), so we didn't partake.VERY disappointed when I went to make a cafetier of coffee on the first morning to find a USED coffee bag still in it.
We ate in the restaurant the first evening, and the meal was first class, could not fault it. We ate in the bar the second evening and that too was good, as was breakfast. the other thing I feel I have to mention is the dire background music they have playing in the bar & restaurant at all times. It is dreadful, and frankly depressing. don't get me wrong, I quite like classical music, but if your going to enforce this o people, then select your music well, this was so bad it brought the atmosphere in the whole place down.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Property: The Clive
Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing