We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hereford beef at it's best !”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had supper here a couple off weeks ago on a Sat evening , it was very busy . We all enjoyed our food , especially the Hereford beef ! The desserts had the wow factor too .
There where two large groups off people in the dining room it was very noisey when we went in but they left soon after we went in so this made talking to each other easier !

Room Tip: We only had meal did not stay
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank harktobounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for The Clive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights during the Hay Literary Festival. The staff were very welcoming, providing helpful local information and good service. Our room was really spacious and comfortable. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which we both enjoyed and thought good value. The cooked breakfast was really tasty using some local produce. The accommodation is next to the Ludlow Food Centre which is well worth a visit. Whilst it is a couple of miles outside the centre of Ludlow it is only a short taxi ride into the town, should you want to go for a meal in the evening.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Clive had large, modern, well appointed rooms in an annexe to the rear. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was pleasant though not special. Breakfasts , again, we're adequate but no more than that.
There is a very enjoyable walk down quiet lanes into Ludlow with great views over the river and castle at the end .
This was our first visit to Ludlow and we were very impressed. It is a lovely attrative town with many individual shops and plenty to see and do.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was our second stay and once again we were impressed. This time we met friends and had an outstanding dinner, congratulations to the chef and his team! The rooms were modern and comfortable and very clean, and the service from all the staff was welcoming, friendly and unobtrusive. Our breakfast was lovely, great quality food, and we walked through the Earl of Plymouth's estate into Ludlow the next day (an easy walk, about an hour). We will definitely stay there again, good food, good beer, lovely rooms, excellent staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We recently stayed at The Clive and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were modern but clean and comfortable. Over our three day stay we tried many options from the breakfast menu and all were excellent. We had dinner on one night and that was outstanding. We only ever found the staff friendly and courteous and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed two nights to attend an old school group lunch. All aspects were very good - room, food quality and personnel. A small drawback was the blinds over the skylights which let in plenty of light early in the morning.The location is five minutes outside town but we knew that and had no problems in driving there, parking and enjoying this characterful town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendoverian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I should start by saying that I try to be reasonable when I make any comment on here, things you say here can have a lot of effect so I don't say things lightly and don't criticise unnecessarily.

We were massively disappointed in this place, to say the least.

We wanted to stay for a couple of nights whilst visiting Ludlow races nearby. When we checked in we were taken to a room at the back of the main building in what looks like a purpose built annexe. The room was not unattractive and was reasonably well fitted.

The first problem was with the cold. There is supposed to be underfloor heating but it either didn't work or wasn't sufficient. You have no way of controlling this as there is no thermostat or radiator in the room. So you have no way of altering the temperature in a hotel room – the first such example I have ever seen. The solution was for them to give us a portable heater to plug in the room, imagine the kind of thing a jobless person might use in their bedsit and you get the general idea.

Next problem is that there are no curtains on the window, let me repeat that, the ground floor windows have no curtains. There was just a poor, horizontal slatted blind that didn't close properly and provided no darkness in the room at all. So at 5AM when it got light outside it was bright enough in the room to do lots of things like read, sew, paint or do sudoku puzzles. The one thing it was too light to do was to sleep, which at 5AM was pretty much all I was after.

The room was also not well cleaned as we found several large black hairs in the bathroom. Now we are not the kind of people who are on our hands and knees looking under things and trying to find specks of dirt. However when a long black hair is sitting on a white bath, sink and toilet its not hard to spot. I should point out these were separate hairs and not one huge one draped over the bathroom.

Oh and the water was at best lukewarm however on the positive side the shower was powerful.

We also booked into the restaurant for dinner and guess what we found it disappointing! Firstly the staff didn't know the menu, so when you ask them 'what is this like' or 'what does this come with' they don't know. In a pub that doesn't matter but in a 'fine dining' establishment it does.

The food was then produced at a massive rate of knots, I have spent more time queueing in fast food outlets than it took them to produce our starter, once the starter was cleared the main course was raced to our table 30 seconds later. So from when we sat to when we finished our starter and main course was around 20 minutes. Now I know its unusual to complain that food is arriving too quickly but the problem is you get no time to enjoy what is given to you and clearly the dishes aren't created from scratch if they can be produced so quickly.

The food itself was not bad but it was trying way too hard. It was overly pretentious for no good reason and lacked in seasoning. Its the kind of food that people think they should be appreciating but when the Emperor looks down he realises he is in fact naked.

We went to the races the next day and had a set menu for half the price that we enjoyed more!

On the plus side breakfast was not bad at all and was much better than the evenings efforts.

We were going to stay for 2 nights but decided after 1 that we had simply had enough of being there. When we checked out they told us they would still be charging us the full amount for the 2nd night but would remove the breakfast we had not yet eaten, their kindness was a little overwhelming at this point. The place was so bad we decided to take this on the chin and leave anyway. Let me reiterate that last point, it was so bad that we decided not to stay in the room we were going to be paying for anyway and get in the car to drive home.

Now I am not an overly fussy person. When you are paying £50 a night and eating in a pub you take the rough with the smooth most of the time. But when the room is more than £100 is cold, too light and contains too much strange DNA you need to speak up!

You may say that perhaps we were just unlucky in the run of events we experienced and that may well be true. However if you are spending this much I simply wouldn't take the risk, there are plenty of places in Ludlow that are cheaper to stay in and better to eat at. Try a Premier Inn and a bag of chips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaseandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
456 reviews
3.7 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
1.7 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 49 in Ludlow
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range: £109 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing