We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Heaven”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
1 review
“Food Heaven”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Wonderful stay here, we had three nights and we have had such a wonderful
time we have booked to stay next year! The service, the staff and the
superb food made this an exceptional stay. If any Coeliacs are reading this, you
will have an experience like no other, I did not have to check anything during my
stay and believe me this was a first. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashirePetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    158
    62
    24
    7
See reviews for
83
247
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we stayed with a group of 14 old friends for three days. We were extremely well looked after, the food was superb and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the weather also behaved itself. Altogether a superb experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathhyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A very good meal with excellent food and service. The atmosphere in the restaurant was a little cold despite most tables being full but this did not detract from the delicious food. I had the crab ravioli, rose veal and vanilla pannacotta - mmmmm!!! Would thoroughly recommend and only a short taxi ride from Ludlow.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MhairiPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We visited the Clive for lunch on a Monday. We had a starter and main and we could not fault the meal at all. My girlfriend had the scallops, with me having the duck, we would recommend both. For a main you cannot go wrong with the pork. The staff were very friendly and could not have done more. If we visit the area again, we will be coming here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had supper here a couple off weeks ago on a Sat evening , it was very busy . We all enjoyed our food , especially the Hereford beef ! The desserts had the wow factor too .
There where two large groups off people in the dining room it was very noisey when we went in but they left soon after we went in so this made talking to each other easier !

Room Tip: We only had meal did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harktobounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during the Hay Literary Festival. The staff were very welcoming, providing helpful local information and good service. Our room was really spacious and comfortable. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which we both enjoyed and thought good value. The cooked breakfast was really tasty using some local produce. The accommodation is next to the Ludlow Food Centre which is well worth a visit. Whilst it is a couple of miles outside the centre of Ludlow it is only a short taxi ride into the town, should you want to go for a meal in the evening.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Clive had large, modern, well appointed rooms in an annexe to the rear. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was pleasant though not special. Breakfasts , again, we're adequate but no more than that.
There is a very enjoyable walk down quiet lanes into Ludlow with great views over the river and castle at the end .
This was our first visit to Ludlow and we were very impressed. It is a lovely attrative town with many individual shops and plenty to see and do.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
866 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.7 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Property: The Clive
Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing