We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food and good service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clive Restaurant with Rooms

The Clive Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bromfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice food and good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I met my parents here today having been to the cafe at the food centre and found is very over priced and disappointing so we though we would give the Clive a go!

The Sunday menu was a great mix of roasts and a good variety of other meals. I was pleased about this as I am not a massive fan of roasts. I opted for the fish and chips. The fish was a giant one! A little too big but was gorgeous. The batter was tasty and plenty of fresh white meat and the chips were home made and very tasty. There lovely surprise was the home made tartar sauce! Yummy!

My parents both had ham, egg and chips. My father said the ham was the nicest he has ever had and he likes his ham! He said it was perfect and not at all salty.

While we were there a gentleman had what seemed to be a heart attack. I thought he was going to die! His lady friend would not let us call an ambulance. I fear for his life and pray that he did not have another bigger one later.

The staff were very kind and attentive. Great service!

Worth a visit if you are passing Ludlow and hungry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CardiffCymrocymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    149
    60
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good food at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

A nice evening with good food and a fair price for the standard of food served. Drinks were particularly well priced for a restaurant of this type. Only complaint was that the bar staff completely ignored us until the manager asked if we were being served and told one of the bar staff to serve us

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAlsager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Imaginative food which was well presented and cooked to perfection. The staff were attentive and helpful, the service good and the decor pleasant, the wine list was extensive

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing visit spoiled by dour waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I took my parents for lunch at The Clive for my father's 88th birthday treat. Neither of us fancied a main course but asked if we could have a starter scaled up to main course proportions so we could share. The price was certainly scaled up! The food was good, but the gravadlax just tasted of vinegar which killed any crab flavour.

We were starving afterwards so tried vainly to get someone's attention for the desert menu. Out of the three waiting staff available only one seemed capable of smiling and engaging with us as people. Eventually, my father's attempts at getting someone's attention was rewarded with the smiley waitress

We felt like we were intruding on the staffs time and consequently, unwelcome. The bill did not reflect our experience at The Clive and was far from the celebration we had hoped for. We went around the corner and found the delightful cafe which will be our next venue - just hope he makes it to 89!

We will neither return to The Clive nor recommend it. Very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

First time we had been to the Clive. Arrived a little early but didn't have a clue where to go?. Went through one door and wandered around an empty restaurant until someone spotted us. They guided us to the bar in the next room, which was very pleasant and had its own entrance which we hadn't spotted. The door slamming after anyone (who found that entrance!) came in was beginning to irritate as we selected from the menu. Guided to our seat in the restaurant we were pleased to see that in fact it was starting to fill, and within 30 minutes every table was taken, sold out in advance. However the constantly slamming bar door was enough to send the most tolerant diner insane. I requested to the pretty waitress to help us out, between door slamming that is, 'we cannot take this anymore'....she was brilliant and kept it open with a chair (being the heat wave it was perfect). However we then discovered that anyone finding the first door walked through the restaurant to the bar, anyone in the bar wanting the toilets walked the other way through the restaurant, anyone staying in the rooms walked through the restaurant, together with the restaurant staff it was Piccadilly......why don't restaurant managers see that something as simple as this is ruining their restaurant....never again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clive Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Clive Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing