We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Ludlow”

The Clive Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bromfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: 15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Visiting Ludlow”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We dined at the Fishmore on our first night so were hoping for great things at the Clive and we were not disappointed.
The restaurant has minimal style decoration with a very nice atmosphere. The food was lovely and very well prepared and cooked. Staff were very friendly and attentive. We opted for two courses for £49 per person plus wine, port, cheese and a baileys coffee total bill was £106 .
A good restaurant with great food .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creamtea1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    151
    61
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Custards last Stand at Michelin Star Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

So it was decided we would meet up at The Clive for lunch, having heard it was a highly rated restaurant we were looking forward to a treat. Courteous staff attended us with our drinks though no bread was bought to the table whilst we waited for our food which considering we were the only diners took quite some time to come.

We were not disappointed when the mains arrived they were well cooked and delicious and we enjoyed our choices very much. The problem arose when asked what we would like with our Rhubarb and Pear crumble, one of us chose ice-cream, the other- custard. Word came back from the kitchen that they were 'out of custard'. At first I agreed to have ice-cream too but then mentioned that if they had an egg, some sugar and milk I would be happy to show their Michelin star chef how to make custard! 45 minutes later our desserts arrived. Clearly he had to look up the recipe!

The staff also amused by the situation though somewhat embarrassed by the custard situation so we were not charged for our desserts!

The atmosphere was a little intense as we were the only diners in the building , perhaps due to the lack of custard! (he he)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaSailSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely interior and very friendly yet professional staff. Huge selection of starters, mains, lite bites and desserts.
All meals enjoyed by our party of six were high quality, well presented and very tasty. Would highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank flipflop15Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Just So!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Recommended as initially had a bad back from staying in Hayle (Cornwall) at relatives previous evening, and was seeing cousin in Ludlow and so said wanted a decent Hotel and bed for the night, so recommended The Clive, drove to The Clive and looked at a room 215 round in the courtyard upstairs, abosolutely massive room, discounted room, then decided as it was Saturday we would probably not be abole to get a decent restaurant at the Eleventh hour, looked at the paperwork in the room and called down to reception, they confirmed as residents we could have a table in restaurant even 'though walk ins' were full. Restarant menu was virtually same as Trevaskis in Hayle previous night, so I thought such is life, anyway went down to Restaurant to be greeted with New menu for this quarter, Wood Pidgeon, Venison, Lamb, or numerous vegetarian options. Well, it was excellent got, my cousin over for the meal and we had an excellent meal for 3 of us complete with fantastic wine for £146. This morning had a fantastic breakfast and walked around to their Ludlow Food Hall, which has everything for the decerning customer. Service excellent on the whole airy complex, and no clearing of tables as you are still eating and full English manners from the Staff, nothing too much trouble for anyone. Recommend Yes and would go back? without a doubt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and good food for special occasion”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Lovely atmosphere and excellent food.
We chose this restaurant to celebrate my wife’s birthday and were not disappointed. Nice atmosphere, attentive staff and the food was excellent. Portions were just right

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calasraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Clive Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing