We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch.....”

The Clive Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bromfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: 15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch.....”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a lovely lunch and very good value with excellent service.
The beef and lamb were both perfectly cooked and top quality...all the veg was cooked lovely.
Cant fault the food...the desserts were very tasty the coffee sponge cake and chocolate torte just right...

the quality and quantity of the main course will mean I will be back again

Thank you to the staff

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    151
    61
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Original menu; loved the Venison burger!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Clive looks like a bit of a run of the mill restaurant on the outskirts of Ludlow. Old building, modern interior with friendly and attentive staff.

Came here for lunch with the extended family and they catered well for a large(ish) party.

The menu is quite original so we needed a bit more time to weigh up the options. I went for the Venison burger which was fantastic. Offal was a major feature of the menu and one of our party went for the beef shin (which got the thumbs down quite resoundingly)!

Everyone else seemed happy and I'll happliy return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wgdelevan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Venison Burger to Die For”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had a family lunch here the other week.

Very friendly senior staff. Modern decor in historic building.

Three of us were intrigued by the venison burger and we weren't disappointed. Full of amazing flavours and a "kick" which we later found out was from the Cayenne pepper dropped in by the chef.

All three courses were excellent, accompanied by a great wine list and choice of beers.

It did take a while for things to get going though and having had drinks in the bar where our order was also taken - when we were told we'd be called through just before the first course was to be served - we did end up waiting over 20/25 minutes after being seated in the main restaurant.

But definitely somewhere we'd return to again.

Helpful?
1 Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge expectations”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband booked a table at this well rated restaurant when we planned our break in Ludlow, taking note of other reviews and the reputation of the restaurant. It is a pleasant eating place, but nothing exceptional at all; in fact both my husband and I were rather underwhelmed by the menu selection and the food. Maybe The Clive is in transition to a stage where it can set the pace in its restaurant provision, maybe it is compromised by the accommodation part of its establishment. However, I would recommend taking a punt on some of the other eating places in the area, from the gastropubs in Ludlow, to the whole food restaurants, that seem to have a better direction of what they want to offer their guests, rather than trying to be all things to all people and rather missing the mark.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BVHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice atmosphere. Three course meal to a very high standard at a reasonable price and a decent wine list. Friendly and helpfull staff. To sum it up, I would defiantly dine here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuartb0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Clive Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing