We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag...”

The Clive Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bromfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: 15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mixed bag...”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had dinner here whilst visiting the area. A real mixed bag in terms of good and bad points.

The good bits:
- decor and atmosphere good - half the tables were taken, lighting added to ambience and there was a good 'buzz' about the place
- the waiter who took our order came across as professional and helpful
- starters were nice on the whole
- my beef fillet was absolutely delicious and the vegetables were beautifully cooked
- there were lots of staff

The bad bits:
- we were rushed through far too quickly given the cost of the meal
- we were given two thin, straggly pieces of bread for the bread basket
- whilst my beef was beautifully cooked, the rest of my meal was only just warm
- we ordered the cheeseboard for dessert, which looked as if it had been thrown on the plate and included a piece of very dry bread
- most of the staff were young, Saturday staff who were clearly inexperienced
- when we paid the bill we were actually asked if we were going to leave a gratuity (!) and the girl stood and watched my husband whilst he put his PIN number in the card machine!!

Overall, the meal was ok, but certainly overpriced for the service and quality of the some of the produce used. I wouldn't particularly recommend it as I have had much better meals elsewhere where the cost has been comparable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward799, General Manager at The Clive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a balanced review. It always helps to be able to commend our team on the good points whilst learning from the negatives from which we can hopefully improve.
I am sorry that the level of service was not up to standard which has resulted in a number of occurrences. I am happy to accept that we do employ some young people as we are keen to train local people in food service skills. This should however not be at the expense of your enjoyment. You should certainly not have felt rushed and there is no pressure to add a gratuity. We do not add a service charge to bills leaving it to customers’ discretion; however the credit card system does require completion of the transaction. We will take your observations and find a less intrusive method.
I have discussed your comments on the food with our head chef. There is no excuse for anything other than plentiful fresh bread as this comes from the Ludlow Food Centre and is baked daily for us. I have asked chef to look at food temperatures as well. We are proud of our food given in particular that we source all meat from the estate here. This also applies to our cheeses of which we make seven ourselves from milk from our farm and are served with our home made chutneys.
I note that you are in Colchester but hope that you will find a reason to visit the beautiful Shropshire countryside again and perhaps on another occasion you will have time to spend a night at The Clive.
Edward Berry
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    157
    62
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another quality eatery!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good service, excellent food with emphasis on local produce. I strongly suggest booking as it is very popular, even with local living TV celebrities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant eatery”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice service, enjoyable food, interesting menu selection.
Atmosphere a bit sterile
If you are in the area it's worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here for the first time. Service was swift and very polite. We couldn't fault our food, very tasty and well-presented. We had belly pork and rump of lamb for mains. My red wine by the glass was too old but was replaced with an apology. A most enjoyable evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch.....”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a lovely lunch and very good value with excellent service.
The beef and lamb were both perfectly cooked and top quality...all the veg was cooked lovely.
Cant fault the food...the desserts were very tasty the coffee sponge cake and chocolate torte just right...

the quality and quantity of the main course will mean I will be back again

Thank you to the staff

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Clive Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing