Ceuta (pop. 76800) and Melilla (pop. 72000) are two autonomous Spanish cities, located on the northern coast of Africa, bordering Morocco. Both cities have an interesting and varied history, with territorial control changing hands many times over the centuries. Both cities are part of the European Union, but are classed as low-tax zones within the Euro monetary zone.

Morocco hotly disputes Spanish sovereignity over these cities, as well as over the handful of uninhabited islands, along Morocco's coast, which Spain claim.

For more information on Ceuta (only available in Spanish): click here

For more information on Melilla (available in English, French, German and Spanish): click here