Rectory of the University of Malaga Building

The Rectory of the University of Malaga Building is located by the city park, at Avenida de Cervantes, 2. It used to be the old Casa de Correos (post office). The architect of the building was Teodoro de Anasagasti y Algan and the construction was finished in 1923. The style of the building is Neo-Mudejar, and it is probably one of the best of this style in Malaga. The building has a square layout with the corner of the facade rounded and having a cylindrical tower. The facade is made of stone and brick and there are touches of cobalt blue tiles. Between the first and second floor there is a border of these cobalt blue tiles. The roof tiles are also of this color. The entranceway has an arch and with one Ionic column on each side. There are eaves made of wood on top of many windows, and these have the cobalt blue tiles on top of them, giving the building the Mudejar look.

There is an interior patio in the building enclosed with a glass ceiling. One can look down and see the Roman pits where garum was produced. Garum was a fermented sauce made from fish that the ancient world prized to give flavor to their food. Malaga was one of the Roman cities that produced garum because of the abundance of fish on the coasts, and this was one of the principal commercial items sent to Rome. In the basement one can also see part of the old city wall, which ran all the way down from the Gibralfaro mountain.

The rectory has a large exhibition hall on the first floor which many times holds cultural exhibitions for free. Many of these exhibitions are very interesting and well researched by people of the university.