Malaga Photo Album

Welcome to Malaga, one of Spain's most beautiful cities. Malaga has beaches, culture, very friendly people, monuments, churches, and wonderful food and drink. This photo album was created to give one an idea of what can be found in the historic center of this city, a big city with a small town feel.

1. Malaga Cathedral

In 1487 the Catholic Kings dedicated the Cathedral of Malaga in a building that was a mosque. In 1528 construction was started on the present Cathedral and it became known as the Cathedral of the Encarnacion, because it was dedicated to the Virgen de la Encarnacion. The architect was Diego de Siloe, and the style was to be late Gothic. The building was partly destroyed by an earthquake in 1680. Building was resumed in 1719 and construction was officially stopped in 1783, although the right tower was not finished, for lack of money. The Cathedral is called “La Manguita” (one armed woman) because the right tower is missing.

Bernardo de Galvez was a brave soldier from Macharaviaya, who became the governor of Louisiana, before the territory became French. During the American War of Independence, Galvez convinced the Spanish King Carlos III to divert the money that was going to be spent to complete the second tower of the Cathedral to help the Americans against the British. The money was spent for arms, food, medicine, and blankets. They did not send any men because they wanted the help to the Americans to be hidden from the British.

Because construction took so long with many different architects, the Cathedral has three different architectural styles. The interior is Gothic, the head of the church and naves are Renaissance, and the entrance and tower are Baroque. The church is 115 meters long. The choir has stalls with carved wooden statues of saints and other figures, which number 42. These were carved by Pedro de Mena, one of Spain‘s best wood carvers of his time.

2. The Alcazaba

The Alcazaba is the best preserved Moorish fortress in Spain. It sits on the hill that overlooks the city of Malaga. It consists of two concentric enclosures, with the outer enclosure being lower than the inner enclosure. The inner enclosure contains 3 palaces. The Moors built this fort over the remains of a Roman fort. There are more than 100 towers in the walls. The Alcazaba now contains the Archaeological Museum of the city. It has beautiful gardens and fountains also.

The first fortress was built in the 8th century but was completely rebuilt in the 11th century for King Badis of Granada. By the entrance to the Alcazaba is a 2nd century Roman theater that is undergoing restoration. The fortress is connected to the Gibralfaro Castle.

The Moorish governors were the ones who occupied the Nazari palace, constructed in the 11th, 13th, and 14th centuries. There are three consecutive patios in the palace. There is a tower called the Maldonado Tower, which has a lookout with a beautiful view of the city below.

There is a gate at the entrance which is called the Puerta de la Boveda (Vault Gate). Behind the City Hall there is an elevator that carries one to the fortress. The fortress was cleverly designed because at two gates the path doubles back to make it harder to attack the fortress. In 1487 the fortress was captured after a long siege by the Catholic Kings (Queen Isabella and King Ferdinand). In 1931 the Alcazaba was named a National Monument.

3. Roman Theater

The Roman Theater was built on the side of a hill, which was the custom in ancient Greece and Rome. The construction was done in 1 A.D., during the time of Augustus Caesar. It was a medium size theater because the population of Malaga during Roman times was not big. The theater was built using expensive marble facing, so it was a very elegant theater when it was built. In the fifth century, the theater was abandoned during the invasions of the German tribes. Later during the time of the Moors, much material was removed for the construction of the Alcazaba. The area of the theater was covered and used for other purposes, such as for the preparation of garum, a fish sauce that was very popular in the Mediterranean area. It was completely forgotten with time. There was a sensation in 1951 when it was discovered during the construction of the gardens for the building of the Casa de Cultura. In 1992 the Casa de Cultura was demolished because the authorities wanted the Roman Theater to be used for tourist purposes. The theater is being refurbished and the street (Calle Alcazabilla) beside it is also being refurbished. There will be an interpretation center beside the theater.

4. Calle Larios

At the start of Calle Larios is a monument to Manuel Domingo Larios y Larios (1836-1895). He was the firstborn son of the first Marques de Larios and he inherited a large fortune from his father and also the title. He was the one who constructed Calle Larios, which is one of the main streets, together with the Alameda Principal. The sculptor was Mariano Benlliure, one of the best sculptors of Spain at that time, and the sculpture was finished in 1899.

In the 19th century, the city wanted to unite the Plaza de la Constitucion with the port and a study was made by the architect Moreno Monroy in 1859. At that time Malaga was a medieval city. Other architects became involved, such as Jose Maria de Sancha and Manuel Rivera. The project of building Calle Larios was started in 1886 with the help of the company Hijos de Martin Larios, the main company of the Larios family. The city expropriated the land in 1878, where there were many old houses and proceeded with the redevelopment.

The main architect was Eduardo Strachan Viana-Cardenas. The project was finished in 1891. There are 12 blocks of buildings, all of them with four floors and an attic on top. One major characteristic of the buildings is that the corners are curved. The French windows have wrought iron railings. What is beautiful about this street is the look of uniformity and the rooftops are all about the same, and the buildings are painted in pastel colors. The street is 16 meters wide and the sidewalks are made of marble. Today the street is for pedestrian use only.

5. Plaza de la Constitucion

The Plaza de la Constitucion has been the main plaza in Malaga since the Middle Ages. It has been remodeled many times and the buildings around its periphery have changed over the years. Today this plaza is the main plaza of the city and it is a meeting place where celebrations (like New Year's Eve) are held. During Holy Week, it holds the very large reviewing stand for the processions, which is occupied by the high city officials and guests.

At one end of the plaza is the Fuente de Genova, which is a fountain that came from the city of Genoa in the 16th century. It is made of marble and is considered a work of the Renaissance. The fountain is in a big cup in the shape of a dodecagon. The bottom of the fountain has figures of three sirens with crowns of flowers. Above this there are the figures of three women with little clothing and with figures of dolphins. These probably represent nymphs. There is a cup above which has three figures (one of them is Neptune) and the outer surface of the cup has the faces of eight mythical men and water falls from the spouts that are in their mouths. The top cup has figures of boys with dolphins on their shoulders and topped with an eagle. The fountain's design implies that Malaga is a marine city.

At the other end of the plaza, there are five bronze plaques on the floor which reproduce the front pages of five newspapers on Dec. 7, 1978, the date of the approval of the Spanish constitution. The five newspapers represented were the Sur, El Correo de Andalucia, Diario 16, ABC, and El Pais. This work of art was created by Jesus de la Fuente Moreno. Beside there is a flagpole that flies the Spanish flag.

6. Picasso Museum of Malaga

Pablo Picasso was born in Malaga in 1881 at a house in the Plaza de la Merced, where there is now the Picasso Casa Natal Museum. He left Malaga to study art in Madrid, then went to Barcelona and later Paris. He became one of the most influential painters of the 20th century, one of the most revolutionary. He was a cofounder of the cubism style of painting. During his lifetime he said that he wanted his pictures to be exhibited in his native city of Malaga. Picasso’s oldest son was named Paul, who married Christine. They had a son called Paul.

When Picasso died in France in 1973, his estate was divided between the French government (in lieu of taxes) and his family. Christine was then a widow and several years ago, she and her son Paul decided to exhibit their Picasso paintings in Malaga. She worked with the Government of Andalucia to have a museum built to honor Picasso. There were already two other Picasso museums in Europe, one in Barcelona and another in Paris. But there was no museum in Malaga yet.

The government found a home for the museum in the Palacio de Buenavista, a historic palace built in the 16th century. The palace has Italian and Mudejar elements and is an elegant building. Christine Ruiz-Picasso wanted her collection to be housed in a typical Andalusian house. The government had the building remodeled for the museum and the remodeling was finished in 2003. In October 27, 2003, the museum was inaugurated by King Juan Carlos and Queen Sofia. There are a total of 155 pieces of art in the museum, many of them are ceramics. The collection is considered comprehensive with many artworks covering all of Picasso’s career.

7. Museum of Glass and Crystal

The Museum of Glass and Crystal at Calle Gaona, 20, is the only museum of its kind in Andalusia and it opened on Sept. 1, 2009. The museum displays about 700 objects of glass and crystal, dating from Egyptian and Roman times to the present. The museum is located in a carefully restored 18th century palace in downtown Malaga, the palace having been built by an Italian family. Unlike other museums that seem sterile, this museum shows the glass and crystal objects in a home setting, with period furniture and decoration of that time. For example, if the glass objects come from the 19th century, the room will have a wood and glass cabinet where these objects are displayed. There will be chairs, sofas, paintings, mirrors, porcelain, lamps and carpets from the 19th century.

The bottom floor has many English stained glass windows with Pre-Raphaelite motifs, such as one made in 1880 by Albert Moore. The stairs going to the second floor have beautiful antique ceramic tiles decorating the stairs. The second floor has the rooms divided by the time periods of the glass and crystal displayed.

There are glass and crystal objects from every important and historic European manufacturer, such as Lalique, Webb, Wedgewood, Galle, Daum, and La Granja. This museum has some of their most beautiful samples, in every conceivable color. A visitor is overwhelmed by the beauty of these objects. The value of these antiques is astronomical. The museum really is also a decorative arts museum, with the best examples of period furniture. Malaga is very lucky to have this new and unique museum.

On June 18, 2010, the City of Malaga held its First Edition of the Premios Malaga at the Cine Albeniz to honor outstanding citizens of Malaga. Mayor Francisco de la Torre awarded the Culture Award to Gonzalo Fernandez-Prieto. Gonzalo is the first recipient of this award, for his work in opening the new Museum of Glass and Crystal.




8. CAC Malaga- Centro de Arte Contemporaneo de Malaga

This museum is located on Calle Alemania. The CAC Malaga opened its doors in 2003 and is owned by the City of Malaga. The building was the old Wholesaler’s Market, which was remodeled to be the museum in 2000. There are 6000 square meters of space with 2400 square meters of exhibition space. There are plans to expand the museum building. The aim of this museum is to promote and disseminate 20th and 21st century visual art. International art of this period is of interest to the museum. The collection of the museum consists of 400 pieces of art that have been lent by the owners for periods of 3 to 5 years.

The museum has many temporary exhibitions throughout the year and these are mostly monographs of one particular artist, who is invited to attend the opening of the exhibition. The museum has a list of people who are notified of new exhibitions and are invited to the openings of these exhibitions. One just has to ask the desk at the entrance to add one’s name to this list. It is interesting to talk to the artists who come and interact with these artists, many who are famous internationally. Entrance is free.

9. Popular Arts Museum (Museo de Artes y Costumbres Populares)

This museum is located at Pasillo de Santa Isabel, 10. It is located in a building that Franciscan monks of the Convent de la Victoria constructed in 1632, so the building is called Meson de la Victoria. There is a central patio with rooms around it, typical of houses of the 17th century. The museum is an ethnographic museum that explains the traditions of Malaga in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. There are many exhibits that show tools used in iron making, winemaking, fishing and baking, among other things. There is a marvelous collection of clay figures showing people of many trades. There are advertising posters and labels of raisin boxes that show beautiful women in native dress.

The most interesting are two big paintings of the beautiful Malagueña Anita Delgado. She was a young and poor girl who went to Madrid and started working as a dancer in a club there. The Maharaja of Kapurtala fell in love with her and asked for her hand in marriage. She was then sent to Paris to get the manners needed to be a princess. The Maharaja then married her and brought her to India. To her surprise, he already had three other wives. So Anita tried as best as she could to adjust to court life, with most of the people there against her. She later had a boy with the Maharaja. Later on she asked for a divorce from him and came back to Paris and Madrid to live the rest of her life. She donated a coat to the Virgin de la Victoria, which is studded with precious stones. This is now found in the museum of that church. The biography of Anita Delgado is found in two recent best sellers and a famous Spanish actress has bought the movie rights because she wants to make the movie and act the part of Anita Delgado.

10. Wine Museum of Malaga

The new Wine Museum of Malaga is located in the Palacio de las Biedmas (Plaza de los Viñeros, 1), an 18th century building that has been completely remodeled in the interior, but maintains its original facade. There is a guided visit every half hour from the museum's opening time, and this is given by multilingual guides, who are very friendly and informative. Every room has tablets in different languages that explain the exhibits in the room.

The ground floor has more than 400 lithographs of posters and labels from the late 19th century to the early 20th century, some of which are really works of art and very beautiful. There are also lithographs that were used on raisin boxes.

The first floor has a presentation about the history of wine in Malaga. The Phoenicians started the wine industry in Malaga about 3000 years ago when they landed in Malaga. After them came the Greeks and the Romans, who maintained the wine industry. Later came the Moors, who also had a wine industry. To circumvent their law of avoiding alcohol, they said the wine was going to be used for medicinal purposes. In the 18th century the wines of Malaga started winning prizes in Europe. The czars of Russia developed a taste for them and allowed their importation to Russia without having to pay taxes.

There is an explanation of how wine is grown in the five regions of Malaga. There are several different grapes that are now used and these are explained. The museum also shows several old wine presses and explains the current process of aging the wines and achieving a uniformity in the wine.

After the guided tour there is a wine tasting of two wines, one a dry wine and the other a sweet wine. There are about 120 different wines that are shown in the wine tasting room and one can buy them there at prices that are below retail. This museum is an enjoyable place to understand the wines of Malaga and to try them.


11. Museo Interactivo de la Musica - Malaga (MIMMA)

The Interactive Museum of Music (located in the Plaza de la Marina, underground) is a little known museum in Malaga, perhaps because of its location. However it merits attention because it is a very interesting museum, and it will please people of all ages, but is fascinating for young people because it is interactive.

The museum holds a collection of about 400 musical instruments, from many different countries, and from many different ages. The owner of this very large musical instrument collection is Miguel Angel Piedrola Orta. He has more than 1000 instruments in his collection, but only about 400 are displayed in this museum for lack of space. His collection is one of the largest in Europe.

Music has been around since prehistoric times and music was used to display to others what one felt, what one's mood was. It was used to transmit feelings, moods, and ideas to others. Music was used to communicate with others.

There are many displays that have a red triangle on them and this indicates that the display is interactive. Many show musical instruments that can be touched and played. Others have videos that can be watched and feature people playing the wide variety of musical instruments. One interesting display features flamenco and the music of Andalusia. An interesting explanation is that of classical music, how it started in Europe. The German composers such as Beethoven were the first to play it. Later other European countries had their composers create music that was representative of their own countries, such as Falla composed music for the Spanish.










12. Municipal Museum of Malaga

The Municipal Museum of Malaga is located at Paseo de Reding, 1. It was inaugurated on March 6, 2007, by the Mayor of Málaga, Francisco de la Torre Prados. The object of the museum was to showcase the artistic and historic heritage of the city. The Mayor was the one who had the idea for this particular museum.

There are more than 4000 pieces of art and documents in the collection. These include sculptures (76 pieces), paintings, graphic art, historic documents, and a big library of books. The permanent exhibit has 94 works that showcase the city and its history. Malaga is a city that has a very rich history of 2800 years, from the Phoenician times to the present. The exhibition explains this history to the visitor and is found in 3 salons.

The museum usually runs special exhibitions highlighting one particular artist, a monograph of the work of the artist. It also prints a book about the exhibition. The museum has ample space on the upper floors for big exhibitions. Entrance is free to this museum.

13. Plaza de la Merced

In the center of Malaga is the Plaza de la Merced, a beautiful square plaza where most of the buildings around it are of the same height and many are from the 19th century. The square is ringed with trees. At one corner of the square (at No. 15) is the house where Pablo Picasso was born. It is now occupied by the Picasso Casa Natal Museum, which houses a few of his lithographs and has many important documents relating to him and artists of his time. Picasso loved to paint doves, which love to fly around the square. Picasso saw them as a boy and later painted them.

In the middle of the square there is an obelisk which honors the liberal General Torrijos. Jose Maria de Torrijos y Uriarte was a general who participated in the failed mutiny in 1817 against the monarchy. After that he went into exile to England with his family, but always wanted to come back to Spain. In 1831 he went to Gibraltar and then with 52 companions he tried to land near Malaga, but was captured by the king’s forces. The king, Fernando VII, ordered them all shot and this happened in Dec. 9 on the beach of San Andres in Malaga. Torrijos and his companions are all buried under the obelisk. The monument represents the cradle of liberties in Spain. The painter Antonio Gisbert painted the shooting of the general and this monumental historical painting is now found in the Prado Museum in Madrid.

In front of the Birth House Museum in the Plaza de la Merced is a new bronze statue of Pablo Picasso that was done by Francisco Lopez Hernandez. It shows a life size Picasso sitting on a bench with his notebook and pencil. This statue was unveiled on Dec. 5, 2008.

14. The Malaga Park

The city park lies beside the port and goes from the Plaza de la Marina to the Plaza del General Torrijos. At the Plaza del General Torrijos, there is a beautiful fountain called the Fuente de las Tres Gracias (Fountain of the Three Graces), which is a French design of the 19th century. The park was constructed in 1897 and conceived as a botanical garden and has been remodeled in 2007, so it is now more than a hundred years old. New walkways have been added, statues have been cleaned, a new pond has been constructed, overgrown shrubbery has been removed, and many thousands of new plants and flowers have been planted. Alongside the main road there are two promenades that are bordered with palm trees and shade trees. There are many benches located throughout the park.

The preliminary plans were drafted by the Marquis of Larios and the architects were Rivera, Guerrero Strachan, Rucoba and Crooke were amongst those that took part in the long design and development phase. Joaquin de Rucoba was the architect who oversaw the building of the park. The park was designed as a Mediterranean garden with touches of the Renaissance and the Baroque. The land it sits on was reclaimed from the sea. Many of the trees and shrubs have small signs identifying them. Many of the statues and sculptures are also identified.

Across the street and beside the City Hall are the Gardens of Pedro Luis Alonso, which most people think belongs to the park. This smaller park was named for the first mayor of Malaga after the Spanish Civil War, and was designed by the famous Malaga architect Fernando Guerrero Strachan in 1948. The design is Spanish-Muslim and French, with paths bordered with symmetrical shrubs and orange trees. The park was remodeled in 2010 and is now a rose garden, with 10,200 rose bushes that come from 70 different varieties. The roses have signs giving the name and information of each variety. There are also ponds and small fountains. There is a statue of a biznaguero, a young man who sells flowers. During spring one can smell the perfume wafting through the park from the new blossoms. The park has an area of 2558 square meters.

Just below the Alcazaba are the Gardens of Puerta Oscura. These were designed by the architect Guerrero Strachan and run along the hill, below the walls of the fortress. It has many interesting trees and plants, with small terraces, fountains, bowers, and footpaths. One can get a good view of the big park and the port from this hillside.

15. Malaga City Hall (Ayuntamiento)

The Malaga City Hall had two architects from Malaga, Fernando Guerrero Strachan and Manuel Rivera Vera. The building was completed in 1919. The design is Neo-Baroque and the floor plan is rectangular, with a big enclosed patio in the middle of the building. the facade has a tympanum (a triangular frieze) that is decorated with sculpture done by Francisco Palma Garcia. There is a sculpture of a woman who represents the city, and beside her are figures that allude to architecture, the sea, fishing, and commerce. Above that there is a tower with a clock. Below the frieze are Ionic columns framing a balcony, and below that is the main entrance to the building, which has three floors.

The facade is elaborately decorated. There are figures of men who seem to be supporting the building. These were done by the sculptor Diego Garcia Carreras. Among decorative elements are garlands, large decorative brackets, cornices, volutes, fruits and vegetables, oak leaves, and pedestals.

Inside the building, there is an imperial staircase, that is very grand and impressive. There are huge stained glass windows that were made by the Parisian firm of Maumejean de Paris. They represent historic scenes of the city.

16. Banco de España

The Banco de España is located at Avenida Cervantes, 3, beside the park and the City Hall. It is probably the most elegant building in Malaga. The style of the building is Art Deco. The building was designed by the architect Jose Yarnoz and finished in 1936. The building has three floors.
The facade is made of light gray marble and there are six large Corinthian columns in the portico.

There is a large gray metal door that seems to have small medallions in its design. The classic style of the facade is integrated into the art deco style. At the top of the building is the name of the bank using an art deco type, done in stone. The second floor windows are decorated with wrought iron grills. The sides of the building have simple columns that give the building elegance. The interior patio where the operations are has a large glass skylight in the art deco style. The interior is very elegant with plenty of marble, wood, and metal lamps. There is a stone wall around the building with wrought iron decorations that also add to the elegance of the building. There is a very strict guard that controls the entrance to the building and one has to enter an isolated anteroom before one can enter the building. People can enter to exchange their old pesetas to euros. The Banco de España is the government central bank that controls all the other banks.

17. Rectory of the University of Malaga

The Rectory of the University of Malaga is located by the city park, at Avenida de Cervantes, 2. It used to be the old Casa de Correos (post office). The architect of the building was Teodoro de Anasagasti y Algan and the construction was finished in 1923. The style of the building is Neo-Mudejar, and it is probably one of the best of this style in Malaga. The building has a square layout with the corner of the facade rounded and having a cylindrical tower. The facade is made of stone and brick and there are touches of cobalt blue tiles. Between the first and second floor there is a border of these cobalt blue tiles. The roof tiles are also of this color. The entranceway has an arch and with one Ionic column on each side. There are eaves made of wood on top of many windows, and these have the cobalt blue tiles on top of them, giving the building the Mudejar look.

There is an interior patio in the building enclosed with a glass ceiling. One can look down and see the Roman pits where garum was produced. Garum was a fermented sauce made from fish that the ancient world prized to give flavor to their food. Malaga was one of the Roman cities that produced garum because of the abundance of fish on the coasts, and this was one of the principal commercial items sent to Rome. In the basement one can also see part of the old city wall, which ran all the way down from the Gibralfaro mountain.

18. Atarazanas Market

Where the Atarazanas Market is today, there used to be a naval workshop where boats could dock for repairs. There were seven arches that date back to the Nazari period in the 14th century. In the early 19th century the building was almost in ruins and in 1868 the local government decided to tear down the building, except for the biggest arch. The city decided to build a public market in its place and incorporate the arch as the entrance. The architect of the market was Joaquin de Rucoba, who finished the project in 1879. The market was declared a Historic-artistic Monument in 1979. At the end of the 19th century, it was considered as progress the construction of public markets, and the ones in Madrid and Barcelona were constructed around the same time period.

The style of the market is Neo-Arab. The arch is a slightly pointed horseshoe arch made of white marble. It was actually moved a little to put it in the middle of the facade of the market. The metal structure of the market was made by the Perez Hermanos company of Seville.

In 1908 there was a reconstruction of part of the market that was carried out by the architect Fernando Guerrero Strachan. That was when the large stained glass window at the back of the building was put in. This stained glass shows various monuments of the city, such as the Cathedral, the Gibralfaro mountain, the entrance of the Sagrario Chapel, and the Fountain of the Three Graces.

The last reconstruction started in 2008 and was finished in 2010. A new roof of tile was put in, with the green and brown colors of the original building. The stained glass window at the back was completely disassembled and restored. There are 260 market stalls in the building.


19. Statue of Hans Christian Andersen

In the Plaza de la Marina there is a life size statue of Hans Christian Andersen, the beloved author of children's stories, sitting on a bench. Andersen is wearing a top hat and has a duck in his briefcase (an allusion to one of his stories). He looks at the Alameda Principal, where he stayed in a hotel. This is the favorite place in Malaga for tourists to take pictures because the sculpture is very well designed and is very human in sentiments.

It turns out that Andersen visited Malaga in October, 1862. He was captivated by the beauty of Malaga, its sea, its luminosity, and the hospitality of its people, and wrote in his book (In Spain) , "In no other Spanish city have I been as happy and comfortable as in Malaga". Andersen was one of the first persons to do a cultural tour in the 19th century.

José María Córdoba was the sculptor of this bronze statue, having been commissioned by the Danish Royal Family. The sculptor had already done some work for the Danish Royal Family. The Danish Consulate in Malaga asked him to do the sculpture in 2003, two years before the bicentenary of the author's birth. The sculptor was very happy because the statue was placed where the most people could see it and enjoy it. The sculptor was born in Cordoba, but now resides in the Costa del Sol.

In June 14, 2005, Princesa Benedikte of Denmark came to inaugurate the statue. This was a gift of the Danish people to Malaga. She was glad that Andersen had been very happy in Malaga.

20. Ave Quiromantica

The Ave Quiromantica is a bronze sculpture located on Calle Bolsa, and this sculpture has the form that is half pigeon and the other half an open hand, the whole sculpture resting on a marble base. It was based on a sketch done by the poet Rafael Perez Estrada, to whom the monument is dedicated by the City of Malaga. The sculpture was created by Jose Seguiri, a local sculptor, and was dedicated in 2001.

21. Sculpture of "Points of View"

Located at the corner of Calle Larios and Calle Strachan is the sculpture called "Points of View". The artist was Tony Cragg, a British sculptor born in Liverpool in 1949. The City of Malaga acquired this bronze sculpture in 2005. Tony Cragg has created large sculptures and many have aerodynamic forms and are full of vitality. The artist has won many prizes and lives in Germany.


22. Bridge of Santo Domingo

The Bridge of Santo Domingo crosses the Guadalmedina River and is located by the Church of Santo Domingo. It is a metallic structure that is for pedestrians only and it connects the church to the Pasillo de Santa Isabel. It is commonly called the "Puente de los Alemanes" (Bridge of the Germans). The history of this bridge is very interesting.

In Dec. 18, 1900, the German Navy training ship "Gneisenau" was anchored at the port of Malaga. Suddenly a very fierce storm came on the city and the ship was rammed against the rocks of the quay. This caused the hull of the ship to break and the ship sunk. The fishermen at the port went to sea to try to rescue the 486 crew members of the ship who were in the water. They were able to rescue most of them, except for 41 men. Unfortunately many fishermen died in the rescue.

The men who were rescued were brought to the hospitals and many were brought to private residences, where the owners took care of the men. Those German seamen who died were put in a common grave in the English cemetery, and there is a monument to them there. Later the families who took care of the seamen received a letter of thanks from the Kaiser. Because the Malagueños were valiant and saved many lives in the incident at risk to their own lives, the city received the title of "Muy Hospitalaria" (Very Hospitable) from the Royal Crown, which is on the coat of arms of the city.

The story does not end there. On Sept. 3, 1907, the Guadalmedina River went into a rampage because of torrential rains and destroyed many of the bridges that crossed it. When the Germans read the notices in their newspapers, they decided to collect money to help the Malagueños, and this money was used to construct the Bridge of Santo Domingo between 1907 and 1909.

There is a plaque on the bridge that reads: "Alemania donó a Málaga este puente agradecida al heróico auxilio que la ciudad prestó a los náufragos de la fragata de guerra Gneisenau." (Germany donated this bridge to Malaga in appreciation for the heroic help given by the city to the shipwrecked seamen from the frigate of war Gneisenau).

The City Hall has a beautiful painting by Muñoz Degrain of “El Socorro de los Malagueños a los Naufragos de la Fragata Alemana Gneisenau” (The Rescue by Malagueños of the Shipwrecked from the German Ship Gneisenau). This is a wonderful story of one city helping citizens of one country and that country responding positively when the first city needed help.

23. Plaza de la Victoria

Plaza de la Victoria is on Calle Victoria, just before one gets to the Church of La Victoria. It is a little park with jacaranda trees, orange trees, palm trees and rose bushes. In the middle of the park is a fountain with a statue of Maternity. There are various sculptures of children done in bronze and stone, which recreates children's games, and these were created by the artist Mario Amaya in 1962. The plaza is also affectionately called the Jardin de los Monos (Garden of the Monkeys), because in the past there was a cage with monkeys. Nearby is a statue of Miguel de los Rios, who was a famous flamenco dancer.

24. Palacio Episcopal

The Palacio Episcopal is located across the street from the Cathedral and consists of two palaces. One is from the 16th century and the other is from the 18th century. The second palace was built in 1762 by the Bishop Lasso de Castilla, using the architects Antonio Ramos and Jose Martin de Aldehuela. The impressive façade is constructed with marbles of different colors (pink, white and gray) in a beautiful Baroque design, with pilasters and cornices. On the third floor of the façade is a vaulted niche that holds a sculpture of the Virgen de las Angustias, sculpted by Fernando Ortiz and Manuel Agustin Valero in alabaster.

Inside there is an interior covered patio that has arches resting on columns. This then leads to a grand staircase in the imperial style going to the second floor. On the side there is a beautiful exterior patio (the private patio of the bishop) that has tile work (azulejos) from the 18th century, depicting figures of men and women in typical dress. This patio also has small fountains done in tile.

Today the top floor of the palace is the home and office of the bishop. The first two floors are used by the Junta de Andalucia for special large art exhibitions. The palace is one of the most beautiful Baroque buildings in Andalusia.

25. Santa Maria de la Victoria Church

When King Ferdinand was laying siege to Malaga in 1487 against the Moors, he set up camp where the present church is. He put up a small chapel to keep the image of the Virgin with Child sent to him by the Emperor Maximilian of Austria. When King Ferdinand won the war, he attributed this to the Virgin. The monks of San Francisco de Paula, called Los Minimos, then built a small hermitage on this site. In 1691 the Conde de Buenavista had the small hermitage replaced with the big church one finds there, and this was completed in 1700. It now houses the image of the patron saint of Malaga, the Santa Maria de la Victoria (St. Mary of the Victory). This statue was given to the city by the Catholic Kings after their victory. During Holy Week, there is a lot of activity in this church and is where some processions start from or end there.

The church is one of the most beautiful Baroque churches in Andalusia. It is one of the first churches with a camarin-torre. A camarin is a place behind an altar where the images are dressed and the ornaments kept. A torre is a tower. This tower is filled with plaster decoration painted with gold accents to give an almost rococo effect. One can see the back of the statue of the Virgin here and down into the church.

At the basement of the tower in the little museum is the Pantheon of the Counts of Buenavista. This pantheon is one of the most unique in Spain because it is decorated with white plaster in the form of skeletons over a black background. The skeletons are there to represent death and to make one think about it and prepare for it, which was one of the frequent themes of the Counter Reformation.

The museum also has an overcoat for the Virgin donated by the Malagueña Anita Delgado when she was the Maharani of Kapurtala. This overcoat has many jewels attached to it.

The church has the form of a Latin Cross with two chapels. It is topped with a beautiful cupola. Behind and above the main altar can be seen the beautiful statue of the Virgin Mary that is very much venerated by the Malagueños. The altars are decorated with statues of the saints, done by famous sculptors of the times. One of them of the Virgin is called the Dolorasa, and this was done by Pedro de Mena.

Recently the Pope named this church as a minor basilica, which gives the church more prestige now. To enter the museum and tower, one has to pay a small entrance fee of 2 euros, but it is worth it. The museum is open only in the afternoons.

26. Basilica of La Esperanza (Our Lady of Hope)

This church is located on Calle Hilera, 2, behind the El Corte Ingles and is one of Malaga's most beautiful churches. It was built in 1988 and has one nave, with a semicircular end. The architects of the church were Clemente Rodriguez Grajales and Juan Luis Martin Malave. The inside of the church has arches and the ceiling has murals painted. Outside there are 5 big ceramic murals that were made by the artist Julio Hernandez from Casbermeja, and they depict scenes from the New Testament.

Beside the church is the building of the Hermandad de la Archicofradia de la Esperanza that is used as a museum. This cofradia displays their thrones and statues used for the Holy Week processions. One of the thrones is that of Jesus Nazareno del Dulce Nombre del Paso, designed by the sculptor Francisco Palma Burgos in 1940. The other throne is that of the Virgen de la Esperanza (Our Lady of Hope), created by the sculptor Andres Cabello Requena. This throne is grandest throne used in the processions and the design is Baroque. The statues are kept in the church when not used in the processions. The statue of Jesus Nazareno was the work of Mariano Benlliure from 1940. The statue of the Virgin dates from the 17th century. The building also shows the clothes used to dress the statues for the processions, the gold and silver objects and costumes used in the processions. Incidentally, the throne of Jesus is carried by 215 men during the processions, and the throne of the Virgin is carried by 262 men.

The ceiling is painted with murals by one of the most famous painters from Malaga called Eugenio Chicano. He is a pop painter and his murals are about the life in the Barrio Perchel, and about the personalities of the hermandad. This building is soon going to be made into a museum so that access will be easier for those who want to view the building. To see the museum, one can call 952-612-776 and arrange for a visit. The church is one of the favorite places for people of society to get married because it is such a beautiful church.

27. Sacred Heart Church

The Sacred Heart Church (Sagrado Corazon) is located at the Plaza de San Ignacio, adjacent to Calle Compania and very close to the Plaza de la Constitucion. It is a gorgeous Neo-Gothic church that was built in 1920 for the Jesuits and the architect was Fernando Guerrero Strachan. He was inspired by the cathedrals of Toledo and Burgos. The facade of the church has two towers that end in spires. There is a beautiful rose window in the center. The facade has a light colored surface that is also beautiful.

The ground plan of the church is basilical and the church has three naves. The vault is octagonal and has a large segmented octagonal star filled with stained glass, which is very unusual. The main altar has a Gothic design and was the work of the sculptor Adrian Risueño. There is a sculpture of the Sacred Heart of Jesus by the artist Antonio Maumon, done in 1940. Beside the main altar are two large paintings which represent San Ignacio de Loyola and San Francisco de Borja. The main nave has mosaics that show angels with symbols of the Passion of Christ. The pulpit is Neo-Gothic and has polychromed figures of the saints and was made by Adrian Risueño. The choir is on the second floor at the back of the church and there is an organ behind the choir. On each side of the church, on the second level are arcades where people can stay and hear Mass. Above the arcades are beautiful stained glass windows.

28. The Church of San Pedro

In the Plaza of Enrique Navarro, beside the Post Office, there is the Church of San Pedro. This dates from 1629 and was named a monument in 2005. The person who constructed it was Pedro Diaz de Palacios, who also worked on the Cathedral. The church is simple, with only one nave. The Chapel of the Sagrario was constructed in 1720 and is in the Baroque style. It has paintings of the life of the Virgin Mary, such as the Betrothal, the Annunciation, the Visitation, the Adoration of the Shepherds, the Adoration of the Kings, and the Presentation of Jesus in the Temple. There is a chapel of the Cofradia de la Expiracion which has the wooden statue of Christ Crucified, which was made by the great Spanish sculptor Mariano Benlliure in 1940. Benlliure is acknowledged to have been one of the best Spanish sculptors of the 20th century. There is also a statue of the Virgen de los Dolores, sculpted by Vicente Asensio de la Cerda in the second half of the 18th century. The Cofradia has a building behind the church. Enrique Navarro was the president of the Cofradia de la Expiracion between 1923 and 1981 and made this cofradia one of the most important in the city. There is a bronze bust of him in the plaza.


29. Church of Los Santos Martires

The Church of Los Santos Martires is located at the Plaza de los Martires. This church was one of the four churches ordered built by the Catholic Kings after the conquest of Malaga from the Moors. The church was named as it is because the Kings wanted to honor the Martyrs San Ciriaco and Santa Paula, the saints having been canonized in 305 AD during the early days of Christianity. Today these two saints are the patron saints of Malaga, together with Our Lady of Victory. The day they are honored is on June 18.

Don Diego de Deza was the person who built the church in 1505, although work started in 1491. The original church was in the Gothic-Mudejar style, with pointed arches. The architect of the main chapel and sacristy was Juan Rodriguez. The church has three naves and a big cupola on top of the main chapel. In 1545 the baptismal font was installed, and this was the work of Diego de Portilla. Bartolome Perez constructed the tower, but this was destroyed in an earthquake in 1567. It was reconstructed, but was ruined by 1567. The whole church was remodeled in the 18th century and rededicated in 1777. The church suffered damage in 1854, 1884, and during the Civil War in 1936. The church was restored and inaugurated in 1945. The church has a long history of destruction and reconstruction.

Today the church is a mixture of styles, but the main style now in the decoration is rococo. There is a lot of marble and other stones displayed, and many of the chapels have gilded altars. There are about 11 different chapels, many of them maintained by the cofradias (brotherhoods) that have their base in this church during Holy Week celebrations. Many of the processions originate in this church. The church is very beautiful and has much sculpture and many paintings. The sacristy is especially beautiful with its pastel colors.

One of the side chapels has just been restored and is dedicated to the Virgen de los Remedios, the restoration having been done by one of the cofradias. Every surface has been gilded and the effect is spectacularly beautiful. The statue of the Virgin is also beautifully dressed. There is a small statue of Christ that is polychromed and is on a small table of the altar. This church is an architectural gem and one of the most beautiful in Andalusia.

30. Church of Santiago

The Church of Santiago is at Calle Granada, 78, and was built on the site of a former mosque. It is Malaga's oldest church, having been founded on 1490. Of the original façade only the Mudejar style central entrance remains (boarded up). The beautiful tower is Mudejar and has a square form. The interior of the temple was originally Gothic-Mudejar and has three naves. In the 17th century, the church was remodeled by the architect Felipe de Unzurrunzaga, who gave the church a Baroque look. The church suffered damage during the Spanish Civil War and was restored in 1944 by the architect Enrique Atencia.

The cupola above the main altar is decorated with elaborate plaster forms, with gold decorations. The whole ceiling has the elaborate plaster forms, giving the church the Baroque look. The main altar has a big statue of Santiago (St. James). There are several side chapels with very good sculptures. Near the entrance on the right side is a baptismal font in marble from the 16th century and this was were Picasso was christened in 1881.

31. Chapel of Calle Agua

At the corner of Calle Agua and Calle Victoria, there is a little chapel called the Capilla de Calle Agua. The chapel is very small and honors Nuestro Padre Jesús del Rescate and María Santísima de Gracia. Both statues are beautiful. The chapel was inaugurated in 1800 and was constructed by José Miranda. The style of the chapel is Baroque and the floor plan is an irregular polygon, with a semi-spherical vaulted ceiling that has plaster decorations. The statues were the work of the sculptor from Seville Castillo Lastrucci and are of polychromed wood that were made in the 1950's. The original statues were lost in the Civil War. These statues are used in the Holy Week processions. The chapel was restored in 1897,1938, 1981, and 2002. In 2009 the chapel was declared a Site of Cultural Interest.

32. Church of Santo Domingo

The Church of Santo Domingo is located by the Guadalmedina River and was declared a monument in 1998. It used to be part of the old convent of the Dominicans, which is no longer in existence. The convent was constructed in 1489 by the Catholic Kings. The church was constructed in the 16th century with a Gothic-Mudejar style. There were inundations by the river in 1628 and 1661 that greatly damaged the church, so it was reconstructed using the Baroque style, and the church was finished in 1729. In 1931 the church was destroyed by a fire. The church was reconstructed in 1950 by the architect Enrique Atencia Molina.

The floor plan of the church is basilical, with three naves separated by arches. The walls of the church are decorated with large paintings that are copies of those done by Murillo. The paintings are the Annunciation and the Multiplication of the Bread and Fish. These copies were done by Ernesto Wilson Plata in 1958.

One important chapel is the Capilla de la Pontificia Congregacion del Cristo de la Buena Muerte y Animas y Nuestra Señora de la Soledad. Beside the church is the Cofradia de Mena, one of the most important cofradias of Malaga. Another chapel contains the statue of the Dulce Nombre de Jesus Nazareno del Paso, created by the famous sculptor from Valencia Mariano Benlliure.

33. Church of San Agustin

The Church of San Agustin is located on Calle San Agustin, and is beside the Picasso Museum. The church dates from the 17th century, has a classic Baroque facade, and has three naves. The last restoration of the church occurred in 1933 and 2003. There are five simple side altars on the naves on the side. This church is not particularly large, but it has a tranquil beauty. The main nave is adorned with Corinthian pilasters which make the church look very attractive. There is a cupola over the main altar. The main altar is quite simple and has a lot of red marble construction and Corinthian columns. The altar table is made of agate. This was designed by the architect Jose Martin de Aldehuela in 1798 and made by Antonio Vilchez. On top of the altar there is a big sculpture of San Agustin, constructed after the Civil War by the artist Padre Felix Granda Buylla. The pulpit is made of red marble. There is a choir on the second floor balcony at the entrance to the church. The crypt below the main altar contains the tombs of the Heredia and Larios Families, who were prominent in Malaga's history in the 19th century. Beside the main altar is the painting of San Juan de Dios, by the artist Niño de Guevara. There is a statue of the Virgen de las Angustias y Soledad that was created by Fernando Ortiz. This is one of Malaga's most beautiful churches.


34. Teatro Cervantes

The Cervantes Theater is the municipal theater located on Calle Zorrilla, and it was constructed in 1870 by the architect Jeronimo Cuervo. It is the largest theater in Malaga today. The inside of the theater has four floors that overlook the stage, which followed the European model for theaters of the 18th century. Jeronimo Cuervo designed most of the interior of the theater, but the seats were designed by the architect Fernando Guerrero Strachan. The most interesting feature of the theater is the ceiling that was painted by Bernardo Ferrandiz and Muñoz Degrain. It is an allegorical representation of the city featuring its industry, commerce and its port.

The facade of the theater has a classical design and is decorated with Corinthian columns and pilasters. There has been a recent addition to the theater on its side, which now contain the administrative offices and a salon for temporary art exhibitions. The addition was designed by the architect Jose Segui. The theater is the site of the yearly Malaga Film Festival. It also is the place where theater, flamenco, and musical spectacles take place.

35. Antigua Casa de Guardia

The Antigua Casa de Guardia is the oldest tavern in Malaga, and it was founded in 1840. One can try many different wines from Malaga, many which are stored in oak casks in the tavern. There is a very long bar, without chairs, where one stands while trying the wine. The atmosphere is that of the 19th century. This tavern has received the award "Empresa Emblematica", meaning emblematic business.

The wine company and tavern were founded by Jose de la Guardia in 1840. In 1862 Queen Isabel II visited Malaga and went to the tavern. Jose de la Guardia named a wine after her, the "Moscatel Isabel II". She was so impressed by the wines and the owner that she appointed him Governor of Segovia in 1865. He sold the property to Enrique Navarro Ortiz, who in turn left the business to the brothers Jose Ruiz Luque and Antonio Ruiz Luque. Later they passed on the business to their nephew Jose Garijo Ruiz in 1932. Later his oldest son Jose Garijo Alba took over the business and expanded it. The business is still in the family today and produces quality wines. The tavern at the Alameda Principal is a must stop for tourists. A glass of wine ranges from 0.90€to 1.20€.

36. El Pimpi

The famous tapas bar El Pimpi is located at Calle Granada, 62. This is a historic bar and is decorated with big posters of bullfights and Malaga scenes. At one corner of the restaurant is a collection of wine barrels and each one is signed by celebrities, such as the Duchess of Alba, Paloma Picasso, and Antonio Banderas.

37. Plaza de la Marina

Plaza de la Marina is a large plaza at the foot of Calle Larios and at the beginning of the Alameda Principal, adjacent to the Malaga park. It contains the main city tourist office where tourists can get information about the city. There is a large fountain in the square and underground parking. Many times the open spaces of the plaza are occupied by temporary exhibits.

There are three buildings on the plaza, with Nos. 1, 2, and 3. These buildings were designed by the same architect Juan Jauregui Briales, so they have a similar look with historic elements, which makes them look good. The building at No. 1 was completed in 1952 and is a private apartment building, with offices of the Barclays Bank on the ground floor.

The building at No. 2 was finished in 1955 and was acquired by the bank Caja de Ahorros de Ronda, and now is the home of the Unicaja Bank. Inside the bank one can find plenty of marble columns and stained glass windows on the wall that depict the cities of Melilla, Malaga, Ciudad Real, Cadiz, and Jaen. There is a beautiful translucent cupola above. There are also beautiful sculptures by the walls and chandeliers on the ceiling. One should enter the bank to see the beautiful interior. Near the top of the facade of the building is a stone sculpture of the Sagrada Familia (Holy Family) done by the sculptor Adrian Risueño. There are two other sculptures, one on each side. he building at No. 3 was finished in 1960 and is occupied by the Diputacion Provincial, a government office.

Between the plaza and the port is the bronze statue of El Cenachero. A cenachero is a fisherman who sells fish on the streets from two flat baskets made of straw. The sculptor was Jaime Pimentel, and the statue was finished in 1968 to adorn the park.

38. The Malaga Fair

The fair of Malaga starts on the second week of August, during the hottest part of the year. It starts on a Friday and lasts for 10 days, being one of the longest fairs in Spain. There are more than a million visitors, mostly from Spain, coming to the fair every year and these visitors spend a lot of money. So the fair is very big business here, since it is probably the biggest in Europe. All the hotels are full and if one wants to see the fair, one has to reserve a hotel room months in advance. There are musical spectacles for every day of the fair downtown and in the fairgrounds, which are about 4 kilometers from downtown.

On the first Friday, the fair starts with fireworks at the beach. The area is packed with people and one can hardly move. Then the fireworks start and many times the embers of the fireworks fall on the people, but nobody cares. The streets all have special lights and there are temporary kiosks to sell food and drinks. What people love to do most here during the fair is to eat, drink, and have a good time. All of this during the hottest part of the year!

The next day there is a parade downtown. One should go early to the park to see preparations for the parade. One sees many people dressed in costume, and this is delightful. The women wear Gypsy dresses (like the ones used for dancing the flamenco), with many tiers and flounces. The men wear white shirts, black or gray pants, and a black bolero vest. Most are on horseback and one can see beautiful horses. The people with horses usually have ranches and are well off. These people like to parade in their costumes on their horses in the park. One can see beautiful women dressed in gypsy dresses on carriages. Each of these dresses may cost more than 1000 euros, and those who can afford it have one dress for each day of the week. For the first time visitor, this is really a spectacle. So the people parade up and down the streets downtown, and later go to the Church of La Victoria. The parade is an opportunity to see some of the most beautiful women in Malaga, a city famous for its beautiful women.

People dance the Sevillanas on the streets, especially on Calle Larios. On top of Calle Larios, there are transparent tarps to break the force of the sun and give some relief from the heat. People have a small glass that is hung from the neck with a leather thong, and they go into the cafeterias to drink fino (dry sherry, which is very strong), using these special tumblers they have around their neck. Then they go back to the street and dance some more. There are many groups that sing flamenco or Sevillanas. Al this time spectators are eating tapas.

Everyday downtown there are special performances of dances or choral groups, so one is never bored. And all of this is free. During the fair, businesses are open only in the mornings. Many take all 10 days of the fair as vacation.

At night the people go to the fairgrounds at the Cortijo Torres, where there must be a million lights. On the Alameda Principal, there are special buses that bring one to the fairgrounds. The streets at the fairgrounds are lined with casetas, big kiosks where people can eat, drink, and dance. One goes up and down the streets at the fairgrounds to see the different casetas, the lights, and the fountains. There is also an auditorium where famous national singers perform for the public. This goes on all night until early morning. And people go every single night! And all of this is done in the most intense heat of summer!

The ones who suffer most are the women in Gypsy costume. This costume has many tiers and many layers of underskirts. One can imagine what they suffer from the heat with so much clothing on! But that is the tradition, and traditions in Malaga are forever.

While the majority of fair goers are Spanish, there are some very lucky foreign tourists who do come. They are the lucky ones, because they participate in an event that they do not see in their own countries. Every visitor to Malaga should come at least once in his lifetime and see this fair!

The photos are of a shop that sells the Gypsy dresses that women use during the fair.


39. Alameda Principal

The Alameda Principal is the main street in Malaga and runs from the Plaza de la Marina to the Tetuan Bridge. In 1786, King Carlos III gave permission to remove the old city walls that surrounded the city. Space became available and after that the street was constructed and became the favorite place for the rich to build their palaces. In 1895 the street was remodeled and in 1925 it was opened to traffic, giving its present appearance. The street is lined with huge ficus trees, many which are more than a hundred years old. The trees are decorated with many small lights during Christmas, making the city a magical wonderland. The street is where most of the city buses stop and is used for the Holy Week processions. There are about a dozen flower stands, and these constitute the flower market of the city.

40. The English Cemetery

The English Cemetery is located at Avenida de Pries, 1. Why is there an English Cemetery in Malaga? William Mark was the British Consul in Malaga between 1824 and 1836. At that time Spain was a very Catholic country and it was prohibited for any Protestant to be buried in any Catholic cemetery or churchyard. Protestants had to be buried at the seashore at night during low time, upright, and looking at the sea. Many times the tide would wash up the bodies onto the shore and dogs would tear them up or the sea would wash them offshore. This was a very cruel and barbaric custom.

William Mark applied diplomatic pressure on the Spanish king and finally in 1830 King Fernando VII allowed the establishment of Protestant cemeteries in Spain in towns where there were British Consuls. Mark obtained local permission to acquire land for a small cemetery about a mile from the center of town, and this is where the English Cemetery is now located.

In 1840 a small chapel was built in the cemetery. This was enlarged in 1891 and is now St. George’s Anglican Church. This church has beautiful Doric columns. In 1856 a Gothic style gatehouse was built and used as the home of the cemetery gardener. In 2005 this building was remodeled into a gift shop for the church and is manned by volunteers from the church.

Hans Christian Andersen visited Malaga in 1862 and visited the English Cemetery. This became his favorite spot in the city. Among the famous people who are buried in the cemetery are William Mark. So is the writer Gerald Brenan of Bloomsbury fame. He came to Andalusia and fell in love with it and lived for a long time here in Churriana. There are some Spanish non-Catholics buried also, such as the writer Jorge Guillen, known for being a member of the Generation of 27. His wife is also buried here.

In 1900 the Gneisenau, a German Imperial Navy ship sank in the port of Malaga during a fierce storm. Many people from Malaga risked their lives to save many survivors. The German government later donated money for the German Bridge (Puente de los Alemanes) across the Guadalmedina River. Those who died are in a common grave in the English Cemetery and there is a monument to them.

The city no longer allows burials of people unless they have been cremated beforehand. The gift shop has a diagram showing where the famous people have been buried.


41. El Corte Ingles

The only department store in Malaga is the El Corte Ingles, which is part of a nationwide chain of stores. Its location is Avenida de Andalucia, 4. This store is known for its quality goods. There is a very good supermarket in the basement and beside it is the gourmet store, which has very good food specialties and wine. Across the street on Calle Hilera is the El Corte Ingles Hogar, the home store. Both stores are connected by an underground passageway.

42. Plaza de Uncibay Sculpture

The Plaza de Uncibay has a bronze sculpture called the Rape of the Sabines (Rapto de la Sabinas). The modern sculpture was created by Jose Seguiri in 1989.

43. Monument to Father Arnaiz

The bronze statue of Father Arnaiz is located at the corner of Calle Armengual de la Mota and the Avenida de Andalucia, right beside El Corte Ingles. The monument was inaugurated on May 13, 2005, and the money for it came by public subscription. The sculptor was Jose Antonio Rodriguez Muñoz and the architect was Fernando Soler Romero. Father Arnaiz was one of the most loved priests who lived in Malaga and was known as the apostle to the poor.

Tiburcio Arnaiz Muñoz was born in Valladolid on Aug. 11, 1865. His father was a weaver and he died when Tiburcio was five years old. He entered the seminary when he was young and was ordained as a priest in 1890 and obtained his doctorate in theology in 1896. He joined the Jesuit order in Granada in 1902. In 1912 he was assigned to Malaga. In Malaga he taught the poor in the Barrio of Perchel and taught them religion. He was a tireless man and became famous for his saintly behavior. On July 18, 1926, he died of pneumonia and the whole city went to his funeral and wept for him. He is buried in the Sacred Heart Church and there are thousands of pilgrims who visit his tomb. Many miracles have been ascribed to him.

44. La Farola

La Farola is the lighthouse in Malaga port. It was constructed in 1817 by Joaquin Maria Pery y Guzman. At that time it was located at the end of the port. It became a symbol of the city of Malaga and is located at the end of the Paseo de La Farola. During the Civil War, it was damaged and had to be reconstructed in 1939. The port has been expanded recently with Pier No. 2 and the lighthouse is no longer at the end of the port, so a new lighthouse will be built to be at the very end of the new port. La Farola will be used as the Museum of the Port of Malaga.

45. Vialia (Maria Zambrano Station)

Vialia is located at Calle de la Explanada de la Estación, s/n. Vialia is the transportation interchange in Malaga, where one can find the Renfe station for both the AVE and the Cercanias trains. There is a bus station and the future metro will pass through the station also. The train station is called Maria Zambrano Station, after a famous female writer and philosopher from Velez-Malaga who was born in 1904. There is a large taxi stand at the entrance. It was inaugurated on Nov. 27, 2006, and was the biggest transportation interchange in Spain at that time. Vialia is 9.5 km away from the airport, 1.3 km away from Plaza de la Marina and Calle Larios (downtown), and is 3.8 km away from the new cruise terminal in the port. There are several car rental agencies there, as well as the Barcelo Malaga Hotel. Besides that there is a large shopping mall, about a dozen restaurants, thirteen Movie theaters, and parking for 1300 cars.

46. La Equitativa

One of the most famous buildings downtown is called La Equitativa, and is the tall building beside the Plaza de la Marina. It is named after the insurance company that built it in 1956. It is thirteen stories tall and the facade has minimal decoration. It is topped with a small tower of two stories that are octagonal in shape. On top of this is a decoration of a thin needle that has three small spheres that look like eggs. The small tower was supposed to look like something Moorish. When the building was constructed, the Malagueños immediately nicknamed it the "Gallina Papanatas", from a song about a chicken that laid three eggs.

47. The  Horse Carriage

Malaga Park has many horse carriages that carry passengers at a slow pace around the park, the Farola, the Malagueta Beach, the Alcazaba, and the Cathedral. One ride for 4 or 5 people costs 30 euros. The slow pace allows one to enjoy the scenery completely.

48. Puente de Tetuan

Tetuan Bridge is a concrete bridge that crosses the Guadalmedina River and its construction was finished in April, 1971. It joins the Alameda Principal with the Avenida de Andalucia. On the side of the Avenida de Andalucia are two buildings that are well known. One is the Correos building, which was the main post office, now closed. This building will be used for other purposes now. Across it is the Hacienda building, which is where people pay taxes. The sides of the bridge are adorned with flowers, making a very pretty scene. The Guadalmedina River is usually dry, but during heavy rains in winter there is a strong flow of water.

49. Jardines de Picasso

The Picasso Gardens are located where the Avenida de Andalucia meets the Puente de las Americas. The park has 15,000 square meters and is planted with flowers and a wide variety of trees. The park contains the Monument to Picasso, which is a huge bronze sculpture that was created by the sculptor Miguel Ortiz Berrocal in 1976. This modern sculpture is supposed to represent a woman lying down and taking the sun of Malaga. Across the Avenida de la Aurora is the famous Black Building (as Malagueños call it), which is a government office run by the Junta de Andalucia.

50. Calle Nueva

Calle Nueva is a pedestrian street that is parallel to Calle Larios and runs between the Plaza of Felix Saenz and the Plaza de la Constitucion. This street is one of the main shopping streets of Malaga and is full of stores. It has a famous ice cream parlor called Casa Mira. Most of the stores sell clothing, shoes, perfume, and tourist items, such as fans and shawls.

51. Plaza de las Flores

Plaza de las Flores is a square very close to Calle Larios. It is easy to miss, but it is a very charming square. The floor of the square is new and there are many orange trees there. One can sit outdoors at the many restaurants and tapas bars. Near one corner is a fountain that is very different and is a surprise.

52. Castle of Gibralfaro

The Arab word Yabal means hill and the Greek word Faruh means lighthouse. The name Gibralfaro means lighthouse hill. The hill that overlooks Malaga has a castle with the name of Gibralfaro. In 1296 Malaga belonged to the Nazari Dynasty of Granada. Yusuf I reigned between 1333 and 1354 and he was the one who had the Castle of Gibralfaro built. The castle was used as a military base until 1925.

There is a walled passageway that connects the Alcazaba with the Gibralfaro Castle. This is called the coracha terrestre. The castle has deteriorated over the years and today one finds only the walls. There is a large tower called the Torre Blanca. There is also the Airon Well that is 40 meters deep and is carved out of the rock. Other things found in the castle are several tanks to store the water from the well, two bread ovens and the Interpretation Center in the former gunpowder arsenal. This little museum shows arms, uniforms and objects used in everyday life, and information about how the castle was used over the ages. The castle was used for military uses for 483 years.

The castle has a wonderful view of the city of Malaga below. To go there by bus, take the No. 35 bus that leaves from the park (3rd stop from the Plaza de la Marina, starting at 11 a.m.) and the Alameda Principal.

53. Parador of Gibralfaro

The parador is located just below the Castle of Gibralfaro and the parador has marvelous views of the city below. There is a porch where one can go around sunset and have tapas and cava and enjoy life.

54. Salamanca Market

The Salamanca Market is located at Calle San Bartolome, 1. The market building is made of metal, with a facade made of brick, and with a Neo-Mudejar style. The wrought iron gates have a modernist design. It was constructed in 1925 by the architect Daniel Rubio Sanchez. The market is small, with only about 50 stores. The facade calls attention with its style.

55. Tribuna de los Pobres

The Tribuna de los Pobres (grandstand of the poor) is located where Calle Carreteria meets Puente de la Aurora. There are stairs to go up to the bridge. During the Holy Week processions, most of the processions pass this point and the more humble view the processions on these steps. If one goes to the grandstands on Calle Larios, seats cost a lot of money, while these steps are free.

56. Plaza de San Francisco

The Plaza de San Francisco is a small plaza located near the Calle Marques de Valdecañas. It has the Fuente de Pomona, a fountain dedicated to the figure of Pomona. In Roman mythology, Pomona was the goddess of fruit trees, gardens, and orchards. The sculptor of this marble statue was Juan Bautista Bado, who made it in 1864.

57. Sala Maria Cristina

The Sala Maria Cristina is located at Calle Marques de Valdecañas, 2. The Sala Maria Cristina (Maria Cristina Hall) is one of the architectural and musical treasures of Malaga, one of the hidden treasures, because few people have seen it. In 1489 the building was constructed as the Convento San Luis El Real, a Franciscan convent. In the 1836 Spain passed the a law to expropriate all church property, so the convent was expropriated and stopped functioning as a convent. Later it became the Malaga Lyceum in the middle of the 19th century and concerts were given in it by the Classical Concert Society. Eduardo Ocon Rivas created the Real Conservatory Maria Cristina, which was the forerunner of the present-day Malaga Philharmonic. The site became the School of Music and Declamation until 1971, when it was transferred to the nearby El Ejido campus of the University of Malaga. The building fell into ruin until it was rescued in 1975 by the Unicaja Bank. The building was restored and reopened in 2009 as a music hall. The music hall is recognized to be one of the buildings with the best acoustics in Andalusia. There are now nine music rooms where professors give advanced music classes.

The building has a Mudejar style convent tower. There is a surface plan of the building with 2322 square meters. The Salon Mudejar has one of the most beautiful Mudejar ceilings, which have plenty of color. The original ceiling was cleaned and the vivid colors reappeared. Most Mudejar ceilings are devoid of color, so this is one of the unique ceilings in all of Spain. The concert hall was the central nave of the convent church.

The Hall of Mirrors is the anteroom to the concert hall and is filled with Venetian mirrors with incredibly beautiful gilded frames. During the big earthquake in Portugal in 1755, the mirrors cracked. An unknown artist then painted flowers on the mirrors, that now hide the cracks. The ceiling murals were created by Jose Denis Belgrano, Martinez de la Vega, and Jose Nogales.

The most famous of these artists is Jose Denis Belgrano. He has a special Sala Denis Belgrano, which contains more of his murals and paintings. He was born in Malaga in 1844 and died in 1917. When he was young, the Marques de Guadiaro, Carlos Larios, gave him a scholarship for two years to study in Rome in 1862. He returned to Malaga and became a student of Bernardo Ferrandiz. In 1875 he returned to Rome for two years. In 1887 he became a professor in the School of Fine Arts in Malaga. His style has been likened to the style of Fortuny, the great 19th century Spanish painter.

58. Antigua Biblioteca de Mujeres

There is a corner of the Malaga Park which is quite hidden and is close to the Malaga Palacio Hotel. There is a little place where children play and at one corner there is a ceramic bench. The ceramic bench was created by the architect Guerrero Strachan in 1929 and was called the Biblioteca de Mujeres (Women's Library). There is a pedestal on either side of the bench which has a ceramic face that shows two shelves full of books. The books have Spanish authors such as Miguel de Cervantes, Perez Galdos, Blasco Ibañez, and Calderon de la Barca. The story is that when the bench was created in 1929, the City Hall would put books on the bench so that the mothers who brought their children to play there could read the books in the meantime. They could bring the books home and return the books another day. Thus many women who were poor were able to educate themselves reading the books. The years passed and the bench became old and worn out. So in 1997 the famous Malaga ceramicist Amparo Ruiz de Luna was asked to make a new ceramic bench, which is the bench that is now in this spot. The ceramic tile copies designs of old tiles from Seville. The custom of leaving books there stopped a long time ago when vandals would destroyed them. Now the bench is called the Antigua Biblioteca de Mujeres (Old Women's Library).

59. Gaudi Building

Located at Avenida de Andalucia, 19, is a building whose facade looks like the work of Gaudi, the famous Catalan architect. The name of the building is Edificio Gaudi (Gaudi Building), but the architect was not Gaudi. He was probably an admirer of Gaudi. The facade has the curves similar to curves used by Gaudi in his Barcelona buildings. The apartments inside this building do not have any rooms that are rectangular in shape, because the rooms have curved floor plans. The building was probably built in the 1970s or 1980s.

60. Antigua Casa del Jardinero Mayor (Old House of the Principal Gardener)

The Antigua Casa del Jardinero Mayor is located at Avenida de Cervantes, 1. It looks like a very small palace with a classic design. The architect was Manuel Rivera Vera and it was constructed in 1911. The floor plan is that of a cross and it actually has three floors. Apparently when the park was constructed, this was the house where the gardener stayed and his office. Beside the building are two centenary trees that were planted when the park was created.

61. Monument to Manuel Agustin Heredia

The monument to Manuel Agustin Heredia is located at the corner of Alameda de Colon and Avenida Manuel Agustin Heredia. The sculpture shows the man sitting on a chair in a classic pose. The sculptor was Jose Vilches and it was done in the second half of the 19th century. The figure sits on a stone base which has reliefs alluding to commerce and industry of the city. Heredia lived from 1786 to 1846 and he was the person who started the industrialization of Malaga in the early 19th century. Malaga became the first city in Spain to industrialize because of Heredia, and he made Malaga one of the richest cities of the country. One of his businesses was an iron works factory in Marbella and another was dried fruits and wines. By 1840 he was the most prominent entrepreneur of Spain and one of the richest men. He started the Banco de Malaga and the Banco de Isabel II. He owned 18 ships used for trade with the Americas. Before he died, he was named a senator.

Heredia employed many Gypsies in his iron works. He had to send many of them to England to work in his enterprise there, but none of these Gypsies had papers. So he gave all of them his last name, which was very unusual for that time. The descendants of those men are all called Heredia, and that is why many Gypsies in Spain still have that last name.

62. Automobile Museum of Malaga

(Museo Automovilistico de Malaga)


Avenida Sor Teresa Prat, 15

(Old Tabacalera Building)


Transportation: Take Bus No. 16 from the Alameda Principal. The bus leaves one at a bus stop in front of the Tabacalera. Tell the bus driver you want to get off at Tabacalera.


Tuesday to Sunday: 10:00 to 19:00H.

Dec. 24 and 31: 10:00 to 15:00H.

Closed Monday, Dec. 25, and Jan. 1.

The old Tobacco factory called Tabacalera dates from 1927. It has not been used in years. Now it contains the Automobile Museum of Malaga, which has 85 vintage cars on exhibition in a space of 6000 square meters. They are displayed in thematic groups by the years they were produced. These groups are the Belle Epoque, The 20's, Art Deco, La Dolce Vita, Dream Cars, Eccentricity, Popular Cars, English Tradition, Alternative Energies, and Tuning. Another collection called the Motor Gallery has the engine as a work of art. There is also a collection of 300 fashion hats from the past in the collection called From Balenciaga to Schiaparelli.

The owner of the cars is Joao Manuel Magalhaes, who is from Oporto, Portugal. His father started the collection and Joao continues collecting. He offered Portugal the opportunity to fund a museum for the collection, but that government was not interested. So Magalhaes decided to bring the collection to Spain. He approached the Ministry of Culture and made his proposal. The Ministry of Culture sent solicitations to the major cities of Spain and Malaga was the first city to offer to build the museum. The Mayor of Malaga and all his councilors went to Portugal to see the collection and talk to Magalhaes, and they came to an agreement in 2007. The City of Malaga has spent 9 million euros in building the museum in the Tabacalera building. The collection of cars is worth around 25 million euros and is one of the most important collections of vintage cars in the world.

The museum shows the cars as works of art. The car in the 20th century has been the symbol of aristocrats and artists have embellished cars with their ideas of beauty. There is a Unic from 1920 with the design of Sonia Delaunay. Another car is a Rolls Royce from 1966 that is called the Flower Power, because of its painted design reflecting the psychedelic art of that time. Another Rolls Royce from 1985 is called the Swarovsky because it is decorated with crystals from that company. There is an Excalibur USA, an extravagant car made famous by owners such as Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sylvester Stallone. There are cars that have historic value, such as a Mercedes 540K which was used by Heinrich Himmler. Another car is a Lancia Italia, used by Mussolini for parades. This museum really shows its cars as works of art.

63. Museo Revello de Toro

Calle Afligidos, 5 (Very close to the Cathedral and Calle del Cister)

Tel: 952-062-069



Winter (Oct. 1 to March 31)

Tuesday to Saturday: 10 to 14H, 16 to 19H.

Sundays and holidays: 10 to 14H.

Summer (April 1 to Sept. 30)

Tuesday to Saturday: 10 to 14H, 17 to 20H.

Sundays and holidays: 10 to 14H.

Closed: Mondays, Dec. 25, Jan. 1, afternoons of Dec. 24 and 31.

The Museo Revello de Toro was inaugurated on Nov. 27, 2010. Felix Revello de Toro was born in Malaga on June 11, 1926. He started painting when he was 13 years old. The City Hall of Malaga helped him study at the Bellas Artes de San Fernando in Madrid. He became a university professor for 17 years in Barcelona, and then decided to dedicate himself solely to painting. He became one of the best portrait painters in Spain, and in 1991 he was asked to paint the official portraits of the King and Queen of Spain.

Among the honors he has received are the honor of the Real Academia de Bellas Arte de San Telmo, the Gold Medal of Malaga, the Medal of Honor of the Real Academia de Bellas Artes of Santa Isabel of Hungary, and he was named the Malagueño of the Year for 1988 and Favorite Son of Malaga in 1995. In 2001 a street in Malaga was named after him, and in 2002 he received the Medal of Andalusia. Felix Revello de Toro donated 110 works of art to his museum, 51 of them being oil paintings. Other media he has used are the pencil and water color. He is known for his paintings of women and one can see that he has loved women all his life.

In front of the museum is the sculpture of Pedro de Mena, created by the Malaga artist Virgilio Galan Sanchez. It turns out that this historic building was the house and workshop of this famous 17th century artist. Pedro de Mena y Medrano was born in Adra in Almeria in 1628 and he died in Malaga in 1688. Pedro de Mena was a Spanish sculptor, the son of Alonso de Mena. He studied his art with his father and Alonso Cano, who was his more influential teacher. He became successful with his first works, which were the statues of St. Joseph, St. Anthony de Padua, St. Diego, and Santa Clara in the Church of El Angel in Granada. After that he worked on the choir stalls of the Cathedral of Malaga for four years. The choir has stalls with carved wooden statues of saints and other figures, which number 42. The statues are of such beauty and individuality that they are considered among the most important works of all Spanish sculpture.

His art is classified as late Baroque. He created an outstanding collection of life-size sculptures in wood that are in major cathedrals and museums in Spain. He made effigies of royalty, saints, and madonnas that were highly realistic and vividly emotional. His technical skill was unsurpassed in Spain. In 1658 Mena moved to Malaga permanently. He made a trip to Madrid in 1662 where he met many influential patrons who gave him plenty of work to last him a lifetime. Mena made the polychrome marble figures of Ferdinand of Aragon and Queen Isabella at prayer for the Granada Cathedral in 1677. Other famous sculptures were La Magdalena, La Dolorosa and Ecce Homo. He had three daughters, who all became sculptresses also. The museum has a good video that explains the life of this artist. Unfortunately, none of his work is exhibited here.

The Museum of Sacred Art in the Cistercian Abbey of Santa Ana (Calle Cister, 13) exhibits works of Pedro de Mena and his daughters.

64. Holy Week Museum

Calle Muro de San Julian, 2

Tel: 952-210-400



Tuesday to Friday: 10:00-14:00H, 16:00-18:00H.

Saturday: 10:00-15:00H.

The Holy Week Museum (Museo de la Semana Santa) is dedicated to the processions that occur in Malaga during Holy Week. This is the first museum of its kind in Andalusia. Malaga is known for its Holy Week processions and is one of the few cities in Spain where all the thrones are carried on the shoulders of men and women. Other cities use thrones that are on wheels, and these are pushed by men under the thrones, which of course is much easier that carrying the thrones on the shoulders of men. It should also be noted that Malaga has the largest thrones in Spain, many of them having to be carried by at least 300 men and women.

The first Holy Week processions in Malaga took place 500 years ago, in the 16th century. The processions were a popular expression of the Christian faith by the people who took part in them, and they still are today, an outpouring of religious emotions by the people who take part in them and by the spectators. The cofradias (brotherhoods) were the organizations that organized the processions. Today there are 42 cofradias in Malaga and they all cooperated in opening the museum as a group.

The Hospital of San Julian is the name of the historic building that houses the museum. It was constructed in 1683 by the Brotherhood of the Santa Caridad. There is a beautiful Andalusian patio near the entrance to the museum, and incense is burned in it to give the museum the proper ambiance, because incense is burned during the processions, each brotherhood burning a different type of incense. There is a small marble fountain in the middle of the patio, and this is topped with a cross.

Incorporated in the museum is the Church of San Julian, also built in 1699. This is a beautiful church of one nave, with plenty of light. There is a wonderful gilded main altarpiece, with recent paintings by the artist Francisco Hernandez, of Velez-Malaga. There are 17 paintings by Juan Niño de Guevara (1632-1698), many of them in a large format. Beside the door to the church is one of a Crucified Christ that takes the breath away. Juan Niño de Guevara was a disciple of Alonso Cano and is considered the most eminent Baroque painter of Malaga. This church can be considered as his museum because of all of the works of art he painted in it. There is a beautiful image of the Reina de los Cielos at the back of the church. Just outside the church is a painting of the Venerable Miguel de Mañana, painted by Juan Valdes Leal.

The themes explained in the museum are the origin and evaluation of the brotherhoods, the processional routes, the processional image, the making of the images, the dressing of the images, the sculpture and the music. One will find many sculptures, costumes, gold and silverware used in the processions, and a large silver throne that was dismantled to bring it to the second floor of the museum. There is also a large audio visual room where 66 persons can sit and watch videos of the processions. This museum is a wonderful museum to see and experience. All explanations in the museum are both in Spanish and English.


65.  Museo Carmen Thyssen Malaga 


The Palacio de Villalon (Calle Compañia, 10) dates from the 16th century and was occupied by the Fernandez de Villalon Family. A source says that Fernandez de Villalon was a conquistador. This palace was renovated to house the new museum and the museum was inaugurated on March 24, 2011. The museum occupies a space of 7147 square meters, of which 5185 square meters will be used for displays, and the rest will be used for administrative purposes. The building has five stories. There is a beautiful Renaissance patio near the entrance that has galleries in two stories. The color used in the museum is a very light beige, used on the floor and the walls, and this shows off the paintings marvelously. The museum is very close to the Plaza de la Constitucion, in the historic center of Malaga. 

 The new museum has a permanent collection of 230 paintings belonging to the Baronesa Carmen Thyssen, also known in Spain as Carmen Cervera. Most of these paintings show art created in the 19th  century, and could be called Romantic art.  Of the 230 paintings, there are 133 paintings that belong to the Andalusia Collection, because they have themes of Andalusia, such as Andalusian patios, the Andalusian countryside, flamenco dancers, bull fights, toreros, and beautiful Andalusian women in traditional dress, and these were created mainly by Andalusian artists. Many of these paintings have never been shown in museums before and this is the biggest collection in the world with this theme. The identity of this museum will be closely tied to this theme.  

There are five paintings by Joaquin Sorolla. One of the most beautiful paintings is his Patio de la Casa Sorolla, which shows the patio in his house in Madrid.



The aim of the Baronesa Carmen Thyssen is to popularize 19th century Spanish paintings, which are not very well known in Spain or the world. Her collection has popular paintings, and no official paintings of history. These paintings were eclipsed in the past by paintings from the previous era, such as those of Goya, and paintings from the succeeding era, such as those of Picasso. 



It is expected that this museum will get temporary exhibitions after they are shown in the Thyssen Museum in Madrid.




This is the facade of the museum.




There is a beautiful Renaissance patio in the museum.










66. Church of San Juan

The Church of San Juan is located in Calle San Juan, and was one of the four churches founded by the Catholic Kings after their conquest of Malaga. The year of its founding is probably 1487, and the church architecture was Gothic, with one nave, with Mudejar elements, and its tower was finished in 1543. In 1554 the Bishop Bernardo Manrique had the architect Diego de Vergara remodel the church. The main nave was made bigger and a second nave was added. A third nave was added in 1620. At that time the main chapel was added, designed by Pedro Diaz de Palacios. . Another renovation of the church was made in 1760.  

An earthquake destroyed the tower in 1680. This was restored in 1732, 1764 and 1776.The tower now has three parts. The central part has a date of 1770 and this date is fixed to the façade of the tower. The balcony of the tower is decorated with the Cross of St. John of Malta, because there were many men from Malta living in Malaga in the second half of the 18th century. The tower was remodeled in 1907.

The main façade of the church is decorated with red diamonds and yellow and grey colors, that was the style in the 18th century. The main chapel with 19th century decoration was restored in 1962. The main altarpiece was the work of Miguel Garcia Navas, and in the center is the sculpture of Christ of the True Cross, dated to 1505. There is an important baptismal font in red marble and with an agate base that dates from the 18th century. Here the most prominent persons of Malaga baptized their children.

The lateral naves were decorated in 1740, with chapels built in different eras, most of them of Baroque decoration. One of the side chapels is sponsored by the Fusionadas Cofradia and contains the image of the Virgen de Lagrimas y Favores, a modern sculpture by Dube de Luque.  Another chapel has the Cristo de Animas de Ciegos with a beautiful crucifix in polychromed wood created by Pedro de Zayas in 1649.