San Esteban Church

 

San Esteban Church is located at Calle Medinaceli, 2. The church was built over an old mezquita and made a church by King Fernando in 1249. The actual church dates to the end of the 14th century and was remodeled in the 15th, 17th, and 18th centuries. The church is quite close to the Casa de Pilatos. The church was repaired in 1926 by Juan Talavera and later in 1970 by Jose Menendez. Still another repair was done in 1989. The style of the church is Gothic-Mudejar. There are three naves, with the central nave being wider and higher than the lateral naves. The naves are separated by pillars made of brick. The apse is polygonal. The exterior has two facades with pointed arch doorways that date from the 15th century. There is a tower built in the 17th century by Juan Gomez. This had to be rebuilt after the Lisbon earthquake of 1755 by Pedro de Silva in 1758. The main altar was the work of Luis de Figueroa in 1629. It has seven paintings by Zurbaran. Two paintings are by the Brothers Polanco. The left nave has the Capilla del Sagrario with a painting of San Juan de Ribera created by Alfonso Grosso. There is also a Baroque retable of the Immaculate Conception by Agustin de Perea.