We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The San Jose
Chapel is located at Calle Jovellanos, 10. The chapel was built by the guild of
carpenters between 1699 and 1766. The main nave was built by Pedro Romero and
the main chapel was built by Esteban Paredes. Today the church is run by the
Franciscan Order and is found in a very busy part of the city. The church is
small and has a rectangular shape with only one nave and a small crossing. The
chapel has the images of Santa Justa and Santa Rufina, who were sisters and are
now two of the patron saints of Seville. The main altarpiece is Neoclassic and
is beautiful. The stained glass windows have some that are old and some new. The
main façade is Baroque and over the main door there is a niche that has the
image of San Jose, and this was designed by Lucas Valdes in 1716. The main
altar was the work of the Portuguese sculptor Cayetano de Acosta. There is a
retable also of Santa Ana that is Baroque and has two Solomonic columns that
sustain an arch.