Concatedral de Santa Maria de la Redonda

The Concatedral de Santa Maria de la Redonda is the main church of Logroño, built in the 15th century. There is a large plaza in front of it. The church was built over an older Romanesque church. The church was remodeled continuously until the 18th century. The main doorway has a Baroque design with three sections. The two towers were designed by Juan Bautista Arbaizar and Martin Beratua in the middle of the 18th century. The interior of the church has three naves. The main altarpiece has a Baroque design.

The church has the pantheon of General Espartero and his wife Doña Jacinta Martinez de Sicilia. The elaborately carved choir calls attention. There is a Gothic sculpture of the Virgen de los Ajusticiados that is famous. There are two other chapels that call attention, the Chapel of Nuestra Señora de la Paz, which has a Plateresque altarpiece and the tomb of its founder Diego Ponce de Leon. The Chapel of the Kings and San Ildefonso has a Flemish altarpiece from the 16th century.

The church has a Michelangelo which shows the Crucifixion of Christ. The painting measures 1.5 by 1 foot. It is located in a burglar proof vault. Michelangelo had a very good friend named Vittoria Colonna, the daughter of the aristocrat Fabrizio Colonna. She was married to Francisco Ferrante d’Avalos, the Marques de Pescara. He came from La Rioja and was living in Italy because part of Italy was under Spanish rule. In 1525 the troops of the Emperor Carlos V fought the War of Pavia against the troops of Francis I of France and won. Francisco Ferrante d’Avalos was one of the captains of the Spanish and was wounded in the battle. Shortly later he died. His young wife was a poetess and wrote her late husband sonnets of love. In 1540 she asked Michelangelo to paint her a small painting of the Crucifixion to help her in her prayers. Michelangelo made several sketches, which are now in the British Museum and the Louvre. The painting had the figure of Christ, the Virgin Mary, and St. John. In 1547 Vittoria died and Michelangelo took back the painting and painted the figure of Mary Magdalene hugging the cross. This figure represents Vittoria.

Bishop Pedro Gonzalez del Castillo decided to build the Chapel of Santo Cristo in the 17th century, adjacent to the main altar. His mausoleum is included in this chapel. The bishop had a large fortune and made many trips to Rome and bought many paintings to put in his chapel. He wrote in Oct. 13, 1627, that he had bought the Crucifixion of Michelangelo. He gave orders not to hang the painting until the protective grill had been made, so the painting was placed in a chest. The painting was forgotten and was rediscovered in the second half of the 20th century.