We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The San Juan de Dios Church was constructed in the 13th century on the orders of Alfonso X of Castile. It occupies the land where the Moorish fortress was. This was the first church dedicated to the Virgin Mary. In the 16th century the church was taken over by the Hospital Order of San Juan de Dios. Today’s church was designed by Martin Solera in 1742 with an oval ground plan. Its interior has one of Murcia’s most interesting architectures. There are six chapels on the periphery. The main altar has a semicircular shape. The interior has a very rich decoration of plaster, moldings, and pilasters. Above is a large cupola over a drum. There are paintings of San Juan de Dios by the artist Agustin Navarro. The church is a museum owned by the Museo de Bellas Artes. There is a large amount of religious art that can be seen in it.