Piazza Castello, 215 - Torino

When in 1730 Carlo Emanuele III   became a king, he asked Filippo Juvarra to build the Teatro Regio . After Juvarra’s death,   Benedetto Alfieri   was charged to carry on the assignment. The new theater opened in December 1740. Very modern for the period, the theater would   host great operas as well as cultural meetings and gambling sessions. The theater was connected to the Palazzo Reale so that the king could go to the opera though an inside passage. Numerous famous artists exhibited here: Paisiello and Toscanini among all. Puccini chose the Teatro Regio to show for the very first time 3 great masterpieces: “Le Villi”   (1884), Manon Lescaut (1893) and “ La Boheme ” (1896) directed by Toscanini. In the night between the 8 and the 9 of February 1936 the theater was destroyed by the fire. Only the façade survived. Due to the war and to economical problems the re-building of the theater was postponed until 1965 when the project was entrusted to the architect Carlo Mollino. The new theater opened April 10, 1973. The Teatro Regio is the second largest one in Europe after the “Opera de Paris”.   The building is 8 floor tall, of which 4 in the underground.   The theater have a capacity of 1,800 seats. Inside a miscellaneous of velvet, glass, marble, brass and nude concrete create a magic atmosphere where art and modern technology melt together. Under the street level is situated the “Piccolo Regio” a smaller theater (400 seats) entitled to Giacomo Puccini.  

Once a day, from Tuesday to Saturday (close on holidays and performing days) in the afternoon, there is a guided tour to the theater. The visitors will be taken to the lyric hall, the costumes workshop, the rehearsal rooms and to the stage.