We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
When the Old Saint Elisabeth Beguinage was 'dismanteled' in the 19th century, all the 600 beguines moved to the New Saint Elisabeth Beguinage (aka the Great Beguinage), east of the center of Ghent. The generous Duke Engelbert van Arenberg gave them a nice piece of land of 8 hectares and the money to built a neo-gothic complex with a church, three squares, eight streets, eighty houses and 14 convents. It took only 2 years (1873-1874) to realize everything. Architect Arthur Verhaeghen designed everything, except for the church that was drawn by Baron Jean-Baptiste de Bethune. The walled beguinage has two entries, one along the Engelbert van Arenbergstraat and another one in the Jan Roomsstraat. Visiting all three Ghent beguinages and discover the differences between them is a full day job. As the distances shouldn't be underestimated, renting a bicycle to tour them is a good idea.