Laplnd is divided into six regions: Northern Lapland; Eastern Lapland; Fell Lapland and The Valley of Tornio in the West; and Rovaniemi Region and  Kemi-Tornio Region in the South. Each region has its distinctive features: while the Northern region is quite bare with small trees and bushes; in Eastern Lapland and fell Lapland expect a landscape of tree-covered fells; the South is a land of rivers and with a great variety in its vegetation.

The most important towns in the South are Rovaniemi, Ranua, Posio, Kemi, Tornio, Tervola and Simo; in the East, Kemijarvi, Sodankyla and Salla; in the West, Pello, Kolari and Muonio and in the North, Ivalo, Angeli, Karigasniemi and Nuorgam among others.

The Northern region has the biggest natural parks: Kevo, Lemmenjoki, Urho Kekkonen and Sompio. In the East, travelers can visit Värrio, Maltio, Pyhätunturi and Oulanka National Parks. In the South, don't miss Riisitunturi National Park.

The South and West regiona are well connected by railway while travelers can fly into Ivalo, Enontekiö in the North; to Kittilä in the West and Rovaniemi and Kemi Tornio in the South.