The name Lawang sewu means Thousand Doors, but  among the local Javanese the name conotates an eerie haunted house with a tragic history.  This Dutch colonial building was built in 1863  by C. Citroen. It was the branch office for the Dutch Indonesian train company but when the Japanese invaded in 1942, they used it as a gruesome interrogation headquarter where they jailed and killed a lot of Indonesians.  Long standing reports of multiple ghost sightings in this building has turned it into a local destination for young  students & tourists who would make their  visit on weekend nights to experience this legendary haunted house.